We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathaird Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Friendly, great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very nice B&B. Walking distance to the Falls via a nice footpath (converted RR track). Very friendly owners. We were upgraded to their suite (because they took extra lodgers that night) which was quite nice. Only downside, very minor, was that their credit card machine was on the fritz so I had to pay cash from an ATM, though I had given my card in advance when I made the reservation. We left behind a charging cord and they caught it right away and phoned us, allowing me to retrieve it before we were even 1 mile away from Niagara Falls on departure day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Tom and Val were excellent host. I would highly recommend their B&B. The room was comfortable, quiet and quaint. The breakfast was delicious. The conversation was interesting and the location convenient. We hit a 10 with this place with this being our first B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful place for the past Memorial Day weekend. It was a exceptional experience for us and will stay again!

The owners could not have been more helpful. Tom called up a bicycling rental company for us and our bikes arrived at the b&b. I would highly recommend Macs Bikes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This review is months late but my wife and I stayed with Tom and Val in late May for a long weekend visit to Niagara. We had a fantastic time - Tom was a great host and always smiling and cheerful with plenty of wonderful stories to tell. He inspired us to consider becoming B&B owners one day, since he looked like he was having so much fun! Val always made sure we had a wonderful Scottish breakfast ready in the mornings when we liked it. The rooms and bathrooms are small but that is to be expected as it's an old house. For the price, you get great value!

There was plenty of parking space and we liked that there were only 3 rooms so it had a more intimate feel. The walk to town is safe and at night it does get a bit dark on the return path so I would recommend bringing a torchlight. We also had a great time visiting the vineyards as the Falls got boring after 2 days of touring around.

We are thinking of coming back next year with our extended family and maybe we'll book all 3 rooms this time!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weezre23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

What wonderful and genial hosts Tom and Val are. Their B&B is cozy and clean and the Scottish breakfasts are to die for. Perfectly prepared! There's a lovely front porch with a table and a glider for sitting with coffee or your laptop along with a comfortable living room should you find the porch too cold. Close enough to the Falls to hear them at night in the background like white noise but far enough away from traffic and tourist traffic. We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and were greeted with flowers and chocolates on our bed. Clean bathroom in our room with hand soap, body wash and shampoo. Tom knows the area very well, made our dinner reservations 2 nights in a row and was cheerful and friendly as was Val his lovely wife. This was a great B&B for first-timers not knowing what to expect because we could not have been more pleased with Strathaird Inn and Tom and Val Strathaird!

Room Tip: The blue room has no dresser
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the Strathaird B&B while visiting the Niagara area and the nearby University. Tom and Val were not only very friendly and welcoming, They accomodated a to-go breakfast we needed, were informative in where and how to get around the area. We found the fruit stand and it was, as promised, the best one we had come on to. Best of all was the delicious breakfast that they served. A light lunch was all that was necessary after eating all of the delicious offerings! Their home is inviting, neat, clean and they take into consideration all of your needs. We enjoyed our chats with them, We have spread the word to friends and look forward to going back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Niagara Falls, Canada for our 25th wedding anniversary. He had arranged to stay here over a year ago. Tom and Val were absolutely wonderful hosts. We felt at home. They even had a bouquet of flowers and a little card waiting for us when we arrived. The breakfasts were so good...we didn't eat again until supper! I found out that Val and I have the same maiden names!!! They suggested a very nice restaruant for our anniversary dinner and had arranged the reservation and a car to pick us up and bring us back. They suggested things to do and places to go. Absolutely going to stay with Tom and Val again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpurvis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Niagara's Emerald Falls Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Li-Li Bed & Breakfast
Li-Li Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 66 in Niagara Falls
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor B&B
Glen Mhor B&B
#15 of 66 in Niagara Falls
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Acacia Bed & Breakfast
Acacia Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 66 in Niagara Falls
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
A Moment in Time Bed & Breakfast
A Moment in Time Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 66 in Niagara Falls
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Alexandrea Bed & Breakfast
Villa Alexandrea Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 66 in Niagara Falls
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathaird Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathaird Bed and Breakfast

Property: Strathaird Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4372 Simcoe St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 1T6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathaird Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy real Scottish hospitality,Strathaird is a restored 103 years old Victorian located on a quiet tree lined street, a short walk to the Falls and all the major attractions, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strathaird Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing