We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience you will never forget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empress Inn & Suites
Ranked #111 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience you will never forget”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are looking for a traumatic experience please go ahead and stay at this inn. If you are hoping to be impressed , get ready to be depressed. so many things were wrong with this place when we checked in that night.For starters, one of the rooms had no heat and the other had a loud annoying heater with no case for it so the smell was horrible! 2. People were smoking right next to our rooms (keep in mind this is the NO Smoking section of the inn) the people that work here clearly saw all this. 3. You don't feel safe at this place . After several hours of trying to come to terms with the rooms we decided to check out . We didn't deserve this torture.This place wasted our time and will forever be traumatized by the service and place! I honestly didn't even want to rate it...even a 1 star is giving it so much credit. Don't be fooled by the pictures online, be smart . Now that you know , save yourself the experience and precious time .You can clearly tell was more than dissatisfied with the Empress Inn

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SA_LOV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    16
    15
    52
See reviews for
32
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is horrible and the people that run it are idiots. They charged my credit card twice and are claiming it never happened. They say they aren't going to return the extra funds they charged and I now have an ongoing case with my bank and them. The hotel is disgusting and not clean at all and at the time of arrival it took forever to get the rooms because they weren't ready and they had messed up the reservations. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Domino1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Keswick, ON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were in Niagara for a tournament for our children so we want a hotel for one night, nothing expensive. The Empress Inn fit the bill, it was cheap BUT it was clean and the beds were comfortable. It's very out of date but had all that we needed - 2 queen size beds and working bathroom - the hot water and water pressure was great! It was close to a variety restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately our schedule did not allow us to make it to the falls though. Check in was fast and easy as was check out. We had to leave early in the morning and there was vomit in the stairwell. the owner was just on his way to clean it up. No real complaints besides the fact that it needs to be updated but that didn't ruin my stay.
If you need a cheap but comfortable place I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamtravels003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This Inn is now under new ownership, please bare that in mind when reading the reviews here. The new owners are wonderful and have spent considerable time, effort and investment to bring this hotel up to standards.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Adri683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience!!! The service is horrible and will never stay here again. I would not even recomend my worst enemy to stay here. We have stayed in niagara many times and never recived such bad service!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Applesauze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Very poor quality of the room furniture. No telephone to reach help desk (any help, including emergency). There were a party in the public area. Classic Niagara "get away from parents" style. I wanted to call to complain to the security (after 12am the noise was still very disturbing), but realized that there were no information about where to call. In fact, there are no phone numbers even on the website.
I'm not afraid of insects, but if u can't sleep when there are spiders around, don't stay here. I killed two, and had one run away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga-Dzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location was fine and that was about it. I've travelled quite a bit and now that I have a family we were looking for a good price motel. Nothing fancy, just a clean place to rest. This was NOT the place. The carpet had certainly not been vacuumed in our room and I'm not sure the bathroom floor had ever been washed! I wasn't sure if the tile was just old and worn and grey (which would have been fine if it had been clean) so I wet some toilet paper (no tissues in room) and wiped a spot on the floor. The black wiped off! It was dirt! Nothing like having to wear your shoes in the middle of the night just to go to the bathroom.
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with a good location, you can do WAY better. :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunmomJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#77 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Inn & Suites
Universal Inn & Suites
#88 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Fallsview
Days Inn - Fallsview
#76 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#13 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairway Motor Inn
Fairway Motor Inn
#54 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cadillac Motel Near the Falls
Cadillac Motel Near the Falls
#42 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Inn & Suites

Property: Empress Inn & Suites
Address: 5951 Clark Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Empress Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We bought the old Empress Motel in March 2008 at 5951 Clark Avenue in the middle of the tourist attractions of Niagara Falls. The property has 80 guest rooms, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna bath, meeting rooms and 83 seats restaurant with bar. We have been busy renovating and upgrading our facilities during our first year in business. Gradually, we are transforming the old motel into a full service hotel. We have already achieved 3 star status from Niagara Falls Tourism. Our reception area and offices have been totally renovated. We removed everything from the concrete walls and roof structure and rebuilt our rooms. We even changed the roof!!! Past clients of the Empress Motel have been impressed!!! Best of all, we have kept our prices very reasonable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Empress Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing