We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It seems there are a plethora of B&B’s popping up all over this part of Niagara Falls.

Every other house seems to be a B&B and out of all the ones we saw while driving around town, there was only 1 that definitely looked way better than Graystone Manor but I don’t think there is a single one that will beat Graystone Manor in value (looks, manicured lawn and well kept gardens, service, friendly hospitality, value for dollars spent, experience, quality of food - made from scratch breakfast everyday etc.).

I don’t write reviews and this is my first time writing a review on Trip Advisor and our stay at Graystone Manor was pleasant enough that I wanted to write one and share it with everyone. Here are the Pro’s and Con’s as viewed from our eyes/experience of stay + plus some tips to help you make the most of your stay in Niagara Falls.

Overall, we give it a strong 4.5 or a weak 5 out of 5.

PROS
Location and view: Graystone Manor is located in the quiet part of town and it’s a 5 to 10 minute drive to the falls. Our room, although on the smaller side and with no TV, had a nice view and overlooked the rocky cliffs and narrow tapering two-lane semi-highway that hugs the falls and traverses the century old brick and stone houses and ultimately meanders its way towards the class 5 rapids down the street.

It eventually winds its way thru the million dollar estates banked on the placid waters and ends up on the quaint, picturesque town of “Niagara on the Lake.” The 30 minute drive to Niagara on the Lake from Graystone Manor was the highlight of our stay because of the view; million dollar houses sitting as coronated crown jewels atop long, narrow vineyards and estates owned by rich bankers all vying to outdo each other at the laborious art of crafting their own private vintages.

Some of these places actually manage to ferment decent wine. Along the way, we stopped at one such estate and sampled their ice wine slushy.

Service: Service at Graystone Manor is impeccable. The Inn is run by a couple (Rob and Bill) and Scott. Each of them is always doing something incessantly; be it prepping and keeping the kitchen spotless, tending to the yard, or puttering around the house on one of an endless list of improvements. All the bedrooms are upstairs. Downstairs has the dining room, kitchen, and living room which houses the common use TV and computer.

We didn’t have a TV in our room so we frequently watched TV downstairs while trying out different kinds of wine and beer.

Value for Money: Although a little on the pricey side ($110 to $125 per night), the free, made from scratch breakfast every morning is a great way to start out the day. The food is ruthlessly, unrelentingly delicious and fattening (if you’re not careful). This breakfast was one of the highlights of our stay there.

The orange juice is fresh squeezed every morning. The baked goods and everything else is made from scratch and Scott gets working on them around 2:00 or 3:00 am the night before prepping the kitchen. Also, the menu changes every day. The breakfast is truly out of this world and made with lots of love and effort and care and you taste that in every bite.

You don’t really appreciate how much work and preparation goes into the morning breakfast. My only gripe was that since I’m a bit of a night owl, 9 am was a bit early for me and I would have preferred to have had breakfast served at 10 am instead.

Bill was kind enough to drop us off at the falls on our first morning there and give us plenty of personalized recommendations on what to do in town. Canadian hospitality at its best. We also got lucky with the couple on the first day. We got chatting with them at breakfast and they were a very interesting bunch.

This couple brews their own wine. The lady works as a police dispatcher and runs a business on the side that she inherited from the father. The husband, an emigrant from Germany, is an instructor for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and his job takes him all over the world.

They showed us a picture of him meeting the Queen of England as well as the Royal couple when they came to visit Canada. They were a very interesting bunch and we definitely felt a level of rapport on the first day.

CONS
Small Shower. The shower designated to our room was definitely on the small side and the pipe was leaking water in certain places. I also kept bumping my elbow against the shower door. The only other downside with our room was that the bathroom was across the hall.

Although not shared, it was a minor inconvenience. However, on the plus side, it is only an issue with our room as all the other rooms have the bathrooms on the inside. The other downside with the house is also what makes it so charming and attractive and gives it its character.

The house was build sometime in the 1800's and the extensive hardwood flooring throughout gives it a great look and feel but it also makes for a really loud and creaky house (especially at night). My girlfriend and I were walking to tip-toes trying not wake anybody. Finally, the morning guests can be a hit or miss.

We lucked out and got spoiled (and had our expectations set really high for the rest of the trip) on the first day but the morning breakfasts were nowhere near as pleasant and enjoyable after that.

But this is minor nit-picking from a guy who has impossible standards. Overall, I give this B&B my highest recommendation. Stay and have an experience that you'll never forget for as long as you live (and one that will make you want to come back to Niagara Falls over and over again).

Finally, have a few conversations with Rob, Bill, and Scott. You will learn a lot and get the most vacation bang for your money.

I am a natural procrastinator and my girlfriend and I took this trip last year (5/15/2013). Normally, I would just not bother to write a review after this long but the experience was so great that I felt compelled to say this little "Thank-You" to the Inn-keepers. My conscience didn't let me rest till I got this off my chest.

Bon Voyage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
76
525
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took my mom away to Niagara Falls for a birthday surprise and we stayed at Greystone Manor..what an incredible experience! Barbara and Sam were wonderful hosts, so friendly and warm. The room we stayed in was absolutely lovely! Spacious and comfortable, and with such character. The bathroom was SPOTLESS, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and the company of the other guests and Barb and Sam was what made it so great- we laughed and chatted for a good 2 hours over some incredible food before heading off to the falls and over the border for some shopping. Overall incredible experience..we will be back! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My girlffriend wanted to stay at a B&B for her birthday. It was our first time staying at a B&B and not staying at a hotel in Niagara and it did not disappoint. Our room was separate and was very clean and comfortable. The location was great and not too far from the falls but it was good to experience it away from all the tourists. We stayed one night and in the morning Barb cooked up a storm. Definitely not your standard eggs and bacon breakfast. She cooked over 5 different dishes and each one of them was outstanding. We definitely will come again and highly recommend for other couples to come for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: we chose the room connected to the house and not directly in the house. It was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lundzhard6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here while visiting Niagara Falls and had a wonderful experience. Our room was very comfortable and romantic. The bathroom had a great antique tub. The hosts were so generous and helped us with all of our needs, including transporting us downtown to the falls! Breakfast is scrumptious, especially the stuffed French toast. Bed and breakfasts are the way to go and we would recommend this location to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovesTravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I are from Buffalo and wanted a quick escape. It was perfect! Barbara and Sam were the most amazing hosts. They were so warm and friendly... Like we were part if their family. The room was awesome and the breakfast was delicious. They sat with us in the morning for breakfast and chatted for a few hours!!! We can't wait to go back!!! Plus... The cookies around the clock are delightful!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton,Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Greystone B&B. The historic house is beautiful with many original features and our room and ensuite were large and very comfortable and clean. We had a tv, and a small refrigerator with water bottles provided. The breakfast was tasty and hearty with fresh fruit, yogurt, two different quiches and ham, pancakes or french toast,orange juice and tea or coffee. There were also home-made sugar cookies and tea set out in the gorgeous dining room for us to enjoy anytime we wanted. We were not hungry! Our hosts, Barbara and Sam, were charming and full of information about the history of the house and the surrounding area. Greystone is situated across the street from the Niagara River not far from the Falls. The rates were also very reasonable.

Room Tip: The Jade Room is big with a big ensuite which has a bath tub and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OksannaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

What an amazing time we shared at the Greystone! Barbara and Sam were the perfect hosts and a most delightful couple to talk with. The accomodations were excellent and the food was far beyond what many places offer. The B&B is well appointed and met all our expectations.
The breakfast table was fit for royalty and that is what they made us feel like!! Everything you could want is within walking distance and that makes the place even more appealing. We will deffinetly return and will feel as if we are visiting old friends. John and Victoria

Room Tip: The Jade room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4939 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This century home, bed and breakfast, is located on the banks of the picturesque Niagara River Gorge, within walking distance of the Falls and other major attractions. Recently restored, this B&B offers modern conveniences, combined with historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing