We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for little ones”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for little ones”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just stayed here for the first time. It is very expensive for everything in the hotel. I brought a 3 7 and 9 year old. The older ones had fun in the water park doing their own thing. My three year old loved the kiddie slides and did not leave the water park both days we had to drag her out. The food is very expensive and the buffet is not worth the money. We were on the floor with the water park which was very convenient. The rooms are clean. So much to do other than the water park but so much money. We stayed two nights and after the first night eating the buffet at 100$ for 2 adults 2 kids 3 year old did not cost we decided to pick up food and bring back to room. We also brought lots of snacks and drinks with us which cut costs. Some of the staff were friendly however most seemed unhappy. There was a guy in the arcade Derek who was amazing. The pools were shut down twice because of kids pooping in them which is pretty gross. I did not want to get in after. Story time is good for the little ones not for over age of 5. The slides get boring after the first day. I would say over all it was fun and a good experience but next time we would try fallsview or something different. One time would be enough for us .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wright_chantelle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,946
    1,764
    747
    274
    204
See reviews for
5,369
44
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place is great fun for kids and adults! Lots of activities! The pool has something for each agegroup. Rooms are fairly clean, but a but dusty in areas. A bit pricey, but we got a group deal, so it wasn't too bad! Just try to bring your own food. The buffet was pretty good, but very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

No real complaints. It is pricey, but you should know that when you book it and if it is too much for you there are other options. The room was clean as was the entire hotel and water park. The food was good for the fact they have to feed a lot of people. we ordered in Swiss Chalet one night as well. But we did have the breakfast buffet which was good, the pizza which was also good, and burgers, fries, hot dogs, etc from in the waterpark area and it was also good. Nothing spectacular but good for a large operation.

I didn't like the bed but for everyone who hates the bed there is someone who loves it so it comes down to personal taste on that one. Story Time and the Dance party for the kids is a lot of fun for them. I would definitely recommend a trip here if you can afford it. IF you can go during the week it would probably be more enjoyable as it is pretty busy on the weekends, but even still we had a group of 16 and everyone left happy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBig2na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The water park is nice...but it is very pricey, and there are no deals or values. We had a family suite...and after all the fees...it was over $350 for one night just for the room(I get it, the entertainment cost is part of it). They hit you hard while they've got you. Food is expensive, and not high quality, or variety. $23 per adult for a buffet dinner...12 and older are considered adults. We never saw our waitress for the extra napkins she said she would bring us, or the drinks we so desperately needed after a day in the pool. For being family oriented they do not have safety covers on outlets for little ones...and it could use a dry play place for toddlers/kids that are tired of the pool or unable to use pool area. Optional bed rails for the rooms would be helpful as well. Our 3 year old fell out of the bed at night and hit head on side table. Locker rooms are small for a normal gym facility, let alone a large, super crowded water park. Only three showers per lover room and there is only one set of locker rooms. No shower in the family locker room.....

One and done is how we are looking at it. We've seen it, and don't need to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was the second time at GWL. This time our room was a good hike from anything! Which wasn't too much fun with younger children. I also found the water to be much cooler than before. Made it hard for the little ones to stay in very long when that is all we went to do! Room was clean and up to date.

Room Tip: A centrally located room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ame-s014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We are making a new tradition and visiting Great Wolf Lodge every year with our daughter and our friends (2 other couples and their kids).
We went last year around the same time and this year was just as busy. It's busy but the hotel is so big that it is manageable and doesn't feel too crowded. However all the tables and chairs do get taken up quite quickly inside the water park unless you are there right when the water park opens.
We waited until we got special booking rates via email from Great Wolf Lodge and then booked. We booked the standard family suite for 2 nights which was $149.99 per night and when we checked in we were given $100 voucher which could be used towards any meal, in the gift shop or in the spa! What an awesome surprise! Only downside when we checked in was that we were on the 4th floor and our friends were in rooms right next to each other on the 1st floor. We had all booked together and had specifically requested to be close to each other. Oh well, not a big deal as our room was ready when we checked in and we were only using the room to sleep in anyway.
We purchased the meal plan (our daughter is 3 so she ate for free at the buffet), it was $47 per person and included breakfast at the buffet, lunch at the pizza place or the snack place inside the water park and dinner at the buffet. We used the voucher on the food package. So essentially didn't really pay anything for the food. We thought the food at the buffet was good. The Mango Mammoth drink is SOOOO good!
This year our daughter definitely was more into all the activities. She really wanted the wand for the Magiquest game since she saw all the other kids running around and activating the treasure chests and tv's with their wands. So we bought one for her and she was SO happy, it was actually kind of fun even for us adults.
Water park is good, life guards very attentive and I love the Wooly Mammoth water slide. Its a family ride for up to 4 people and you can even bring your little ones on too!
Us girls tried to book the spa but it was completely booked so if you plan on using the spa, book ahead.
This year they had bowling right next to the arcade. The kids had a blast bowling!
Everything about this place was great, great service, great for kids, we had no complaints. 2 nights is definitely more than enough at this place though.
We'll be back again next year but we will try booking in May as we were told that is their slower time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We visited GWL in Niagara over the march break, and I think I would echo some of the recent feedback, like taking a cooler with food and beverages. However, I will say this, the food in the restaurant (at least dinner) was really good. Furthermore, the Chef personally came to our table when we mentioned our daughter's allergies, and she walked us through every food station. A big shout-out to the restaurant staff!!!

If you are with young kids, you'll want to wander up to story time in the lobby a good 20 minutes before 8PM, to get a good seat (on the floor).

The water was a little on the cool side, so I strongly recommend taking GWL's advice, and bring a cover-up or robe for your kids, or do what we did, and wander over to the kid friendly hot (warm) tub ever 30 minutes to warm up.

Really the only down side of our stay, is that we didn't sleep much the first night. The people above us were running around until about 3 AM, jumping yelling, etc. I think the hotel is made of all wood construction (and not concrete), and as such, it sounded like they were coming through the ceiling. So, my advice - if you have a choice, pick a higher room, with fewer people above you.

Otherwise, a great time was had by all. Thanks GWL, and an even bigger Thank You to your Chef's, who went above and beyond.

Cheers,
Brian

Room Tip: higher floors...are better...less floor noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing