We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for traveling to Niagara on a budget”
Review of A-1 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A-1 Motel
Ranked #91 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I was afraid to stay hire after reading the reviews. I thought that I would give it a chance and I'm happy that I did!!! When you want to travel but your on a budget it is sometimes scarry to stay in a "cheep" motel. But my moto is "If it is clean and comfy, that's all that matters". Chances are, if you are going to Niagara Falls, you will only be in your room to wash and sleep. So you don't need the ritz!

Good points: The room was clean, the beds where very comfy, the staff was friendly and helpful, the price(50$ a night approx), the pool was fun, small play ground for kids, the BBQ, internet(wireless), TV with cable, the a/c worked great (our room was cool when we got in, they turned it on for us, bonus!), it's a one level hotel so not lots of stares(I think 4), mini fridge, microwave(but you have to ask for it)****If you book online you get free coupons for some of the attractions(well we did), lots of attraction coupons in the office., FREE PARKING

Bad points: No phone in room(but you can use the one in the office for local calls), No clock radio(but the man was nice enough to let us use his), the room was outdated, old wallpaper, old lamps etc...(but it was clean, and I think that is the importent thing), no coffee maker in room(but there is coffee in the office, and a Timmys down the street), Not walking distance to the falls(but just a short easy drive).

I would stay there again. We saved money on the hotel and had more money to do the fun stuff, like Cliffton Hill and MarineLand.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgal2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

We went on the long weekend where everyone was sold out - we paid ahead and got a reasonable price. All the staff was very nice. The room was clean. Don't expect a Hilton Here. It gives you the basics and that's it. It is a good place to sleep. As a note - the walls in the rooms are concrete and keep out noise - but concrete also cracks. We didn't care - it was only the bathroom area - we had two nights of decent sleep .... Nice Pool ...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

It was the cheapest place i found during weekend in Niagara falls, ON. If you're looking for just a place to spend night and no luxury, this is a good place. They also have swimming pool. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Worth the price paid ($50)...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rutansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Location of the Motel is very good. Cleanliness in the room & washroom is ok. T.V. is very small size.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vrund97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Yes this was a last minute budget hotel choice. Yes we were influenced by the AAA/CAA Diamond award advertised and displayed in the office. No we did not inspect the room before accepting it.

The rugs and bathroom tiles were littered with the corpses of about 200 flying ants and a few still standing. The shower was moldy. The TV remote did not work. No telephone.

Without hesitation I proclaim it the worst hotel room I have ever seen.

Terrible on every level.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

my husabnd and i along with our 9 year old son, my father ( a senior) and my 25 year old niece and her boyfriend stayed here one night.
we had made reservations a few months in advance and needed to change some things, the owner was AMAZING in accomadating us in the changes. we arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in , and all 3 of our rooms were ready.
My husband, I ,our son and my father were crossing the border to go to a fair and we were very happy that we could unload all our luggage before heading out.
upin entering the room we found a clean, nice smelling large room ( we had a double)
the other 2 rooms were clean and nice as well. when we returned from our trip across the border , we went to the pool. very clean, really is heated ( not just by the sun) and the deck was clean and well maintained. the staff was very accomadating to all our needs. the only thing i would recommend is that you have a cell phone with you. the rooms do not come equipped with phones for whatever reason. the water pressure was fine in the bathroom in the double room but my fathers room did have somewhat lower pressure than what he is used to, but it was fine enough to take a shower. i would definitly go back again this hotel had a very "homey" atmosphere and for $39 a night we got more than what we expected to get in a big touristy city

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntursmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

the motel is terriblle, carpets are dirty, floor slopped, painted-over mold in the bathroom, and and room stinked.
definately not worth $124/night on the weekend. 10 minute drive from the falls

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gawel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#78 of 128 in Niagara Falls
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
America's Best Inn & Suites
America's Best Inn & Suites
#86 of 128 in Niagara Falls
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#65 of 128 in Niagara Falls
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
E-Lodge Near the Falls
E-Lodge Near the Falls
#68 of 128 in Niagara Falls
29 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knights Inn By The Falls
Knights Inn By The Falls
#47 of 128 in Niagara Falls
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
#70 of 128 in Niagara Falls
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-1 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-1 Motel

Address: 7895 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £23 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A-1 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A-1 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a-1 Hotel Niagara Falls
a 1 Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing