We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay. Good for young kids.”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun stay. Good for young kids.”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We've been as a family many times. (2 or 3) and we've also gone to other locations. This is one of the better locations we've been to. The rides were fun, but as the kids get older it becomes more boring. Long lines make it not as fun too. The restaurant food is ok, but not good.

Waterpark has great slides, but all have lines. The net and lilly pads were quite fun. Racing slides also a hit. Would like to return but were going to try falls view. Seems cheaper, and since GWL is so much money we might as eel try it. No harm there.

Lodge theme and atmosphere is nice, and welcoming. Best for kids.

Room Tip: The children's 'dens' and such are good for younger kids but as they get bigger i'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laken32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,861
    1,731
    733
    269
    199
See reviews for
5,232
44
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We got an amazing deal for $159.99 per night if you go between Sun.-Thurs. (Sign up for their newsletter to get the greatest deals!)! The kids had an amazing time! Our kids are a little bit younger and couldn't participate in the other activities for the older kids. We saw the older kids doing the Magic Quest activity and looked like fun.

The water park was fun of course but we wished the water was a bit warmer. Also, when we got there at 11 am, some of the pools weren't opened yet. Just wondering why they couldn't clean everything after they closed so everything was ready when they open.

We ordered pizza from their cafe and it was comparable to the outside places and it was nice and fresh!

Story time was ok and a little bit crowded. Great for the little ones but might be a little boring for the older kids.

We had to shower there after we check-out of our rooms and wished there were more showers in the water park change room. (There were only 3.)

Overall, this place is great for kids and if you could find a deal, even better!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have just returned from Great Wolf Lodge - Dec 16-18. We are a family of 5 - two adults, a teen and 6 year old and a 2 month old. We decided this year instead of presents at Christmas, we'd take the kids to Great Wolf Lodge for some amazing family memories.

Check in was great. Quick and to the point. We arrived early and had enough time to tour the location before our room was ready - we waited approx. 1 hr to get our room. We right away noticed that this place was a kids playground - they got to run the show, it was great!

Room - was the average simple room. We had lots of space, the fridge and microwave came in handy. Most importantly it was clean and located somewhat away from the main entrance. The main entrance, staircase is very busy, I would recommend being as far away as possible if you don't want noise.

Service was amazing. All staff from maintenance crew to food servers were respectful and pleasant. They treated our kids very well - they made it all about them.

MagiQuest game - whoever came up with this game is a genius. For $50 your child receives a magic wand and a book of quests. These quests are to be carried out all over the lodge. Example - find the three fairies. They were located all over the lodge, and once found them you waved your wand at them and they'd light up. My kids spent hours playing this game. It was very cool to see kids in their pj's running around the lodge as wizards, exploring quests.

Food was average to good. We tried the buffet for all meals - they were quality meals - ribs, fajitas, salad etc but I didn't find there was a lot of selection. For $22 a person for dinner, I expected a little more. The snack shop food was average - fries/burgers etc...
The pizza (delivery to your room - great) was horrible - it seemed it was under a heating lamp for hours, very dry. I would not recommend it. Pizza at buffet was great.

Waterpark/Arcade - was a good time. Both my teen and 6 yr old had lots to do. Facility was clean, and fun. I would recommend more seating at waterpark. If you showed up at 9am (opening) you could get seats, but if you showed up anytime after 10am - ALL chairs/tables etc were taken. Makes it somewhat hard when you've got little ones that cannot enjoy the facilities as much and you need space to hang out.

Security - here is where our trip went from amazing to really bad fast. We were lucky to get parking for our 2006 Chevy Tahoe approx. 15-20 parking spaces away from the front entrance (front row). It was also just outside our balcony to our room - what a score I thought. Each day - we'd look out the window and see the truck. We only had to visit the truck once to get items. On Wed morning (up with our 2 month old at 4am) my husband noticed the truck was gone. After thinking we might be going nuts and my husband running outside to investigate - it was confirmed our truck was STOLEN! We notified the staff right away who were diligent in calling the police to report. Security guard (there is one) stated he saw nothing. I am hoping but it was never confirmed - that they have security cameras, that could maybe at least show the "robber". Police report was filed and we asked the resort to please give us some extra time (as we were to check out at 11) to get rental car (we live approx. 2.5 hrs away) and get insurance in order. They were more than happy to help - they extended our stay for the day. Once we found out we couldn't get a rental vehicle until later that day, we asked for a complimentary lunch - it was given.

While I found the staff helpful when asked (management kept saying - anything you need just let us know), I didn't feel they went out of their way to make things better. We had to ask for lunch, we had to ask for an extention. We totally understand this could have happened anywhere, and that company policy was probably not to accept blame, but I expected the staff/management to offer something to make our stay better - to bend over backwards as our $20,000 vehicle was stolen from their property. We didn't ask for much (as we were busy keeping kids happy and not seeing mom and dad panicked, getting insurance to help, tracking down a rental car when everyone was sold out etc) but I kind of expected they would offer a return visit complimentary to help rebuild our memories of a christmas vacation gone horrible or maybe reimburse some of our current stay.

While my kids had a great time, it was very expensive, we had our vehicle stolen, and we didn't feel the resort tried to help make up for our loss - we are not greedy people and understand they couldn't help with our expensive vehicle being stolen but the least they could do is make it seem like they were sorry and wanted our business again. We will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank darpri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We chose Great Wolf Lodge (GWL) for 2-nights stay based on great word of mouth from friends, and they were spot-on. Despite being in a rather run-down area, the hotel itself has everything you need, so there is little need to roam abroad, provided you are there for only a few days. The main entrance can be crowded with check-ins and kid activities, so it pays to arrive somewhat early or late for check-in. The check-in staff are great: Professional, full of information, and quick to get you setup for your room. We opted for one of the theme rooms (Kid Camp), with a Queen bed for my wife and me. Our children loved the little 'camp' although I found the bed mattress too hard. The bathroom was rather cramped, so be warned if you plan to bath small children (you'll find it difficult to get near the tub). Nonetheless, the room was spotlessly clean. We ate all our meals on-site, and the food was very good (but not awesome) and the food services staff were awesome! In fact, everyone we dealt with at GWL was professional, courteous, and helpful. Heck, even the towel-guys opened doors and offered helpful tips on deals, coupons, and stuff. The buffet food was plentiful and pretty darn good, although I found the alcohol prices and selection a little high and low, respectively. My wife enjoyed the "mommy package" at the spa and said the ladies were wonderful. The water park is the highlight of the hotel, with something to do for kids of just about every age. The kiddie pool is just right for little tikes, and the children's slides are fun without being too scary. The wave pool is also a great attraction; but, be warned that the waves are strong enough to knock down little ones near the shore-line. We loved the family hot pool, as it helped warm up our kids after they got chilled from too much water-time. The big slides are great, and my 10 year old raved about the Niagara Rapids ride. Even the little tube ones can be fun, and we rarely had to wait longer than 15 minutes at even the busiest time of day to get on the slides. The food offered in the pool area is common stuff (pizza, burgers, etc.), but that works great. Oh, life guards are seemingly everywhere and very attentive, so no worries about little ones in regards to water safety. The ambient temperature in the indoor park is perfect, so you'll only get chilled if you're wet. We went in winter, so couldn't access the outdoor pool or mini-golf. Moreover, we didn't do any of the Harry Potter "wand" stuff, as it looked rather boring for kids after the first few 'magic' things, nor did we participate in the group activities. Nonetheless, all the kids we saw doing both looked to be having a good time. Was it worth the cost? Yeah, we had a blast! Staff are wonderful, food is pretty good, and the rooms are typical hotel rooms with a cute twist for the kids. The indoor water park is the main attraction, but that would get old after a few days. So, GWL is perfect for a 2-3 day getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main entrance might be loud, what with all the kids activities and people checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We just returned from our second time at Great Wolf Lodge, just like last time it did not disappoint. We booked through Expedia so we ended up with a great deal. Water this time around was a bit cooler than last time, food is expensive but it's not the end of the world. Snow land and story time were a lot of fun. I wish the lobby cafe stayed open just a little later, the coffee downstairs is terrible. For dinner we ordered pizza delivered to our room, the pizza is fantastic. We had the buffet breakfast the next day, it is over priced and pretty average but the service was great. At one point we were waiting in line and two men came right up to the front of the line, looked like maybe they worked for GWL as they seemed to know the employees. This was annoying considering you pay a lot of money to come the resort and when people cut in front like that all of the guests in line get disgruntled. Over all it was a great time and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed in Great Wolf lodge this past Friday night. It is a fantastic place, the Grand kids just love it there.On Friday night one of my Grand kids wasn't feeling very well and he couldn't sleep. So my daughter he and myself decided to go down to the Lobby. It was there we met the night receptionist Hillary. She couldn't do enough for us, she made us tea, hot chocolate, gave Cian paper to colour. What a brilliant and considerate young woman she is.She even wanted to get us blankets so we could sleep on the sofa. I have stayed in many places all over the world and have never come across such a lovely person. So thank you so much for making our sleepless night so wonderful. It is a fantastic place for families, so much for them to do. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft suite, two room and two bathrooms, very comfortable, clean and lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisheyes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My Husband and I took our two boys (nearly 3 and 6) to GWL the second week of June. Checked in Monday, Checked out Thursday. The check-in line as well as the main lobby was a bit crowded as people were coming and going so I was in line to get my room for about 15 minutes which wasn't so bad and you cannot really blame the hotel for that. Check in was smooth. Once at the counter everything happened in 5 minutes or less and the service was really nice, dispite the crowd behind me I didnt feel rushed.

We stayed in the wolf den. The room was clean with a view of the outdoor pool which was not open yet. The boys loved the idea of having bunk beds. They have their own rooms at home but loved the bunkbed and that they had a tv in their room. My only suggestion would be to put a door on the wolf den, even if that meant and extra $10 a night. There was some noise from people walking by with kids, or kids playing that Magiquest game but seriously..that is to be expected when coming to a family resort. I found that after 9pm it got really quiet as i guess it was bed time for most little kids.

The pool area was well kept. The service was nice..of course you have those annoying kids that like to squirt water at 3 year olds or even older kids after you tell them nicely to stop but other than that it was good. There were slides for my 3 year old go to down himself and you catch them at the bottom. the line to get on some of the bigger slides weren't bad. I didnt eat any of the food inside the waterpark..i dont like to eat while im wet. But the food at the buffet was nice. They offered alot of different choices. The food is expensive and so is the hotel but knowing that we are definately going back again next year.

Room Tip: My Husband and I took our two boys (nearly 3 and 6) to GWL the second week of June. Checked in Monda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing