We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Be Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlelight Motor Inn
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We looked at all the "chain" motels in the area (Comfort Inn, Days Inn, Knights Inn, Ramada Inn, Howard Johnson) --- the prices were quite high -- Comfort Inn had a dark and dreary lobby, the room at Days Inn was just "unpleasant" although the desk staff was great). We drove around through some of the "independent" motels and didn't like the atmosphere. Then, we drove around Candlelight -- didn't see gangs of people sitting outside, kids running wild or old leftover furniture around -- so we thought we'd take a chance. We were more than pleasantly surprised!!!

First - the staff was great, long term people there. The rooms (granted, a little tired, but weren't dreary) were spacious - have micro and fridge, 2 queens (not doubles) and table/chair. Very strong WiFi. The beds were comfortable. Yes, there are no shampoo/conditioner, etc. amenities - but when you consider this was at least $25 less than the best price at the other places, I can afford shampoo. The AC was working and cool, the lights all worked. The windows at the front (and in the bathroom - nice and light in the day) all open and provide cross vent if you prefer. Nothing was broken and there was no peeling wall material or falling down lights. The outside could use some TLC w/paint, but there were real live geraniums in the boxes along the upper railings.

They give you a voucher for one entree at their restaurant, which we chose not to use -- BECAUSE this place is just down the street from Mai Tai Thai (5 stars) and Syndicate (another 4.5-5 stars) restaurants.

If you don't need the indoor pool, "continental" breakfast, exercise, and office center -- and prefer being able to walk out from your room (or open the windows) - this is an outstanding option. There is a new housekeeping crew who fully understand what the previous person(s) did not do and are committed to rectifying any cleanliness issues. You can tell from my previous reviews that we are rather picky, but realistic. We would definitely go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Always take a look at any room before moving in, unless you are positive about the place, or don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We got a WagJag voucher for two nights with included a credit for the adjacent restaurant and we stayed there just before the end of 2011. The room was OK—it had a (working!) microwave which turned out quite useful, plenty of fresh towels and hot water. There were not a lot of people staying in the motel, so it was quiet. The only thing that bothered us was the smell—probably they used some kind of cleaner (for the carpets?) which lingered all the time we stayed there.
Considering the price we paid, it was a very good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Guy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We found the motel staff friendly and cooperative. The rooms are typical of this price range, 2 beds, a little hard, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, clock radio, TV with a range of channels, roomy. Good advice to take your own shampoo, coffee and filters. Although beyond me personally, only a brisk walk from downtown. The restaurant attached is pleasant and affordable.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are definitely better, and check to see appliances are working. If not I found the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 175Allan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

For the price, it is a good deal. We bought a WagJag Voucher for 2 nights with a $30 credit for a meal at a restaurant next door that serves great Italian food. A little bit noisy outside but quite after 11 p.m.
Take your own soap & shampoo and check the room (plumbing, microwave & mini fridge) before taking your stuff in. Bed is very clean and fresh towels everyday. There is a McDonalds close by too.
For the price it is a great deal. Summers are too busy.

Room Tip: The newer building is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Room isn't too bad but you can tell they have recieved a $@#^ kickin' from previous guests. Bathroom was sketch; not clean, 2 towels only + soap was weird (no smell, didn't lather). What also sucked was there was no shampoo provided. The lady at the front desk had no idea about anything and answered every question re: accommodations with - "I don't know, they didn't tell me" .... Our group booked the rooms out well in advance so in terms of rate vs. our experience, there was thorough disappointment. As one of our group said - "best thing that could happen here was if it burned down." A little harsh in terms of review but to be fair - not too far off either vs. what we collectively paid. That said, if you do want to party, you will be with likeminded people who don't care and probably won't start complaining about noise until at least 4:00am, and that's probably only probably because they have a morning tee off somewhere. Actually, you might want to bring something (like bleach) to clean the toilet too if your experience was anything like mine. In terms of being close to ammenities - it's at least a $15+ cab ride wherever you are going downtown so maybe when calculating the round trip / spending a little more - there si no savings here. Better to reinvest somewhere downtown and walk ... sorry, that's as nice as I can get about this review. Guess I'm just getting too old to stay in flea bags.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo and body wash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Blocked toilets, only one facecloth and two towels in a room for four!
No tissues, alarm clock didn't work and neither did coffemaker.
Breakfast was poor - coffee/orange juice/toast/waffles and Cheerios - and no space to eat it in.
All this for $150 per room on a Saturday night. Comment from the front desk - 'That's the price' with no inclination to listen to comments or complaints. I said that I wouldn't be staying here again. Reply from front desk - 'That's fine. No-one asked you to stay anyway'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikermart0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Not a wink of sleep. Rowdy neighbours. No one present at the motel to deal with noise. We would high tail it out of Niagara Falls and not look back if we were not so tired. Now we have to find another place to get some sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleCurrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#66 of 128 in Niagara Falls
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Moon Motel
Blue Moon Motel
#23 of 128 in Niagara Falls
313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sheraton on the Falls
Sheraton on the Falls
#6 of 128 in Niagara Falls
7,336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Motor Inn

Address: 7600 Lundy's Lane | At Montrose Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £25 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlelight Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Candlelight Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlelight Motor Hotel Niagara Falls
Candlelight Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing