We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can tell it's supposed to be nice, but it was filthy and horrible.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You can tell it's supposed to be nice, but it was filthy and horrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night in early January with my girlfriend for a weekend getaway. We chose the Sterling because she had stayed there about a year ago and LOVED it. Sadly our second experience was much worse.

The short version is: Unfriendly staff, FILTHY disgusting room, messed up reservation, and no response to complaints.

The long version:
We arrived around 8 pm on a Sunday night. Given that I guess this is off-season, the hotel was very clearly almost empty. During our entire time there we only saw one other guest, and the parking lot was 95% empty. Despite this, when we tried to check in we were told that the room with a jacuzzi that we had reserved was not available, and we could have one with a steam shower instead, unless we wanted to pay for an upgrade. While it is true that their website clearly states such preferences are not guaranteed, I have a very had time believing no jacuzzi rooms were available given that the hotel was empty.

After we arrived at the room, things went from bad to worse. The room was just gross, and had clearly not been cleaned or prepared for our arrival.

*** The toilet seat had the previous guest's diarrhea stains and pubic hair sprinkled on the seat - sorry for the mental image, but at least you aren't staying there.***

Furthermore, there were hairballs and dust bunnies everywhere. The floor was so filthy that I literally threw out my socks into the garbage after one night there because I doubted that they would wash out.

Which brings me to the next point - my socks had to get so dirty because hardly any of the convenience items you expect at a hotel (especially one as nice as the Sterling is supposed to be). No hair combs, no slippers, etc. I was amazed we even had soap and shampoo.

The overall state of the room, aside from dirty, was poor. The bed was not comfortable at all, and the hot water for the bathroom sink was entirely broken, so we washed and brushed our teeth with ice cold water in January.


Needless to say, the highlight of our trip was that it was only a one night stay.

We filled out the comment card with all of our concerns and mentioned to the check out clerk that we had had many issues - but we got barely an apology, no offer to remedy the situation, and never received any followup from our comment card.

Overall, we were both extremely disappointed and amazed how far the hotel could go downhill in just one year since my girlfriend had stayed there. As I said, you can clearly tell it's MEANT to be a luxury hotel, but the current execution falls very very far from that promise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelFanCaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    386
    145
    55
    43
See reviews for
51
1,286
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

The room was enormous and the king bed was verrry comfortable.
Highly recommend it as it had a european shower head on the ceiling and shower spouts on the wall... (8 foot shower!)
Breakfast in bed was lovely and everything was new!
Lots of space...for storage, nice TV, fire place, mini kitchenette and fridge.
Can't find a complaint at all - would go back for sure. Nice full length mirror strategically placed by the door.
Great for couples and girls for girls trips...maybe next time :)
AG resto was also a fab fine dining/casual experience connected to the hotel- perfect in the winter for those who don't feel like driving or leaving to eat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Beautiful, spacious room, very modern. Jacuzzi tub big enough for 2 right in the room.
Gas fireplace, big T.V., bar fridge, w/f throughout for computers.
Breakfast in bed. Bed is also very comfortable. Great package deals available!
Lori & Peter, Rockwood, Ont.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorinrockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The great experience started with the reservations made directly with the hotel just the night before we were supposed to check-in. We had looked at all possible options, but at the very last minute, I found the most wonderful reviews on-line about this boutique hotel.

The reservations staff was very polite and accommodating and assured me that I would get a room with a jacuzzi as specially requested. I asked if it was possible to get an early check-in. They asked me to call in the morning.

When we arrived, not only did we get to check-in early, we were upgraded to a 2-BR suite. I loved everything about the hotel - tasteful decor, spacious and modern rooms, and the very hospitable staff.

The management and staff even sent us a greeting card and wine. What a nice touch ... it was after all, our fifth wedding anniversary.

The breakfast in bed was a luxury... we appreciate that they asked for preferences. However, I wish that the eggs were scrambled or sunny side-up... not hard boiled eggs.

My only regrets were not being able to try the spa as the RMT was not in on my free sked. Also, because we only stayed overnight, we didn't get to try AG restaurant as we've already made dinner arrangements elsewhere. We'll have to find another reason to be back there soon.

We'll definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends... it's so worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopportunista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here 1 night because the hotel was sold out for 2 nights, it only has 41 rooms in total, it's very close to all attractions waling distance to the falls 15 - 20 minutes. I have stayed at many hotels in Niagara Falls like the Marriott, Hilton, Embassy Suites & Sheraton, I have paid $ 300 - $ 400 for suites with falls view and I think Sterling Inn is a hidden gem. Loved everything about it, the rooms are very big, the decor is amazing, bed super comfortable, we had a bathroom with a huge steam shower, beautiful fireplace in the room, the lobby in the hotel is very nice and so different from all of the hotels listed above, I was getting bored of hotels with one feel to them and was looking for something different & unique between Toronto & Niagara Falls ( one place in Toronto worth staying at is called Hazelton hotel, great location in Yorkville and amazing bathrooms but more $$$$ ) Sterling Inn has a lofty New York feel to it, great continental breakfast in bed included in all reates ( croissants, cheese, ham, 2 yougurts, 2 apples, coffe, tea, orange juice, oatmeal ) the rates are very reasonable, great place for couples just to get away for the weekend, can't wait to go back .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anetagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

The room was modern, clean, and very comfortable. The bathroom is gorgeous and the fireplace adds the perfect amount of warmth and atmosphere. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. A fantastic value!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank at2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Although it's not a high-rise hotel view a view of the falls I would definitely say it is the best hotel to stay at in the Clifton Hill/ Falls area, about a 10-15 minute walk from the Maid of the Mist. And let's face it, you're not likely to go to Niagara Falls without seeing the falls!

My husband and I stayed here during our Honeymoon. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted and checked-in within 5 minutes.The staff is very friendly and offered to help bring in our luggage from the car. The room was HUGE, it included a closet with a safe, a mini fridge and microwave, king size bed, desk, fireplace, bed-side 2 person spa tub and a walk-in jet/rainfall shower (and this was just a standard room!). Once we settled into the room we found our breakfast selection menu and filled it out, you choose from a list of options and hang it on the door for pick up. We walked over to The Keg for dinner then went back to the room for the night, we enjoyed a complimentary bottle of wine and hung out in the tub watching tv. Our breakfast arrived when expected and we were off for the day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joljus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing