We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexampled in Filth and Dilapidation”
Review of Dutch Inn Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niagara Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dutch Inn Motel
Ranked #119 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 24 August 2007

I am a twenty-something of modest income who is used to sleeping in hostels and cheap motels, who believes that money spent toward a trip, “is better spent on the trip, and not the place where you will only be sleeping.”

Now, that being said, I would like to tell you that the Dutch Inn in Niagara Falls is the most disgusting, decrepit, and contaminated space I have ever set foot in. Regrettably, we arrived well after midnight, and so were forced to spend the night.

Upon entering the room, I went to the bathroom and noticed that on the shower rod hung a pair of used, lace, women’s panties. The bathroom had a new soap cake, so someone had been in there, but the space had not been cleaned. There were pubic hairs in the shower drain, and on the walls. Also on the walls were dried rust colored droplets that resembled dried blood, as well as extensive cobwebs. The knobs to the shower faucet fell off when I turned them.

As for the bedroom: dirty shoeprints lined the walls and furniture. The only picture was cracked and turned upside down. There were cigarette burns on the furniture. That the room reeked and had extensive holes and stain should be a given at this point. The room had several insects in residence. “Oh I’ve dealt with bugs in rooms before, no big deal to me,” you may say. Really? Well how do you feel about BEES IN YOUR ROOM!?

The highpoint were the pillows. On one pillow, which I had to take because I was with my girlfriend, had a large faded black stain on one side. I slept on the other side, but during the night when I would re-adjust I noticed the side of my face that contacted the pillow was slightly damp.

Obviously the next and last night of our trip we changed hotels, but the owners insisted on charging us for the second night regardless. That day at the falls, I often found my thoughts fixated on the room, and how my face felt when nestled into that dirty damp pillow.

It was as if the room had molested me.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank asydney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2007

I had figured that for $50 a night, this hotel would be at least as nice and sanitary as the one I stayed at a month earlier in Mexico City for $18 per night...I was terribly wrong.

They couldn't find our reservation when we arrived and put us in one of the dankest, most visably filthy motel rooms that I have ever seen. The floor hadn't been vacuumed in ages, there were stains on everything, bugs were crawling around in the light fixture over the bed, and the shower definitely had not been cleaned (as a bar of soap clumped with hair from the previous guests was still sitting in there among some other crud). When I complained the next morning after seeing the shower, I was quickly brushed off.

I didn't expect anything luxurious by any means, but I did at least expect basic sanitary conditions. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Terrible place to stay we had the room for about 5 hours, (we were only in the room for a total of an hour), before we saw a cockroach crawl across the table, went to the owner told him. He offered a new room then his wife came out and was aruging with us saying it was our fault, could have come in when we opened the door. We said we could not stay because we were afraid it might get into our luggage then bring it home with us. He then says what you don't have any bugs at your house and we replied certinaly not. They refused to give our money back so we left to find a much cleaner place to stay. Advice is check out the room before you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank loolee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

I got the room via Hotwire, One Star, "NEAR" Niagara Falls.

The Hotel is about 20 Mins from the Falls in a very Seedy Area. Rooms were so tiny, I thought I was going to bang my head against the wall and had to sleep upside down.

They do not clean the rooms everyday, only once a week and therefore towels are not clean.

Owners were Indian and Hotel Smelled like from India (I want NO SMELLS) .

STAY AWAY!!!

One Star is too Generous, They Motel owes me Stars!!

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank howardform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinawou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank tihany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.5 mi away
Sheraton on the Falls
Sheraton on the Falls
#6 of 128 in Niagara Falls
7,281 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
3.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Inn Motel

Address: 8661 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £29 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dutch Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing