We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away is right!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoneleigh Cottage

Stoneleigh Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoneleigh Cottage
Ranked #43 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay away is right!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

Definitely stay away!! We were abandoned by our hostess with no breakfast and even when she first gretted us she was in a mess and looked like she had no idea who we were or what was happening.
All night she sat out on the driveway in her jeep; which, to say the least, really disturbed me!
In the morning while I was calling other hotels and planning our escape, my husband took a short walk and found Redwood. we basically left the place since there was noone there except for the cat and the dog!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Ody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

What a lovely place!!! Muriel is a great host and a great cook!!! Loved the breakfast, the bedroom, the location, the adorable dog - Annie... i am looking forward to staying there again (this will be my 4th year!!!!!!). Recommend to everyone!!!

  • Liked — The host, the bedroom, the breakfast
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau_Capri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

The pictures on Stoneleigh's website do not represent the condition the B&B is currently in! This B&B's age is showing and the rooms do not look as nice as the pictures do.

On the day of our arrival, Muriel seemed out of it...kind of like someone who has missed a dose of medication. She opened the door and Annie comes running out to lick us. Some of us aren't fond of dogs and prefer not to be jumped on by these little creatures. We've been in other B&Bs that have pets but they don't allow them into guest rooms. Annie gets to roam freely throughout the rooms.

We were booked for one room and ended up in another room. Bed was nice except there was something sticky on the sheets. Bathroom was small and towels weren't ready for us.

This B&B is situated on a very, very busy street where there's cars going up and down it ALL NIGHT LONG. People mover buses also travel up and down this road and they're very loud. They are not 'just minutes from the falls'...it was a good 20 to 25 minute walk downhill to the Falls...coming home was a good uphill workout.

Breakfast was alright until we found a hair in the bread...not sure if it was Annie's!! Ham and cheese omelette was the main course and the rest were just breads and fruit. I was very ill within an hour and ended up going to the bathroom numerous times at the factory outlets.

We've been to Niagara since and would recommend Hampton Inn on Victoria...good value for your money and breakfast didn't almost kill me :)

Oh..and this B&B was up for sale when we were there....now we know why!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — STAY AWAY!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2005

If you are visiting Niagara Falls, and you are looking for somewhere to stay, do yourself a favour and look out Stoneleigh Guest House. Muriel treats you like one of the family, and the breakfast is absolutley great. The rooms are modern and tastefully decorated, and if you are lucky, you may get a river view.We will definatley stop there again on our next visit to see the falls.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2005

I have to agree with the other reviewers. Muriel's B&B, Stoneleigh is wonderful. It a charming cottage with a lovely garden and is perfectly located for visitors to Niagara Falls, the Shaw Festival, or some wine country touring and tasting.

Hats off to Muriel's breakfasts as well.

Stayed August 2004
Helpful?
Thank JayTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2004

Have to agree with the 2 previous reviewers, this is a fantastic B&B to stay at. Recently stayed 5 days & everything was great. Muriel is a fine host who is both helpful & knowledgable on Niagara Falls & the breakfast is indeed first class. The rooms are also great (the Green room had a bed to die for).
Location is on River Road (right on the gorge itself) about halfway between the Rainbow & Whirlpool bridges & about a 10-15 min walk to the falls.
Would definately recommend this BB to anyone wishing to stay in Niagara Falls away from the hotels.

Helpful?
2 Thank paul2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2004

If youre traveling to niagara falls canada, or are on the way through and need a place to stay, please pamper yourself and give them a call.
Not only will you find wonderfully decorated rooms, charming english hospitality and comfort ,but probably the most enjoyable breakfast youve ever encountered. Homemade breads, pastrys, jams, in an atmosphere that defies description. Thats just the start to your breakfast, as your host cooks up your eggs, bacon, waffles, etc right in front of your eyes. Breakfast alone is worth the $85.00 CANADIAN price, never mind the surroundings, over looking the canadian and american falls. Dont stop anywhere else until youve called and found out there are NO availabilities in this wonderful find. ive stayed at b and b 's all across the us and canada and have never had such a wonderful time. PSS> the beds make NO noise whatsoever, no matter how you try. I cant tell you enough about it. Do yourself a HUGE favor and give them a call.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Trillium Bed & Breakfast
Trillium Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 66 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Alexandrea Bed & Breakfast
Villa Alexandrea Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 66 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nataya B&B
Nataya B&B
#35 of 66 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneleigh Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneleigh Cottage

Property: Stoneleigh Cottage
Address: 5127 River Rd | At Highway 420, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G8, Canada (Formerly Stoneleigh Guest House)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoneleigh Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stoneleigh Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing