We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the kids!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for the kids!”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Enjoyable stay with the children ages 10-16 who had a great time in the water park. The hotel itself is quite a distance from the Falls and other Niagara attractions - except the helicopter rides. Food is ok. Great place to meet others.

Helpful?
Thank 6mith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,656
    1,653
    696
    261
    190
See reviews for
4,907
43
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is the second time my husband and two children have been to GWL Niagara. We went because thanks to a local charity event we got the room at an extremely reduced rate. We will not return again. The greed of the this tourist trap has overwhelmed me. They try to gouge you at EVERY TURN.
You're forced to rely on the fast food while you use the water park. It's terrible: all frozen and reheated for each order, horribly overpriced and you will wait a minimum of 45 minutes just to get your one lousy burger. Oh, and that burger will cost you nearly $8. The lineup becomes so huge at lunch time that you need to plan which one of you will lose an hour waiting to get your food.

The buffet is okay, but grossly overpriced once again, and if you like powdered eggs, well, you're in luck!

Why are the rooms so uncomfortable? This is not an old hotel. This is a modern hotel that should have been planned out much better. The paper-thin walls allow you to hear every child running and jumping up and down the hallways (which is nearly constant, even past 11 pm). The heater/fan in the room comes on every five minutes and it's so loud that it's impossible to get a sound, unbroken night's sleep. The heater can not be turned off. The rooms are hot, and with that blast of air coming on all night, you will wake up with a sore, dry throat.

As for the waterpark itself: what's stupid is that there is a height restrictio for the "little kids" slides. This means that because my 4 year old is tall for her age, she could not go on those slides. At the Fallsview waterpark, ALL slides are accessible for ALL AGES.

The water is cold! The wave pool is not heated nearly enough, and when you're swimming all day with your children, you will indeed be frozen.

Visibility in the park is quite poor, and it's difficult to access all areas with ease as they are poorly laid out and partitioned.

The lineups for everything are horrendous: waterslides, locker rentals, food, souvenir photos--you name it, you will be waiting for it.

Used, discarded towels are strewn around everywhere.

Oh, and by the way, a ladies bathing suit "bottom" cost $59.99, and a cheap pair of children's flip-flops cost $17.

They should make the waterpark area "cash-less." One should be able to scan their wrist-band when ordering food, and have it simply added on to their room bill if they wish, rather than having to go to and from a locker just to be able to get a wallet and have lunch.

I strongly recommend that anyone coming to Niagara Falls wanting to take their family to a good, fun waterpark go to Fallsview Indoor Waterpark instead (fallsviewwaterpark dot com) It was a much more enjoyable experience--still expensive, but not the massive ripoff that is Great Wolf Lodge.

Room Tip: do NOT choose the rooms with Wolf dens or bunk beds--horrible, hot, uncomfortable rubber mattresses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiredkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. It is our goal to deliver a positive experience and we are disappointed we missed your expectations. I assure you that safety and cleanliness are our top priority.

Our rates are comparative to similar resort type properties and while we hope you will purchase food and products from our variety of outlets, there is no requirement. We only ask that outside food not be brought into the waterpark. If you would like to discuss further please contact the Lodge at 905-354-4888.

Sincerely,
Keith Simmonds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Ok, let’s Great Wolf Lodge it up!!! Probably one of the funnest places I have been in a while. Extremely expensive but extremely entertaining. I have been twice now in total and although you think this degree of vacation spells social suicide you quickly find yourself wishing to go back even without the kids! The fun here is endless and the safety measures are great. There’s more than one life guard for each area. The water is warm and the chlorine doesn’t bother your eyes. The water park itself houses slides for Big, small, tiny, single riders and families of 5. There’s some kind of massive pavilion in the middle of the water park that has numerous water toys to amuse you with. Use caution when walking below this playground with your cameras as a bucket of water can come your way at any time! GWL is also home to a fantastic wave pool, kid’s hot tub, adult indoor and outdoor hot tub and my favorite the indoor lazy river. If you’re like me and have little ones its best to have one adult per child as everyone wants to do something different and an hour in here can prove to be very exhausting. Within the water area itself you will find a sports bar (with REAL booze) and a snack bar that serves full lunches including salads, fries, burgers and so on (also with REAL booze!) I mean, who’s the genius to put alcohol in a children’s establishment? GENIUS!!! Outside of the water area are many other snack huts and a buffet restaurant that serves a pretty great selection. The prices for the food at GWL are pretty affordable and worth the price. The beer is also affordable ;) Don’t feel like you gotta eat here or even eat out, if the room exhausted your budget your welcome to bring your own food as you have a mini fridge in your room as well as a microwave and coffee maker with complimentary coffee. If you do choose to eat out despite the good reviews NEVER eat at the FLYING SAUCER!!!!!! The food is filled with cholesterol and the potential to give you the runs for at least 24 hours after consumption (I speak from experience). This restaurant does however offer late night delivery if everything is closed and your still up at 2am, and drunk… but trust me you will regret it! Back to the hotel; extremely child friendly! The whole place is a massive cabin and makes you feel at home. Every animal statue in the place talks or makes some kind of noise. There is a nightly story time at 8pm which is also when the water park closes. There is a coffee bar for the adults’ right near the front lobby and a gift shop called The Trading Post which is also moderately priced. You’re not getting a great deal on everything but you can pick and choose; T-shirts for kids are about 15 bucks and some even come with wolf hats. As stated already the prices for this place vary, it can be really expensive if you’re going during a holiday or not using a promo. Before booking you should always Google and see if there is any current promos being offered. Also keep a look out if there’s a promo number for the company you work for. My boyfriends company offered a promo code and it saved us big time. Please note that if you do enter a code be prepared to show proof of whatever it is you’re claiming because they are pretty strict on this. Check the site for prices and upcoming deals http://www.greatwolf.com/niagara/waterpark

please see my blog site below for other reviews and blogs on places i visited including NYC

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Myself, my husband and my three and a half year old son had our second stay at Great Wolf last week, and again, we had an excellent time. The service is stunning. From housekeeping to the waitress at the buffet to Front Desk, I can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff is. The lifeguards are alert and aware and always carefully watching.
I've seen people say it is expensive -- but really it is not -- once you factor in the arcade and of course the huge, entertaining waterpark. It is a great time with great service, can't wait to return.
Also, we left behind my child's sleep toy by accident -- we didn't know where: in the restaurant? The arcade? Yet it was returned to us by mail three days later. Just great!

Room Tip: If you have a husband who snores, go for the Majestic Bear suite -- there is an ajoining room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have always enjoyed a great experience at GWL. (We've stayed 12 times!) The park is awesome, they cater to small children with crafts and bedtime stories, even origami! The food is excellent too, with a child-size granite buffet counter, full of kid-friendly foods!However, we recently booked two nights at GWL for the "Sleep Cheap Charities Reep", and today we tried to cancel one of those nights. We were abruptly told we could not cancel the second night. We were informed we only had a 24 hour window upon booking, to make cancelations. When we told several different employees we were never informed of this 24 window, no one believed us and basically said "Oh well, it's for charity". So we are being forced to pay $85 plus tax for the second night, even though we cannot be there. One employee said to my husband "If you continue to argue with me about this, you won't be staying here at all." We contacted a supervisor, who said he believes his employees, not us, and he wanted to cancel our two nights' stay, stating "You don't really like my employees and we only want customers who are happy to be here." I can't believe what transpired today. It's a wonderful place to visit but this is unbelievable customer "service".

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and you'll have so much fun, you won't be in your room much! Rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I took my daughter and her 3 friends to Great wolf Lodge for the weekend and it was non-stop fun for the kids from beginning to end. Even the check-in counter had little chipmunks popping up at eye-level for the little ones. The indoor water park was great for all ages with phenomenal waterslides and wavepools for kids and adults of all ages, with plenty of lifeguards keeping a close eye. The central lodge/lobby came to life at night with a roaring fireplace, talking animals and a very animated story teller while the kids gathered around in their pajamas and listened wide eyed. Then our tired little cubs were looking forward to bunking together in their own kid cabin. It was nice that everyone in our group had there own wrist band that opened the room door, given the kids a little bit of freedom to run ahead and get to the room first. In terms of food selection there was a lot of choice in the buffet but I would have preferred some healthier options, however the kids did not seem to mind at all. The whole place is also licensed so parents can have an afternoon cocktail by the pool and have an nightcap by the fire in the lobby. The girls asked if it would be possible to live at Great Wolf Lodge? I guess it's possible...

Room Tip: We had a cabin on the same level as the water park and it was very convenient when the kids wanted t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

When I travelled here with my family we got two huge bedrooms, one with a bunk bed, the other with an upstairs! It was expensive, but a family vacation we'll never forget. Incredibly fun for kids. You don't even have to leave the place, the park keeps you busy all day. Breakfast buffet was also great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Liyapilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#33 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing