We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time with kids”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent time with kids”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our third time visiting back to GWL Niagara and once again we are pleased with the stay. Everything went well. Got the keys early and had an excellent time at the water-park.

Rooms are kept clean and no Bed Bugs. Wifi is Free and food quality is good as well.

Room Tip: Try to book when there are deals going on. If you have been told to wait for SMS on your room availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayooran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,859
    1,728
    733
    269
    199
See reviews for
5,227
44
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge resort for two nights in May. The rooms are a good size (we had the family suite) and are clean. A bit odd is the sink outside the bathroom in the room, thus making the bathroom very small and narrow. Small Fridge and microwave are provided, though you are not allowed to make popcorn in the room. The water park is great fun for kids, however very crowded on the weekends. They have a birthday package (129$) but you can choose only a Happy Bday banner on the door for 4.99$ and a Happy Bday cake from the small restaurant near the water park entrance if you want to spend less. They keep small kids entertained at night with story time at around 8pm.
We did not eat on site so can not comment on food. This was our second time at the resort it is a nice way to spend a weekend for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo9r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is honestly the first review I've ever written, and trust me when I say...I'm pretty low maintenance. My expectations are not super high but I was really put off on our recent stay.
We returned to GWL Niagara for our second time May 5,6,7 of 2014. We enjoyed the water park the first night...but the following morning at 10 a.m. my husband went down the Squirrel Falls water slide and ended up with a gaping gash on his left forearm by his elbow. We ended up having to leave right away for the hospital and he ended up needing 6 stitches and was told he could not get them wet for 7 days...which the main reason for GWL is the water park so this obviously put a serious damper on our holiday. Upon arrival back to the resort from the hospital my husband let the lifeguard who was on duty know that he had gone to the hospital as he had advised. We were told they shut the slide down briefly to inspect it but was re-opened after no discovery was made, and that someone would be checking in with us regarding the incident. That was the end of it...in fact nobody contacted us or spoke to us further about the incident. At all. On top of that we couldn't help but notice the serious decline in the quality of customer service and food since our last stay! There were a lot of young adults working in the water park and food areas...very few could give anyone the time of day, and spent more time talking to each other than anything else. I witnessed several times during our stay other patrons asking questions or kids attempting to talk to them (as kids tend to do) and were addressed in a rushed or unpleasant manner, as though you were putting them out somehow. Things are overpriced already...but we decided to order a cheese pizza from Northwoods Pizza Company anyway. It was thinner than a thin crust (if that's even possible) and tasted like cardboard. This should have been an indicator to spend no further, but against my better judgement, we ordered ice cream cones and are told they are out of regular cones, and only have chocolate dipped ones. As our only option at this point, we obviously say ok...except once we pay the bill and get them to the table, we notice not only did we get charged .99 extra for each one, but that the chocolate "dipped" part was dried out and had the look of dried spores on them! I wish I had've taken a picture because obviously they were either old or had gotten melted/wet then dried...either way, they were gross. Needless to say...after spending $22 on 4 cones, throwing them out was a blow. Why didn't I complain then and there...because at this point I had given up on the idea that anybody working there cared about anything at all. To top it off...we got the girls a pink "build a bear" wolf stuffy before we left, only to find shortly after leaving on our way home that the one of the wolf stuffy's was coming apart at the seams. I sewed it up as soon as we got home...but seriously?! I'm very disappointed. I definitely do not foresee us returning which is a shame, it was such a let down from our first visit. We had planned to budget this in as an annual family vacation spot but we will go elsewhere for certain now. Everyone I have told has been appalled (about the injury alone) and I have even spoken to a few who have agreed that everything has definitely declined there. Previous to this I had always spoke highly of GWL...but after this, I would have to advise anyone to look elsewhere or seriously lower your expectations to avoid disappointment. You pay a very high price for poor quality here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brandy- H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 days at the lodge with 5 children under the age of 10 they all had wonderful time .They went out of here way to make sure the kids kept busy,they all want to go back. If any one has worries about special diets forget it the lodge went out of their way to meet our special diets.

.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were looking to spend a night at Great Wolf Lodge in Williamsburg, VA for our Spring Break. They jacked the nightly rates to $499 a night (insane). So we looked into other options. We looked into Charlotte $279/night and then Niagara Falls $269/night. Top that off with the 10% US-Canadian Dollar difference and it was a bargain!

The Niagara GWL staff were great! Very friendly and helpful. The slides were fun, and the kid camp in the sleeping room was a HUGE hit! We opted for the meal plan which was again reasonable so we could spend as much time in the water park as possible.

I only have 1 complaint. The locker rooms in the pool area were FREEZING! Every time we'd go to use the washroom and we had to build up courage to go! (The washrooms by the hot tubs behind the wave pool were much warmer (though we did not find these until the second day).

Highly recommend this as a ONE night stay. Two would be too much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamecocks9799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My ONLY COMPLAINT is about the measurement of how tall my children were! At home my 5 year old son was definitely more than 42 inches, but when they measured him on their measurement stick using a right angle, he was short by almost an inch!!! Therefore, he could not go on the big rides with an adult and we were limited to the kiddie slides. Since he was 5 he could go in another area, but before you got to the slides you got soaked, which he hated. Then my 2.5 year old daughter could NOT even go on the KIDDIE slides since the child must be 35 inches tall! So, apparently, we were at a waterpark and there was NOT EVEN ONE slide for her who was shy by less than 1/2 inch!!!. As a result, there was not much for her to go on. WORD OF ADVISE DON'T GO UNTIL YOUR CHILD IS WELL OVER THE HEIGHT MINIMUM!!! AND they make you take off all type of footwear!!! ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!! Otherwise awesome place for kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Angela7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had never been to Niagara Falls before, but it was on the bucket list. We saw a description of this kid friendly hotel in a parenting magazine for great places for kids.

We loved it! We only had a couple of days, but we could definitely stay a week next time.
There are so many of water slides and it is well staffed to maintain a safe environment.

There are adult only hot pools! To escape the kids.

They have an interactive MajiQuest - which was awesome - not only for the younger kids, but next time we may get our own wands! You have a wand and need to complete a sort of scavenger hunt. This could definitely take a whole day to complete... or week.

There is an arcade, mini bowling alley, Cub Club - kids craft room. Spa. Story time at night and so much more.

The breakfast buffets were OK. but then we came near the closing of the food service.

We were there for two days, but really we needed longer! We barely saw enough of Niagrara Falls, Niagara and other activities.... wineries, cross border shopping etc.

We definitely are coming back!

Don't forget to HOWL in the lobby... the wolves howl back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDNTripper1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing