We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Week at Great Wolf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Week at Great Wolf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here in June of 2012; our daughter was 9. I booked Great Wolf because we wanted to avoid the "back at the hotel, the kids played video games" scenario. Great Wolf really fit the bill. When we were done touring for the day, we hit the water park or the mini-golf. By the end of our stay Great Wolf was one of the favorite things we had done. The raft rides and the water coaster were our favorite.

Great Wolf issues armbands to all guests which can be used for unlocking your hotel room door and to pay for purchases. At 9, our daughter was thrilled with this level of control. Plus it was handy - we could just end her to the room to fetch something and she was excited to do it on her own!

We sent our daughter to their child care one evening for a little couple time. They were very careful with the check-in and check-out, making sure kids went with the right parents. The child care area is secure and we had no worries about it. They had plenty for the kids to do. At 9 our daughter was one of the older kids there, and stated that the activities were generally a little below her level, but she still had a good time.

We also participated in their MagiQuest offering, which was a lot of fun and gave us a family activity to share over the course of a few days. They had some technical glitches which made completing the quest a little tricky, but it was still neat. The skill level is appropriate for kids, but the story means adults won't be bored to tears.

Great Wolf makes its money on having a captive audience. I am sure much of the profits come from the add-ons and the meals - and there is a charge for almost every activity. We found the food to be good but overpriced - $47 per adult for dinner is a lot! We saved money by buying breakfast at a local grocery store (ask at the concierge desk) and eating in local restaurants. We did split a pizza one night, and it was OK, but typical kid-level pizza.

As you might expect, the place is always swamped with families. We had a room in the south wing, far enough away from the lobby that we did not hear the lobby noise. We did hear kids thundering down the hall in the evenings, but that is to be expected.

We had a longer-than-usual stay (9 days) because we wanted to see everything in the Niagara area), After 9 days we were ready to go - that much heavy theming wears on you. But I can recommend Great Wolf, especially with have kids in the 5-12 age range. It's not a budget option, but you do get something unique for the money.

Room Tip: We found a first-floor room to be convenient. The one elevator is often busy and slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LakeMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,418
    1,574
    647
    248
    173
See reviews for
4,523
41
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Although the resort tends to be a bit pricey, the stay is most definitely worth it. We got a package that included breakfast (buffet), lunch (choice of pizza, burger, sandwich, hotdog) and dinner (buffet) one drink with every meal is included $47 per adult and $22 per child. Kids 3 and under are free. If your child is close to 3, just tell them that your child is under 3 and you won't have to pay for them!=). The food at the buffet was fabulous and there was a great variety. Everyone was happy. The service is constantly amazing everywhere. They go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is comfortable and happy. There is plenty for the kids to do when the water park closes ( arcade, magic quest, blowing), but keep in mind they all come with an added fee. There is story time at 8pm , where kids go in their pj's and enjoy 2 Robert Munch books read by a staff member. If you are wondering if you will have a good time, don't! You will love it! Even my 70 year old parents had fun!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden(outside Toronto)
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

All I can say is WOW.
This place has thrown out all the stops. Decor amazing, rooms spacious well thought out, the magic wand quest, talking animals throughout and impressive buffet meals.
Enjoyed it, little busier for my liking. You will wait to go on some of the tube rides, if you do not like crowds mid week when kids in school definitely time to go.

Overall I would not recommend to anyone with children under 48'. Our kids were so, it was quite busy, hard to watch them and they can't go on everything. When they are bit older we would return so they could go on the rides themselves and get more out of it.

Room Tip: Rooms have fridge & microwave. Bring snacks, juice in to cut down some of the costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qtpiede19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Although Great Wolf Lodge is very expensive I've found it to be worth the money. My family has visited multiple times and never been disappointed. The staff are all very friendly and the lodge is very clean. The restaurant within the lodge had a very good buffet with plenty of options. The rooms at Great Wolf Lodge are very spacious and clean. The arcade is a lot of fun for everyone after a long day in the wicked waterpark.

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the waterpark, the employees working within the water park at Great Wolf Lodge do a very good job moving people through the rides so the lines are never too long.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maddysucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Originally stayed here back in 2007, returned in June 2014 on a Friday night. Biggest difference, the place is no longer packed to bursting with guests. The facilities are still outstanding, the room was well maintained and clean. The pool area was great. The staff were super accommodating this time, wow what a difference, everyone was cheerful and helpful, last time they were just overwhelmed. It was basically a great experience. We have stayed at Kalahari in Sandusky a number of times since originally visiting here. This place is much much smaller and the rides are much tamer. Everything is a tube ride also. I'm thinking that the 10 and under crowd will love it, but teenagers, thrill-seekers would become bored. It was just about right for my 8 and 12 year olds. It's still too expensive but you can tell they are much more eager for your business. I would recommend it particularly like I said for the 10 and under crowd and smaller children and babies. There was a lot of door slamming til late in the night, but I think that was more drunken adults, then kids in the hall.

Room Tip: not sure there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeswideshut699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmrwest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Took the family to Niagra falls then to the GWL for two nights. Always a good time (we've been to the one in the poconos). My only complaint w/GWL is the price to eat there. It's expected that the hotel rooms are expensive, but they pretty much gouge you for the food. We headed into niaga for our meals at night. All in all it's a clean place and my 3 kids loved it.

Room Tip: Pack food. Rooms have a refridgerator. It's very expensive to eat there. And be ready to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmrwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you have children between the ages of 2 and probably teenagers, this is an amazing place to go. Pools and water slides, an arcade and kid spa, super friendly staff, nice rooms, extra activities, and decent prices considering this is a hotel room PLUS two days of water park for each night stay. Our kids are 2, 5 and 9 and all three loved it. We will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.8 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing