We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stardust Inn

Stardust Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stardust Inn
Ranked #89 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Stardust Inn in July a few years ago. We're not hard to please. Everything was fine. We saw a cockroach baby, and some droppings but it didn't really bother us because as I said, not hard to please. We were just so happy to afford a place with a heart shaped jacuzzi! Kick it off the bucket list, whatever.

We ended up in Niagara Falls this past winter and thought we'd give it another go. We showed up, only one truck parked. Got the room we had the last time. When we stepped in, it was FREEZING. Like, the carpeted floors were freezing. I put my shoes back on, and didn't even think of taking off my parka. We turned on the faux fireplace that was on a timer. Felt the radiator, and the air it was giving off was almost cool, so, clearly not good enough for -25 approx. weather. We waited half an hour, hoping that it would change. It didn't.

Went to alert the person who was running the place, who was in a little house just beside the motel. He came to the room, and messed around with the heat for about 15 minutes. It didn't feel any different. He said not to worry, when the electric fireplace is on, it will be warm. But the problem is that it was on a timer, so I asked him if that meant we would have to keep getting up in the night to keep turning it back on. He didn't say yes, he just kept saying in an annoyed tone that when the fireplace is on, it will be warm. Ignoring the concern that we would be continually waking up FREEZING. He said it would take some time, which I found pretty ridiculous...we're paying for the room. It should be habitable off the bat. I know it's a cheap deal, but that's just plain dangerous and I believe, illegal.

We waited around in the vague hope that the rad would start expelling warm air, but it didn't. So by this point we'd been in our room an hour, still wearing our winter coats. Went down to where he was staying to get him to let him know we were leaving. He would not look me in the eye as I addressed him, as calmly as was possible, tried to tell him it was impossible to stay in a room that cold and we should be refunded and instead talked over my voice to my boyfriend, which was extremely insulting. He wouldn't give us our money back, and I said that was unscrupulous behavior-to charge money for a room that isn't properly heated. Then he offered us extra blankets, which would have been laughable if we weren't exhausted, freezing, and being ripped off.

He didn't give us our money back. He offered us another room as his best offer, but it was hard to believe that we would have gotten anything warmer than the original room. The whole motel was vacant, save one truck parked-which could have been his own, so the heat might not have been on at all for some time. I was so irritated by his refusal to acknowledge me I literally had to ask him to look me in the eye to say "NO, we are leaving. You have proven yourself untrustworthy." I told him I would have no choice but to post a horrible review. As we drove off in the car I heard him yell "[--] YOU!" Well, back at you.

So, in conclusion, if you're not afraid of cockroaches and looking for a room with jacuzzi tub in the summer, The Stardust Inn might be for you. Only stay there in the winter if you plan to be in the jacuzzi the ENTIRE TIME.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    15
    7
    15
See reviews for
9
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had to fix the toilet bowl because a constant leak noise. Wifi doesnt work. Room paint needs refreshing (years overdue). Trash bags are piled by the entrance. But, most important, the Stardust Inn is located in a very poor part of town... Depressing way to start your trip/vacations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLAllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Tyne & Wear, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This establishment is owned by people who understand the meaning of cleanliness and customer satisfaction and do their utmost to follow it through. Free car parking. Friends went to a hotel on the falls and the room was no cleaner than ours and they paid 3 times the amount we did. A short $7 taxi ride to the falls gets you right amongst the action. Would certainly use this place again when in the area.

Room Tip: Leave your car at the motel and get a taxi to the falls. Less hassle and frees you to walk around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on the internet, so we weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. The location is good, it is in a nice suburban area only 5 min walk from the main street and the Niagara Falls. Our check in was smooth and the lady was really friendly and helpful. The rooms are new looking and really nicely decorated. They are spacious and clean with nice furniture and good amenities like a microwave and fridge. The bathroom was spotless and looked new. We were just so impressed with the staff and the service, they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. For the price range it is a good deal!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Im so happy I switched hotels - the owners were so nice and teh rooms are so clean. You get a microwave, small frigde, TV with DVD play (it is part of the TV on the side so look for it). It is out of the way a bit but so is walking from one end of the Falls to the other side but it is doable. The parking is free and it is in a residential area. It is basically across the Street from Motel 6 so price compare and Im sure that this is less money. There is a Waterpark that took 15 minutes to walk to. I would stay here again - my daughter who is 7 and I enjoyed our time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashely k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I stayed last night and were very happy with the room. Parking was free, and wi-fi too.
The room was very clean and spacious, complete with fridge, coffee maker, microwave and toaster. The tub was new and clean, and there was a separate shower. The bed was quite comfortable.
Off the beaten path a bit, but great place to stay for the price. Ten minute walk to the older casino and wax museums, bit longer to the falls. Taxi back cost under 10 dollars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avonchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This place is filthy in a very bad part of town is scary and it smells. We used our visa card and asked to be credited. The man at the desk in the lobby refused to give his name to us. Finally he told us his name was Mr. Steven Cho. We asked to cancel our reservation he refused. Not only did he charge us for one night he said too bad and charged us for two. We had to find another accomodation. We have contacted the Niagara Regional Health Department and asked them to inspect the place immediately.

Room Tip: Do not book at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Glengate Hotel
Glengate Hotel
#67 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#74 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chapel
Ritz Inn Niagara & Wedding Chape...
#60 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#57 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#79 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairway Motor Inn
Fairway Motor Inn
#56 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Inn

Property: Stardust Inn
Address: 5528 Buchanan Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3T8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stardust Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Niagara Falls
Stardust Motel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing