We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant, quiet room”
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Spent 2 nights in a deluxe King room. HUGE room! Shower and jet tub were great. Bed was a bit hard for us. View out the window was the parking lot of the magic show-just left blinds closed the whole time. B-fast isn't anything special, but good enough to get some good coffee and yogurt. Impressive shampoo, lotion and other product-all organic too.
Yes the hotel looks like the photos, but the area is a little shady around the hotel-older hotels and some residential houses looks much different than the community where I expected to find the hotel. Didn't have any problems, even when walking at night, but was on guard. Free parking is great after spending 20$ to self park at another hotel in the area. Overall happy with our stay, just wish hotel had a nicer view/in a different area of the falls, but value for the room/stay was worth sacrificing these things.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Sterling for our 2nd honeymoon in September. For the most part, it was as advertised. Spacious rooms, very nice steam showers, king sized beds, very quiet, and close enough to walk to everything, with free parking, a rarity in Niagara Falls. The room was clean, except for the hardwood floors. There were LARGE dust bunnies all over the floor the first night, but the second day the maid did clean the floor well, as well as the rooms adjoining ours, leaving a lot of stuff outside all the rooms.
The AG lounge in the lower level was a major disappointment. It was described as one of the best in the area, but our food was not hot on arrival, and the portions were miniscule. I am no gourmet, but it was just not very good.
We did get discounted tickets to the Greg Frewin magic show next door, which was very much worth the price, but you have to ask for the tickets. All in all, we were actually pretty satisfied, we were lucky enough to get a balcony room in the front on the second level.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Largesarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This hotel is a wonderful surprise in Niagara Falls, ON. The rooms are generous in size, most include a fireplace, a jacuzzi tub and/or steam shower and it is a very quiet hotel. The soaring ceilings add to the atmosphere and there are plenty of very good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. A wonderful place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ladyblue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed there for three nights, this past August. We loved it! I had done a lot of web searching to try and find a great place for us to stay in the Falls - that didn't kill the budget! I had also checked out Niagara-on-the-Lake for something, found one place but even it could not match the Sterling. (I compared apples to apples)

Love the website for Sterling - was a great way to get a "feel" for the place - virtual tours are awesome way to show this! I always look for a virtual tour or a gallery of photo's. I also do a check on TripAdvisor for reviews and other photos.

Then --- I took a look at what was being offered in the price (compared to other hotels) Free parking - bonus!! (considering it is $20 - $25 everywhere else) Free wi-fi all the way through the building! Other places were charging for internet (and these extra costs really DO add up!) "Breakfast in bed" - this they do need to improve on - great touch - just a tad sketchy! But it also saved us money - but made for a nice start of the day.

LOVED the bathroom - HUGE! Loved the steam shower - was the first time I had ever seen or used one! After walking all day and evening, hiking through the Gorge and Niagara Glenn, doing wine tours, and countless times up and down Clifton Hill - the steam shower (and a glass of wine) was a godsend! The water was always hot, the shower area itself is amazing - all glass and glass door - ceiling to floor! The products they supplied for toiletries were from the Spa - wish now I had of taken advantage of the $25 Spa Certificate! (another freebie and perk included in the price)

Another plus was that it is close to everything and we loved that fact - especially in the evening!) We could walk down to the Falls every night! We could walk to restaurants for lunch and dinner - without the hassle of trying to find a place to park (and the extra costs for that as well).

Concierge service is part of the package and don't be afraid to use this! It is located in the main lobby opposite the front desk. Hotel staff are amazing!

Our room was beautiful! Set up perfect - very clean (except for the stray dust Bunny under the bed) King size bed, working gas fireplace, two sitting areas, ample dresser and closet space, Coffee/beverage area: small fridge to use, sink and counterspace, coffee maker, and all the fixings! Lots of towels and toiletries - and best of all - geared to adults! My husband said it was the most comfortable bed he has ever slept in! Dark wood, hardwood floors, comfortable couch in the one sitting area, and comfortable leather chairs and small glass table in other sitting area up near the window. Nice desk area for laptop - near window as well.

The Inn itself was different - it is a remodled and revamped Milk dairy. Original beams! Original milk bottle as front entrance! (you have to see the pictures!) The restaurant (AG Cuisine) down in the lower level, and attached to the hotel, is cool! Red, black, and silver! We went for drinks on our last evening there. Next time we will have dinner there as it is rated the TOP restaurant in Niagara Falls and region! We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor if at all possible and dont be afraid to use the Concierge service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CaseyJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night because of its boutique hotel status. We stayed there on a Monday night and we disappointed but a few things. The rooms were pretty nice and well decorated and appointed, nice bathroom but we tried to order room service ( to simply have a cold drink as we settled in) and it was not possible. The restaurant was closed so no room service. We almost left then but were too tired. We ordered the in room breakfast for the next morning and it was very nice. However, it was delivered by a very nice maintenance man ( who sadly needed a change of clothes or a shower, you could literally follow where he been in the hotel through your nose). There was no official bell boy or room service delivery person. Again we thought this was kind of odd. We had planned to stay two nights but decided not too because it just wasn't living up to the moniker of a " boutique hotel". Yes, the neighbourhood was kind of sketchy. FYI - no view of Falls here. Wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Worlddrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is right off the main drag in Niagara Falls on the Canadian side. It is still close enough to walk to everything. My impression of the place:

Free parking was great.

The exterior was fine. The neighborhood is kind of sketch, a lot of run down properties around it. Just lock your car doors!

Inside is like a whole different world. The lobby is opulent, the rooms were superb. We got the standard one with a shower and were pleased. It's very well done inside. I have to say kudos to the builder/designer. The bed was very comfortable, too.

Free breakfast was very nice. It wasn't amazing, but come on people, they bring it to your room and it's all very edible. To the people who make fun of it: get over yourselves! It's a nice touch that makes the stay nicer.

My only complaint and the reason why I did not give this place 5 stars: customer service at the front desk. They were always busy. The person was on the phone every time I went to speak to them. It's great they are busy and popular, but make sure you have enough staff to cover the phones and people in front of the counter. Because the woman was so busy when I was checking out, she didn't charge the room to the right credit card like I had just asked her to. I was charged a foreign currency charge by my credit card company.

If that is my only complaint, you should obviously realize you will be safe and enjoy your time in this great hotel. I just hope management gets it together at the front desk.

Room Tip: If coming from America, check with your credit card companies to see which ones do not charge you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scadventurer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel as it was the top-rated hotel in the Niagara Falls area. We wanted a hotel that more adult-oriented since it was a vacation to celebrate our anniversary and the Sterling Inn did not disappoint! The room was huge and included a jacuzzi as well as a fireplace with a little sitting area in front where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. The breakfast was a great way to start the day, although it didn't vary much at all and we were tired of it by our fourth morning. We had to stay an extra night due to Hurricane Irene and the staff was very accommodating allowing us to stay in the same room.
Other bonuses with the hotel were that it was within walking distance of every attraction and restaurant we wanted to go to in Niagara Falls and the restaurant attached to the hotel (AG Cuisine) was outstanding!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hfritzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £62 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing