We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value & stay!”
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Firstly I was skeptical due to the great price... I was starting to think I had paid the listed price PER PERSON, however that was not the case. The value in the package (Stay, Dinner and Breakfast in Bed) is fantastic!The dinner alone is worth nearly half the stay, and the room was extremely impressive.
The room was quiet, very well furnished, and the bed very comfortable. It was 10/10 for cleanliness and organization. The bathroom was very large, and the waterfall shower was a treat. The provided soaps and shampoo were exceptional.
The dinner and breakfast were great, and many compliments to the chefs. The only complaint was there were no vegetarian-specific meal options, HOWEVER, they were VERY accommodating and were eager to please/modify a recipe/menu.
Although the Sterling Inn is a walk from the water's edge/falls view, it is VERY well worth the distance. I will return and strongly recommend to anyone interested in a luxurious and relaxing stay in Niagara Falls.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any room... but be sure to book in advance. Ask for details regarding Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_kirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

My Wife and I recently enjoyed our 10th year Anniversary at Sterling, we did alot of research for at least 12 comparible Inn's in surrounding area. Our expectations were exceeded when we arrived the front check-in area was very modern and accomodating. The room had a bottle of Champagne.... nice touch and the room was large and modern with lovely jacuzzi tub truely for 2 with robes for after. The room was amazing with fireplace and comfy king bed. The Restaurant was excellent 5 star meal. Cant say enough about our experience, it was by far the most reasonable experience we have had. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Park street S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sterling Inn and found it to be a nice, quiet haven from the hectic tourist mecca in Niagara. Free parking and breakfast was definitely a plus, especially once we tried taking the rental car down to the busier parts of the town during the day. The steam shower in the room was an absolute heaven, especially after doing so much walking. It's a little off the beaten path, so just be prepared for walking if you stay here.

We found the room to be very clean & the bed comfortable, but if it's your first trip to Niagara and you're looking for advice or guidance on destinations or getting around, be prepared to wait. During our entire stay, the front desk agent was responsible for answering the phones, making reservations, checking people in, and serving as the concierge. They also didn't volunteer any welcome info or maps upon check-in...it's really up to you to keep asking if you need tourism help.

Overall a pleasant, quiet place to stay for adults looking to stay outside of the heart of the attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Rooms were clean and big , but they were lacking in personality. They seemed cold and mechanical.The be was as hard as a rock. Shower ( rain ) was cool but the steam just were plugged and not working. No wi fi connection . AG restaurant was very tasty , priced as you would expect. Passed on the overpriced spa. Nice hotel , but for the price I expected a little more

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franky472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Booked directly with hotel. Requested a Whirlpool room at that time. When we checked in they had us pay an upgrade charge of 25.00/night stated that the whirlpool room was not a guaranteed and they were out. We were there at 1:30. I would have booked with 3rd party if I didn't want a guarantee.
Everything else was as represented. Just an extra 75.00 + for the 3 nights.
Which made the value poor for the area and inconvenience the next time I would stay at Embassy Suited on the Falls.
Very disappointed in the situation.
We checked in on a Wednesday and know they were not booked as evidenced by the cars in lot....

Room Tip: There is no pool of Hot Tub area/Exercise area is inadequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lester0374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Free and plentiful parking, location is excellent for walking to the falls (5 minutes away) or enjoying the bustling tourist area of Clifton Hill/Casino area (one block away) or the Magic of the Greg Frewin Theatre (next door).

The rooms in this wonderful boutique hotel are spacious and comfortable. Our room (205) is one of the largest and was great for a girls getaway. It has 2 queen beds, a comfortable leather sofa bed, fireplace, large shower with multiple jets and a rain shower (lovely Organiq Spa shampoo, lotion, bath salts, conditioner), terry bathrobes, large jacuzzi tub and a fridge. The breakfast was included and delivered at your choice of any 15 minute time span. We received yogurt, granola, individual quiches, large pot of tea and coffee, croissants with butter, ham and cheese. It was a great way to start our day.

As wonderful as the room and hotel is, it's the AG Restaurant that makes this place outstanding. An abundance of Ontario wines to choose from, a small menu that incorporates local specialties but still made it difficult to choose an entree from among the tempting selections. My companion started with the goat cheese appetizer and couldn't resist taking a photo. The presentation is beautiful, surpassed only by the flavour which is surpassed only by the service. Our server was Kellie and she was unobtrusively attentive, friendly and knowledgeable about every aspect of the menu.She suggested the Sterling Silver Beef Tenderloin with an almond brie crust and it was spectacular.

Room Tip: The hotel was an old dairy so each room is unique. Room 205 is excellent for families or friends wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sterling Inn in mid-September 2011. We had high expectations for the hotel based on prior reviews and an article in the New York Times. The hotel had many quirky features, but our experience was more puzzling than fun.

First, although our room was spacious and quiet, it had an odd layout. A sort of hallway led from the front door to the bathroom and then to the area where the bed, chairs, and desk were. But there was a big step from the hallway up to the bedroom area. Why did they do this? It can be deadly if you get out of bed in the middle of the night and forget to step down to get to the bathroom. Also, the bed itself was on a platform that we kept banging into as we walked around the bedroom. .Why did they do THIS?

Second, the room had a big TV set but no information about channels available. We had checked in on a Sunday and my husband wanted to watch the football games, but didn't know where to find them. We asked the front desk clerk and he said "We're not big on football here in Canada - we are more interested in hockey" and added that another guest had asked him the same question and he told them the best option was to go to a sports bar. Well, a little channel surfing revealed that the football games were indeed shown on the TV set in our room. Why couldn't we get this information?

Third, the hotel has a very nice restaurant where we had an enjoyable dinner, but the restaurant is not open for breakfast. The hotel provides a room-service cold breakfast that is included in the price of the room, but it's odd that the restaurant is not available for breakfast. And given the sleazy area of Niagara Falls where the hotel is located, going out for breakfast is not an attractive option.

Finally, although the hotel prides itself on service, when we checked in there was only one towel in our room. It took three requests for more towels to actually receive them. The second day we had only one washcloth, and the third day there was only one napkin on the breakfast tray. Can the staff not count?

The only really positive aspects about this hotel were the quiet location, the low price and our dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caravanseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: £58 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing