We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Okay hotel if you're only planning on sleeping there.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Diplomat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Diplomat Inn
Ranked #74 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Okay hotel if you're only planning on sleeping there.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I give this hotel 2 stars strictly because so far my experience has not been up to the standards i was expecting. First, i would just like to point out that i was really looking forward to swimming in what looked like a beautiful pool situated behind the hotel, but upon arrival came to find an empty pool - which had not be advertised the time for season swimming - and in front of a major intersection - not the kind of swimming i really overly would have enjoyed if it had been filled. Secondly, when we got to the check in desk, the woman operating was - i will give it to her chatty, but not overly bright. She had no organization what so ever and couldn't find our reservations despite the fact that our names were on a sheet of paper of that days check ins. She then gave us a room that didn't below to us, but was not the room we ordered - although she had no problem charging the additional cost of the room we should have had. Once that got sorted out we settled in to find the tv had no working channels on it and the mini fridge was nothing what we expected. The 'vending and ice machine' area was an ice machine and some 25 cent candy dispensers and some microwaves....
over all, not a hotel i was expecting considering some of the reviews on here - but i suppose we get what we pay for right?
My advice....look for a different motel if you're planning on staying in Niagara.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elyssa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    122
    76
    28
    30
See reviews for
89
142
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. It was as comfortable as could be and relaxing as the staff could make it. very clean and a wonderful staff who were very attentive and helpful. The only thing i can say that would of made this hotel perfect is a them changing basic cable providers so there are more channels, updating the wifi a bit, and a complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: the rooms on the ground floor don't have windows that open so it is often needed to switch betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very nice hotel, super clean, the staff is very helpful. The rooms are extremely clean, there was a pool on-sight, but not open yet. There was no fitness center or restaurant on site. Although there were a bunch of restaurants close by. We were in walking distance from everything, however the falls did take a good half an hour to walk too. I would stay here again if I returned and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambersam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigliano, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a queen spa room. The room was cleaned and very big. A plus was the spa bathtub...very romantic!!! The crew is been useful to describe the Niagara Falls and to indicate a restaurant with a panoramic view on the falls. A good hotel with the best ratio money/amenities.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NelloAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Credit Reserve
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The Diplomat is the best place to stay. The owners and staff are so friendly and make you feel so welcome. The hotel is very clean and the beds are so comfortable. The rooms are large and the water pressure in the shower is awesome! I won't stay anywhere else but here when in the Falls. It's like our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heckinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a nice clean motel when your on a budget. The staff was very friendly on check-in and on check-out asked how our say was. It is an older motel that has had some upgrades. The Motel is a 10-15 minute walk to the main attractions. All in all....it's a good clean motel when your on a Budget if you don't mind a little walk. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very large room within walking distance of attractions (or near to the Niagara Falls transport if you prefer not to walk). Excellent value for money. The owners were very friendly and helpful and suggested places to eat and how to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#57 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#38 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
#34 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Lundys Lane
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Lundys ...
#90 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Clifton Hill Casino
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls Near Fallsview District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Inn

Property: The Diplomat Inn
Address: 5983 Stanley Ave | At Ferry, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diplomat Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Diplomat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls
Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing