We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, loud, and filled with drunks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Universal Inn & Suites
Ranked #86 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty, loud, and filled with drunks.”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this Motel on New Year's Eve with a small child. The drunken guests decided to have a full blown party outside of their rooms with their speakers blasting on top volume until 5AM for all 3 nights we were there. I called the front desk and was told that there is nothing they could do. The room was disgusting, linens were dirty, and smelt of mold. Stay away!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    25
    14
    19
See reviews for
23
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our family stayed 2 nights for new years eve to avoid the bad traffic! This motel is extremely NOISY that you won't be able to sleep at night and on top of that it is dark, dirty, and smelly. I do not understand how some people rated four and five stars. We will never stay in this motel again. YUCK!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FHFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I've read other reviews that weren't so good so I'm not sure whether we were just lucky, because we loved it. We came to the hotel on a Tours4Fun tour. We were in a big room with a giant bed and a big jacuzzi and it was clean. Walking distance to Niagara Falls and nearby convenience stores.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Tour4Fun, while on tour in Canada. took us to this motel poor and very basic! Bad smell in rooms, air conditioning and refrigerator very noisy! Uncomfortable beds and small bathroom. Its location is 20 minutes walk from the center, small swimming pool! I think the Motel, gives these rooms for groups that have the Tour,

Avoid it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel was great! We weren't expecting much because alot of hotels in the Falls are cheapy and gross and dirty. But this place was clean and the room was huge!!

The hotel was quiet and the pool was nice and the room came with a fridge and microwave and tons of space!! We got a room with 2 queen beds and a giant bay window for only $99!! The shower ran a little hot and cold but thats our only complaint. it was clean and bright and its in a great location!! Napoli is just across the street and they have the best italian food in the falls! Will definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrimultat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our third hotel of our group trip so again this wasn't chosen by us. The room had a bad smell when we got in which was not so welcoming. We turned on the AC and opened the door and it got a little better after a while. The bed was uncomfortable, sheets were not so pleasant so in conclusion didn't get much sleep. The great part is the location, a 15min walk to Niagara Falls. Shower was not good but I guess you get what you pay for since I'm assuming it's a cheap place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyNYC_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package to Niagara Falls, ON, Canada.

Likes: big & spacious room, clean & well maintained amenities/facilities, peaceful & quiet surroundings, relatively good location with convenience store right next to the hotel.

Room for improvement: provide disposable slippers (however, I noticed it's a norm in American hotels NOT to provide this unlike in Asian hotels), provide tea bags & boiler (once again, American hotels seem to only provide coffee maker & coffee powder in hotel rooms).

Overall impression: nice, clean and value for money ... certainly good for a couple of night's stay near the falls.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgkel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#77 of 128 in Niagara Falls
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chapel
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chape...
#62 of 128 in Niagara Falls
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn - Fallsview
Days Inn - Fallsview
#75 of 128 in Niagara Falls
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Fallsview
Rodeway Inn Fallsview
#20 of 128 in Niagara Falls
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
Ramada Niagara Falls/Fallsview
#43 of 128 in Niagara Falls
2,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairway Motor Inn
Fairway Motor Inn
#60 of 128 in Niagara Falls
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Inn & Suites

Property: Universal Inn & Suites
Address: 6000 Stanley Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Universal Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Style Inn located in the heart of Niagara. Within walking distance to the falls and major attractions. The Inn offering onsite complimentary guest parking, comfortable and spacious guest rooms at affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Universal Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Niagara Falls
Universal Inn And Suites
Econo Lodge Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing