We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold your BREATH”
Review of A-1 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A-1 Motel
Ranked #91 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 1 August 2011

MOLD, MOLD, MOLD,.....terrible hotel!!! Mold in the bathroom was black as the ace of spades. The rugs were dirty and goodness only knows what was crawling under the bed. The smell of the room was terrible. I actually went to the dollar store and purchased some candles. TV remote didn't work. Air conditioner, needed cleaning, was blowing out moldy,mildew air.
When you sat on the toilet you almost fell into the tub. The floor in the bathroom was hollow. It felt like you were going to go through any minute. We paid a whopping $300+_ tax for two nights. We did not go into the room first to inspect it before we paid. There was broken glass in the pool, from a patio table that smashed. The owners didn't rush to get it out, paid absolutely no attention to the issue. the waterslide was cracked and when it was brought to the owners attention, again they couldn't be bothered. Terrible service. Would I stay there again...ABSOLUTELY NOT!!!! If I had pictures

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clarkejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Went to A-1 and did not like the stay, found hidden behind the mirror a folded paper/plastic container for a insulin syringe i found that to be odd when the person who put it there would of just thrown it out unless they used it other wize then its purpose, there was also a beer bottle that was just sitting outside on grass before you even got in the room, our friends in the room next to us found junk pushed under the bed, and found a hole in the wall that was coverd by a pictureframe. I found that both of our rooms had falty tv's, the one had a plaid colour defect and our room had a spot that was purple, so over all i would not recomend this motel to any one till maby some upgrades and some more cleaning inspecting is done to make it to what the rating everyone has rated them, witch is 3.5/5.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I was really surprised when i arrived at A1 Motel, This place is not bad at all , boy do people over exaggerate. First, wonderful service. Second, clean room for the price paid $50. Third, convenient location (walking distant to the Factory Outlet, city bus service, restaurants n etc), 10 mins drive from the water falls. Looking forward to bringing my family over to A1 Motel. And its all about customer service and they surely got it...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GunnerzFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Friends and I stayed here for one Saturday night in January. We choose this hotel because of the price and location. We knew it wasnt going to be the nicest place to stay and werent expecting much. Everything seemed okay. The rooms were not the cleanest but we knew with the price we payed it wasnt going to be. In one of our rooms there was a boot print on the white sheet. In the other room there was stains all over the carpet. The next morning when we went to check out, the man at the desk gave us a garbage bag and told US to CLEAN UP OUR ROOMS before we leave. Our rooms were not messy we did a quick clean before we left already. We told him they were fine and he told us he knew they are dirty and to go clean it up and put everything in the garbage bag.
I know we paid a very cheap price for the rooms but to have to completely clean our own rooms before we leave is just ridiculous!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayyy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Family and I had a wonderful trip to niagara falls, we found this motel on the net and thought we'd give it a try, we were very pleased with the level of service and state of rooms. Owner was nice enough to put the a/c on before our arrival so our room was cool and clean. Price was adequate although we went on a busy weekend the price of the room was lowest amongst them all. We hope to return this winter and will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redtrafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Ok the manager tries...I will give them that but...I had to have them come in and wash out the tub as it was filthy with a ring around the tub from other people's showers. The rug wascovered in big stained areas. The paint on the bathroom walls and ceiling was peeling off and the room itself had water stains on the ceiling. The room itself smelled like the bottom of a cigarette bucket and we had asked for a non smoking room. The place could be nice if an effort was made to clean the place but they do not even change the trash bags when they so called clean the rooms. The manager said they hire a company to clean the place and I will just say if I was paying to have the place cleaned and that was the result...I would fire the company and get my money back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jellebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I was afraid to stay hire after reading the reviews. I thought that I would give it a chance and I'm happy that I did!!! When you want to travel but your on a budget it is sometimes scarry to stay in a "cheep" motel. But my moto is "If it is clean and comfy, that's all that matters". Chances are, if you are going to Niagara Falls, you will only be in your room to wash and sleep. So you don't need the ritz!

Good points: The room was clean, the beds where very comfy, the staff was friendly and helpful, the price(50$ a night approx), the pool was fun, small play ground for kids, the BBQ, internet(wireless), TV with cable, the a/c worked great (our room was cool when we got in, they turned it on for us, bonus!), it's a one level hotel so not lots of stares(I think 4), mini fridge, microwave(but you have to ask for it)****If you book online you get free coupons for some of the attractions(well we did), lots of attraction coupons in the office., FREE PARKING

Bad points: No phone in room(but you can use the one in the office for local calls), No clock radio(but the man was nice enough to let us use his), the room was outdated, old wallpaper, old lamps etc...(but it was clean, and I think that is the importent thing), no coffee maker in room(but there is coffee in the office, and a Timmys down the street), Not walking distance to the falls(but just a short easy drive).

I would stay there again. We saved money on the hotel and had more money to do the fun stuff, like Cliffton Hill and MarineLand.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgal2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#78 of 128 in Niagara Falls
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
#42 of 128 in Niagara Falls
353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#65 of 128 in Niagara Falls
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Knights Inn By The Falls
Knights Inn By The Falls
#47 of 128 in Niagara Falls
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
#71 of 128 in Niagara Falls
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
America's Best Inn & Suites
#86 of 128 in Niagara Falls
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-1 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-1 Motel

Address: 7895 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £22 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A-1 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your A-1 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a-1 Hotel Niagara Falls
a 1 Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing