We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son had fun”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked our stay for a Sunday night in November figuring it would be less busy. We were surprised when we arrived at 2:00pm and it took 50 minutes just to check in. Luckily our room was ready and we changed and hit the water park.
The temperature seemed lower than they advertised as the water had a chill to it, the second day it was warmer. The lines were extremely long and ranged from 20-30 minutes for each water slide.

We ate at the the early bird buffet for dinner and it was good. There could have been a little more selection. We brought a toaster and had breakfast the next morning in our room.

Staff was very friendly. Lots of fun activities; arcade, wizard quest, gift shop.

Purchased the Paw pass which is great for a first time visitor.

We will return but when my son is older and can utilize more of the slides.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewGrove80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,021 - 5,027 of 6,445 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Staff was courteous and friendly and resort as a whole was clean and well maintained. Activities for kids were well organized and my daughter had a great time. Definitely more than just a waterpark. l look forward to a return visit.

Stone Family

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just came back from two days at the Great Wolf Lodge in Niagara Falls, Ontario. We had a great time as a family and can recommend this place as a short get-away.
Our son is 11 and there were plenty of slides to keep him entertained. Down time was spent in the wave pool or arcade. We opted for dinner at the only sit-down establishment in the hotel and it's an all you can eat buffet. The selection was impressive for a waterpark resort. We also dined here for the all-you-can-eat breakfast. Hot and cold selections, healthy options, fruits and vegetables and a cook whipping up either fresh fish (dinner) or omelettes (breakfast). We ate way too much.
The room, a family whirlpool/fireplace suite on the ground flour was clean and very roomy. No complaints. We had a king bed with a fold-out double-bed couch. We did have to make up the fold-out ourselves.
Now the slides. Wow! We went on the Vortex first, which is akin to being flushed down a sink or toilet bowl. Where do you go from there? Well, the five other slides we tried were fun too, like the Niagara Falls ( a rollercoaster ride), which is an engineering marvel, the Woolly Mammoth etc. We skipped the smaller slides, of which there are quite a few. So this resort is ideal for families with teens as well as wee ones.
Customer service was exceptional, especially in the restaurant. But even at the over-crowded check in, we were warmly greeted and efficiently booked in. An employee even gave us 20$ worth of arcade tokens just for interrupting the check-in process to speak with the desk clerk. Hey, you can interrupt any time.
Two days were plenty. It is loud and busy. It's an expensive place, with rooms at about 300$ a night but you get two days at the park for that. Look for sales. Travel.zoo.ca has regular specials. We tried to book with them for 185$ a night but they sold out so I booked directly online on the Lodge website and came up with a 209$ weekday special.
We've been to the Pump House at Jay Peak and Six Flags in Lake George and of the three, GWL is the best waterpark for the money. However, if you ski, Jay's ski, splash and stay is hard to beat.

Room Tip: If you stay in summer, the ground floor rooms open out to the garden where the outdoor pool and mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have been four times thus far. Our two boys love it! There is lots to do. It is geared towards younger kids which is nice. Their pizza is fantastic! The staff are always so helpful and cheery. The only problem we have ever had was on our first trip. When we got to our room is was quite obvious the previous guests had been smoking in the room (not the hotel's fault). Our son has asthma, so we asked to be moved. They were very accommodating and moved us right away and gave us a free breakfast voucher for our troubles. We look forward to going a few times a year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We booked on expedia was a bit cheaper. We were 4 adults and 2 kids, ages 3 & 4. We were given a room with one bed, one pull out couch and bunk beds. When I checked in I asked for a room with 2 beds for the adults and a pull out couch or something for the kids. They upgraded us at no charge to a suite with a king size bed with a door and tv then 2 more beds with a pull out couch. Rooms havr fridges which is awesome if you can bring somw of your own drinks and snacks to save $. We only ordered from the pizza place and snack bar in the waterpark. Good priced and good food. Luckily my daughter is tall so there were only 2 rides she couldn't go on. Kids had a blast and actually so did us adults. There is an adult only hot tub indoors and outdoors. Nice to go with another couple - we took turns staying with the kids while the others went on some tube rides or in the adult only pools. Only complaint would be the price. Will go back again but only if it's a deal

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank tessiexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent the weekend at Great Wolf Lodge with my family (6 of use, 2 kids), had a great time, the kids had so much fun, they were kept busy from the time we arrived till the time we left, so much for them to do from story time, to the lobby dance and even a scavenger hunt, even the adults had fun, the water park was amazing, we found something for everyone, playing in the wave pool with my grandchildren was alot of fun. They want to know when we can go back. It's a great family get away, were you can spend time together and have fun. The staff were all very friendly

Room Tip: we stayed in the family loft which was great as we all got to stay together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked an one-night stay here to test the water park concept for our just turned five year old son.

While he loved the wave pool and the slides in the two smaller pools, the range of options for kids below 48" is limited to the pools, and two water slides. But our son had a great time during the evening after we checked-in, and also the morning after.

We had intentionally reserved the Kids Kamp room that came equipped with two bunk beds in a faux tent design. Again, while our son loved it the rest of the room was quite dated. The heating was provided by a noisy in-room heater, and the carpets smelt musty. We had a small patio attached to our room, but it faced the parking lot. Probably a little more useful in warmer weather.

The apre-water park entertainment consists of a story-time session at 8pm which my son loved, with the talking tree and the howling wolf episodes. There was a similar session again in the morning.

The food offerings in the place were limited since we are vegetarians. We ordered room service pizza, which was delivered promptly but was terrible.

While they have expanded the non-water park options by offering the spa option, there is not much else to do for parents.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eye_banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#33 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £171 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing