We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected quality”
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It doesn't look grand from the outside, but our room was very spacious, we were able to check in early and front desk personnel were very helpful. Able to walk to everything was great, yet location made it quiet at night. Good value .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retireaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    399
    148
    56
    44
See reviews for
55
1,324
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It may not look like much from the outside (was a little worried when we pulled up to the hotel), but inside it it modern and trendy. My husband and I were on a trip for our anniversary and wanted a romantic hotel to spend one night in (we were on a road trip that included going through Toronto). The hotel room was spacious and tastefully decorated. My favorite parts: the bathroom and the in-room breakfast!! This was the best shower I have ever used. The shower head is directly above you and there are also shower heads along the wall. The shower also doubles as a steam room. Basically, a spa experience in your hotel room. I showered extra times just to use the shower. All breakfasts are delivered to the room - you make your selections the night before. Standard continental fair, nothing fancy, but it was sufficient. I felt pampered. My only complaint was the bed sheets - there was not a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet folded around the mattress. The bedding was sparse, no comforter so I got cold at night. Really that was my only complaint. It was walking distance from Niagara Falls. The front desk staff provided maps of the area and suggestions for activities (we got a coupon for a free wine tasting at one of the vineyards nearby!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmm218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sterling Inn! A couple of perks - free parking, free breakfast, and free wifi. I don't know why there are so many complaints about the service because it was completely fine when we went. They answered all of our questions and let us park for a couple of hours after we checked out. We also asked for more glasses of juice on our breakfast card and they were nice enough to follow through!

The rooms were very romantic. Biggest bed I've ever seen! I couldn't believe it. It was definitely larger than a king-sized bed. We had a traditional room with a steam shower. We wanted a room with a jacuzzi and called months in advance and the day before check-in but none were available. The steam shower was perfectly fine though. It came with a collapsible wooden bench so there's room to relax.

Overall - this hotel caters towards couples who are on a romantic weekend getaway. Everything is very quiet, serene, and peaceful. Clifton Hill is 5 minutes away so the location couldn't be more perfect. Very sad to leave. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Sterling for two nights and we thought it was a great little property. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a corner room on the 1st floor. The room was massive and spotless with lovely dark hardwood floors, a fireplace and a fantastic bathroom with a huge rain shower and a large jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfy and we slept very well - was very quiet at night even with our room right off the parking lot. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the casino area but very close to Clifton Hill. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but we did go for drinks and were happy to hear JP sing and take requests - special thanks to the bartender who served us very well and was patient with us when we were slow to head back to our rooms, thereby making her work time longer than need be!

Only things I can fault are that the room seemed a bit cold - while lovely looking, it was so cavernous it didn't feel as comfortable as we would have liked - especially the leather chairs with a low back and no arms made it difficult to get comfortable to settle in and read. Also, while the idea of having breakfast delivered sounds great, the food was quite bland and repetitive, but was fine to get the day started.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brontesassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary last weekend. We love the restaurant at the Sterling so decided to spend the night there as well. The room was nice, clean and large. The view didn't really stand out as the hotel isn't in the greatest neighbourhood. The bathroom was large, shower was really nice. I had intended on soaking in the large tub but the cold water tap didn't work and it ran constantly. The bed was insanely hard and the pillows were not that great. I would have to say that the Sterling is a nice hotel that really wants to be cool, but needs a lot of finesse. I wanted to fall in love with it and use it as a "go-to" place but other than its proximity to the AG I'm not sure there are many reasons for us to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boboyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We decided to forgo the big crowded hotels with a view of the falls and opted instead for a smaller more romantic hotel. We made the right choice. The hotel is off the main area, but still within a few minutes walk to the entertainment area and the falls.

Couple of perks made the stay even better; parking is free and you also get a daily breakfast delivered to your room. There is a fridge so you can keep all that icewine you bought chilled.

Our room was larger than my first apartment in DC. There's enough room for you to spread out without feeling claustrophobic There's a nice 4 poster bed, sitting area with sofa and two big lounging chairs, a fireplace, and large walkin shower with multiple spray heads. Also, we got a room with a jacuzzi. (call hotel directly to request this). The jacuzzi is large and definitely comfortable enough for two and definitely adds to the romantic atmosphere.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel was mostly quiet, though the last couple of days of our stay we could hear young loud children running around. (who brings young children to a hotel that is billing itself as romantic? do kids like jacuzzis? or steam rooms?)

Aside from that we really enjoyed our stay. Totally recommend for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Room 101 is right across from the ice machine. You need to call hotel directly to ensure you get a j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2017
I'm so happy to hear you getaway was a success! We truly feel we provide the ultimate romantic getaway and I'm thrilled we were able to accomplish this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa Baumgartner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at The Sterling Inn in celebration of our 1st wedding anniversary. The moment we walked through the front door, we were impressed. The hotel is modern, quiet and very lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our very large suite - king sized bed, huge jacuzzi soaker tub, fabulous glass shower with rainfall shower head, wet bar, lots of lovely spa samples.... The first evening, we enjoyed an exceptional dinner at the hotel's restaurant AG. It was to die for. The hotel staff was great, giving us several winery passes the next morning before we headed out to visit the butterfly conservatory and the wineries in Niagara-On-The-Lake. The hotel was a short walk (maybe 10min to the Falls or Clifton Hill) and the weather was lovely all weekend. The hotel parking was free and plentiful... and the complimentary breakfast in bed both mornings was fantastic :) Excellent little hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theRoamingMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are elated to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa Baumgartner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing