We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couples Hotel”
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Couples Hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We wanted to spend our anniversary in Niagara Falls but didn't want the typical falls hotel/casino experience. This hotel is close to the falls as well as the downtown with easy parking.
At check-in, the lady at the front desk was very helpful with our specific room requirements. We found our room very spacious and clean. We were still impressed with the room even after seeing the pictures on the website. The breakfast delivered to the room was a nice touch. It would have been nice to try the restaurant but it isn't open Mondays.
We would absolutely stay here again the next time we go to Niagara.

Room Tip: The floors are hardwood so at times because we were on the first floor, we could hear people walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    399
    148
    56
    44
See reviews for
55
1,325
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were very excited about staying here and our expectations were exceeded!
Our room was so spacious and luxurious! The bathroom was modern, clean and the shower was amazing!
Our pillow-topped king sized bed was hard to leave as it was so comfortable and warm.
Breakfast in bed was also a luxury we don't often get and was so appreciated!
We also took advantage of the jacuzzi and fireplace and both did not disappoint! (I, especially, was thankful for the bathrobes that were provided!)
The couples massage was the highlight and definitely recommended!
Will be going back very soon and highly recommend this inn for a romantic getaway!
(Two small notes: check in area is really small...there were four couples checking in at the same time and the desk in relation to the front entrance made for an awkward waiting line...and would really have liked a larger tv for the size of the room along with some sort of device for playing music...everything else was so modern!)

Room Tip: Splurge on the upgrades...well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
I'm so happy to hear you getaway was a success! We truly feel we provide the ultimate romantic getaway and I'm thrilled we were able to accomplish this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa Baumgartner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I think they could charge twice as much for this hotel.

The rooms are massive and well equipped, breakfast is served to the room as standard and the location is great.

My only issue when we stayed was that there was an problem with the WiFi. However this doesn't detract from the fact it was an amazing hotel.

Since staying we have also realised it is listed in the Lonely Planet Guide which is a great endorsement.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are elated to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa Baumgartner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Wow. We could have fitted our apartment at home into our room at the Sterling Inn. It was huge, beautifully decorated, with a fireplace, comfortanble seating area, big TV, wetbar area with fridge and freeze, two enormous beds, wooden floors, lovely linen, and a very elegant bathroom with a walk-in shower and large jacuzzi.

We spent time in the attached bar/restaurant, which is more formal than many of the surrounding dining options, with friendly staff who clearly take pride in their work. There was an excellent wine list and an emphasis on local produce. We were lucky enough to be there on a Friday night when there was a very talented jazz singer performing.


The free breakfast was well-sourced with good quality croissants and quiche, plus fruit, yoghurt etc.

I'm happy we chose this over the more obvious hotels in Niagara. It's an old dairy that's been thoughtfully converted, creating spacious public and private areas while retaining some features such as its
its milk-bottle shaped tower. And it's a short walk to Clifton Hill and a view of the American Falls, so the free parking is quite convenient.

WiFi is free and good, although sockets were a little inconveniently placed. That was our only niggle. It's a great romantic hideaway and I'm happy to give it 5 stars.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tripbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

As you would guess from the title a very happy customer, stayed fire one night end of May 2014 on my way to Buffalo, booked it based on the great reviews and was truly impressed
weather was gorgeous, hotel flawless, unfortunately restaurant closed on Monday, looked really brilliant from the outside
Pluses: room size, cleanliness, balcony, complimentary breakfast and WiFi, decent location, sexy receptionist Maria!
Minuses: only stayed for one night!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank savvyreviewsreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
I'm so happy to hear you getaway was a success! We truly feel we provide the ultimate romantic getaway and I'm thrilled we were able to accomplish this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa Baumgartner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at Sterling for a one-night getaway. Enjoyed the fact that it's geared toward couples, located about a block away from Lundy's Lane. Easy walking to Clifton Hill. It's a renovated dairy factory, offering huge rooms (ours was about 600 square feet) and nice amenities. While the character of the hotel is upscale, it was lacking a few things that would make it even better. Considering the rooms have either a steam shower or jetted-tub, bathrobes would have been nice. Also, while there is a kitchenette, there was no microwave. Could also use a Television in the bathroom considering the size of the room. Complimentary in-room breakfast is a nice touch. We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant or use the Spa, both looked nice however.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike40Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight in one of the traditional rooms. There are two other types of rooms which I believe are larger.

positives:
Room was clean.
parking was free.
Short walk to Clifton Hill.
About a 15 minute walk to Fallsview Casino.
Very nice complimentary breakfast.
Room has a mini fridge and gas fireplace.
Good channel selection on the TV
Our room had a nice balcony.( but don't expect a great view of anything ) I assume you can smoke there.
Nice big shower which can be turned into a hot steam room. You can ask for a room with a jacuzzi if that's your thing.
King size bed
Good value for the money

negatives:
Blanket had some old coffee stains (hope it was coffee). The room has excellent climate control, so get rid of these heavy, stained bed covers or get them cleaned. It really takes away from an almost perfect room.

Room Tip: I found their traditional room more than adequate, and a really good deal if you book an off day. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fmelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing