We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but views did not meet my expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but views did not meet my expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

On the way home from a recent vacation, we went through Ontario because it is a shorter route back to Michigan than staying in the United States. We have been to Niagara Falls before but it was a good place to stop and the falls never get old, so we stayed in Niagara.

I thought my daughters would enjoy a falls view room so I splurged and spent extra to get a falls view room. Based on previous visits, I knew some hotels have better views than others but I could not remember exactly what view the DoubleTree would have. As it turns out, the view was okay from our 17th floor room but not as good as I had hoped. The view is okay for American Falls but almost non-existent for Horseshoe Falls. We were only in Niagara briefly for this visit so I did not have a lot of time to speculate what other hotels would offer a better view but I suspect the Embassy Suites would make a good choice. Either hotel will offer a good view of the summer fireworks displays done above the falls.

Would we stay here again? It depends on whether or not the view was important. If we want a good view, I will check out the Embassy Suites. If a room view is not important, I would consider the DoubleTree. We have also stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in nearby St. Catharines. Unlike Niagara which can take on a circus type atmosphere because of the "tourist trap" attractions, St. Catharines is a really nice town. If you want to go swimming in Lake Ontario, check out Lakeside Park beach in St. Catharines.

By the way, another review mentioned staying on the 39th floor of the DoubleTree. The DoubleTree only has 19 floors so that was a typo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinnacle-project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    1,191
    352
    110
    64
See reviews for
1,120
1,187
53
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a wonderful weekend stay. Great food, rooms, staff, etc. The rooms are larger than expected so a big plus. Within walking distance to all attraction but quietly not in the middle of it.Great salt water pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a lovely 2 night stay at this property. Upon arrival the clerk said there was a cancellation so she would upgrade our room at no charge to higher floor. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Our view of the attractions and fireworks was lovely. My husband and I have visited the Falls before so "closest" was not our top priority. This location was convenient to shops, restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent one night at this hotel in a very comfortable room. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the major attractions without being in the very centre of the touristy area. The front desk kindly helped us put our bikes in a safe place, gave us parking for $12 a day, and provided all the necessary information. We ate at Buchanans, the hotel restaurant and found the meal very nice: good quality food, reasonably priced wine, competent waiters and pleasant ambiance. It was nice to see that many families with children who were enjoying the pool. One negative comment, however: The drinking glasses in the room were not clean. This is something that happens often in hotels and I do wish they'd be more careful about it. The glasses should be washed in a dishwasher which was obviously not the case here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellenclareog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and it was fantastic. This hotel is very nice. We had a king whirlpool room on the 18th floor. The room was very nice with a view of the American falls. The hotel is not right at the falls but not to far away either. The hotel is within walking distance to all of the attractions, you can park your car and leave it there. The only negative I can say is the shower in our room was tiny, I am only 5'5" and I barely fit. If you are 6' or better you might not be able to take a shower.

Room Tip: For a delicious and inexpensive($6.99) breakfast buffet try Al Mac's cafe about 1/2 block from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I had a 2 night stay here when we visited Niagara Falls. It was a good choice as everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. We actually arrived early (mid morning) but the reception staff rushed things along for us to find a room to check in to. The room was spotlessly clean and very well furnished. A very good complimentary breakfast was provided and we had free in room wi fi too. A short walk to the falls and to many good restaurants in Fallsview. On the morning we left, the valet parking staff had our car ready and waiting for us just 2 minutes after we requested it (this doesn't happen at many other hotels)
This hotel has los going for it and we heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: From what I could see, there weren't any badly located rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was quite adequate; price fair. Rooms were quiet and clean, parking convenient. The hotel has good views of various car parks, and also of hotels better situated to the Falls. If you want to really "enjoy" your Niagara Falls experience I suggest you spend a bit more and stay in one of the premier hotels overlooking the Falls. This hotel is perfectly fine, but you'll have to walk through some typically tacky areas to get to where the, for want of a better term, action is.
Also, as some others have noted, the concierge does try to sell expensive, EXPENSIVE, tours. I guess that's his job; he's a bit too hard sell, however to do it effectively.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staehlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls

Property: DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Address: 6039 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing, secure environment removed from-but still close to-the high energy pace of exciting attractions, the American and Canadian Falls (two short blocks) and the Fallsview Casino and Entertainment Complex (400 yards). Convenient on-site parking. Referencing the natural elegance of the Frank Lloyd Wright era and the rustic timeless architecture of a Grand National Park Lodge. Four diamond AAA/CAA award winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Fallsview Resort And Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Resort & Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Hotel By

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing