We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

My husband and I travelled with our 3 year old son to GWL this past weekend. While I cannot say that this was a relaxing vacation, it was definately a fantastic family getaway.
We arrived at the hotel around 2pm, along with what seemed like every other hotel guest. The lobby was absolutely JAMMED. Although our initial reaction was not a good onedue to the crowd, we were soon surprised by the GWL staff who entertained the kids while the adults waited in the check-in line by making balloon animals and setting up a face painting station! Our room was ready (although check-in time is not actually until 4).
The wristbands that you receive at check in are a huge plus. These act as the key to your room, as well as enable you to lock/unlock the complimentary lockers in the waterpark. You can also charge food/snacks to your room while within the waterpark using your bracelet, so there is no need to bring a wallet to the waterpark.
The room itself ( we stayed in the cheapest one) was great. It was roomier than your average hotel room. It was clean and well kept. The only problem we found with the room was that the heater/air conditioner was very noisy. Not a huge deal though.

The waterpark:
There is something in there for kids of all ages starting with toddlers. There are also complimentary life jackets and towels when you enter the water area. Our son was a little timid at first due to all of the water spraying everywhere, but he soon got used to it, and had a blast. He especially liked the kiddy slides for those under 42" tall, and the wave pool. Even though the air temperature is kept at 82F, we did get a little cold after being in and out of water for hours, so we utilized the family hot tub quite often. It was not hot - just nice and warm. The outdoor (adults only) hot tub was a great place to escape and relax for a few minutes.

Food:
We ate dinner at the buffet. It cost about $24 for adults, but kids under 3 are free. There was lots of selection even for picky eaters. Salad var, Roast beef being carved, pasta station, pizza, mini buffet table at kids height, lots of desserts. We also ate breakfast at the buffet - again great selection, including an omelette station - adults were about $15 including a beverage, with kids 3 and under free. We ate lunch at the Pizza Hut on site. The prices were about the same as you would pay at any Pizza Hut location, except the soft drinks were quite pricey. The only downfall to the Pizza Hut was the seating - there were only a few small tables.
Since there are small refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms, I would recommend bringing snacks and drinks if you don't want to spend $2.50 for a Pepsi or $2.00 for a tiny bag of chips.

If you want to get away for a couple of days, and you want your kids to sleep like logs, I would highly recommend GWL.

  • Liked — One stop shop - once you check-in, you don't have to leave the property until check-out
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,416
    1,572
    647
    248
    173
See reviews for
4,520
41
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

WOW , we went with high hopes of a great place . Looking at pics and reading info provided at GreatWolf web site , we thought it would be awesome. We got there and we suprized that the hotel had no porters or doormen at all to help direct you to parking or luggage carts . We went in and were hit with the fact that 4 attractions would be not running until the next day (WOLF web site promiced these would be working the day we got there). So because of 4 rides
not working they gave us 30 game tokens (big deal). Our room was rather sparten . A family sweet with a living room , yet only 1 TV . The room had no hotel info packet or info on in house eating , just a phone book and bible . So we went to what was said to be a 84 degree water park was NOT ! More like 75 degrees. Water was don right cold as was air temp.
Now the food - 4 hot dogs 4 drinks 4 fries over $30.00 ! 2 medium pizza's $42.00 . The buffet for 2 adults and 2 children was $70.00 WITHOUT unlimited drinks!!! They had basic slop food and pizza hut pizza . The service was poor to say the least . The WORST thing had to be getting an elevator . There are only 2 of them and they were not both working the entire time.
The park itself was full of attentive lifeguards and the towel providers were very polite . That was a plus . However the promiced slides were not all open they still had the bigest one not working , had we known they would have not planned on finishing the work on time we would have not come.
OK - food(or slop) was $$$ , lack of any info ...ok but the water park is what we were there for and it was cold , bathrooms we INSAINE they we like being outside. 84 degrees ? What a joke ...do not waste your time or money - Go to the best one (Kalahri in Ohio) we have been to the best once , maybe we were spoiled - by the way Kalahri was cheeper!!! ONE LAST THING - this is supposed to be a family friendly place , yet they barred kids from the outdoor hot tubs ...silly GREAT WOLF SUCKS!

Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank makbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

I just wanted to write this review to let everybody know how terrible of a trip my son and I experienced. My son is 6 years old with a brain malformation. (Terminal Illness) We went to the Great Wolf lodge on his make-a-wish trip in June. Upon arrival we didn't get greeted, nor did we feel any different then the other paying customers. That first night we were there we went to the water with my little boy and the lifeguard informed us my son couldn't use a swimming device. My son is severely disabled and can't obviously go into water without at least a tube to hold him up. The second day my sister-in-law finally called management to complain over the horrible treatment that had given us since we had arrived. Our room was never cleaned properly, my son was basically denied swimming privledges, and most of all for it being his last trip nobody went out of their way to make him feel special. The last day we needed an extra hour because my son was sleeping and the front desk agent told us we had to leave the hotel was booked solid. U would think for 2500 dollars for 4 days, and extra hour would have never made a difference. If I would have known it was gonna be a living nightmare that would have been the last place I would have ever taken my son. I just want people to be aware the facility itself is an eye catcher for sure, but the people who work in it are something to desire. I will never recommend this hotel to anybody especially not a child with a terminal illness with one last wish. I'm disgusted in the treatment my son and I received and have no good memories other then the ones I'm expressing on this website. My name Is Miranda, if you have any other questions feel free to e-mail me, I will let you know more.
Marmstrong9@cogeco.ca

  • Liked — Appearance
  • Disliked — The whole place
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank miranda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

Excellent getaway close to home.
Have stayed there three times now and have had an excellent time each vist.
Have a 2 1/2 year old who absolutely loves the waterpark and can enjoy many of the slides and attractions.
The storytime feature is always a hit.
Meals are a bit pricey, but we have found the quality of the food to be good and so don't mind paying a bit for the convenience of eating there.
In room mini-fridge and microwaves are supplied.
Going mid-week or a Sunday/Monday is even better as there is no one in the park and you can ride without any line ups.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EdfromGtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GTA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We went to GWL last year and we had a great time! I have a 1 yr old and and a 9 yr old and they both had a blast! We were able to book the family suite for $179 (with corp discount)/night and included 4 waterpark passes for 2 days. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay so much that we're going back at the end of January with more family members. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mommy7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

From January 4-6 2009, my family and I went to Great Wolf Lodge as a Christmas gift. The lobby is AMAZING! The animatronics are just breath-taking. At 10:00 AM every morning, they have a Forest Ffriends show, in which not only the bear, moose and tree talk; but bear cubs, a racoon, an owl and raven come out as well! The rooms are decent. In the Family Suite, the bathroom is fairly small, but the spacious room makes up for it. Don't get a themed room! You will not be spending a lot of time in it! It's a waste of money. The heater is definitely noisy. It sounds like a truck engine rumbling. The beds and pillows are decently comfy. The waterpark is a little smaller than expected. It's confusing at first too, because there's numerous staircases leading to various slides. The slides are really fun to go on though! My favourites were Niagara Rapids Run and Canada Vortex. The wristbands are a nice touch as well. I loved the fact that they opened your lockers (in the waterpark changeroom) and your door. Speaking of, when you want to open/ close your locker you have to slide the thing that sticks out on the left upwards. Then put the logo part of your bracelet on the button in the centre and press. If you forget your locker number, go to the towel booth and scan you bracelet. The Trading Post shop was slightly over-priced. It was $9 for a solar-powered keychain with my name on it. The last thing I can say is, bring your own food! The fridge and microwave are extremely useful. Have a great trip!

  • Liked — The slides
  • Disliked — The heater
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank megany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

This was our third trip within a year, and we only live less than an hours drive away.
It was the most busy time we have ever been. And we did not feel neglected nor rushed in any way!!
Kudos have to go to the lifeguards and emerg staff. A young child fell and with in a minute help was there.
The place was clean, the food was great and for the two and half days we were there we did not leave the place once!!

  • Liked — The atmosphere, very family oriented, you didn't have to feel like muscle beach, very comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing really, except we had to go home.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakeladyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.8 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing