We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”

Sandstone Grillhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Sandstone Grillhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 610 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving the Niagara Region for decades, Sandstone Grillhouse carries on a long family tradition of good food, friendly service, and a welcoming environment. Featuring Angus Reserve beef, succulent seafood, homemade italian, stellar appetizers, and more, Sandstone is the locals' choice for great food at a great value! Come enjoy; you'll be glad you did!
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I visited Sandstone around 5pm on a Thursday. It was not very busy at all. I had a little bit of warning that the outside did not quite match the interior--totally true. My husband remarked that it looks like an old Sizzler and has a big cow statue near the front on the roof. The inside looks very well done and much nicer, though, and definitely qualifies as fine dining but with a more relaxed dress code (casual dress is fine).

My husband ordered the filet with rice, which was perfectly cooked and he very much enjoyed. I got the Seafood Trio (lobster, scallops, and shrimp) with potato wedges, plus a glass of Sawmill Creek Autumn Blush. Everything was delicious. I tend to find things too salty or too peppery, but everything was made to perfection.

Barry, our excellent server, brought my husband a slice of cheesecake with a candle since it was his birthday. We were both surprised at how great the cheesecake was. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting.

It was a bit of a walk from our hotel--Holiday Inn by the Falls--a little over a mile. Not too bad, but it's very hilly on the way back (and we were very full), so it was harder headed back. They have their own lot for parking, so if you're not up for it, do drive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R, Owner at Sandstone Grillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you, Ann! So glad you love our place. We are so happy that your husband enjoyed the filet and that you loved the Seafood Trio. Happy we could get you both a wonderful birthday celebration! We hope you'll both be back for another wonderful meal next time you are in town.

Cheers,
Danny & Mary Radice, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We came as a family and had different things. The salmon special was really good. We tried to rate which French onion soup was best between Paris Crepes and had no conclusion. One had the gnocchi special which she really enjoyed.
It was a good time with constant attention by the staff.

Thank n756tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R, Owner at Sandstone Grillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you! So glad we could get the whole family a delicious meal. Happy you enjoyed the salmon, french onion soup, and gnocchi. We hope you'll be back for another delicious meal soon!

Cheers,
Danny & Mary Radice, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We went based on reviews. Outstanding. My husband got the salmon appetizerHe says one of the best especially the pickled purple onions. I got the wedge which was delicious-the perfect dressing without being overwhelming. I got the lasagna which was one of the best ever. Husband got Alfredo with shrimp, delicious. Servings are big so we had leftovers in the hotel the next night. This was a find for us with so many restaurants that cater to tourists. We try hard to avoid those.

Oh, and the bread was wonderful.

Thank Waveland113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R, Owner at Sandstone Grillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you! So glad we lived up to our reputation! We are thrilled that the salmon appetizer and alfredo impressed your husband and that you enjoyed the lasagna. We hope you'll both be back for another wonderful meal next time you visit!

Cheers,
Danny & Mary Radice, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Mytablet wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We researched eateries and asked about. We chose the Sandstone andI wecan were not disappointed. Alex's was our server. She was very personable, professional, and pleasant. The menu had a very good variety. We started with calamari. My wife chose the NY steak and I chose the lamb shank. Both meals were absolutely wonderful. Seriously the best lamb shank I have ever eaten. They have a decent selection of locall wines (over 200 vineyards in Niagara Falls). We will definitely return.

Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R, Owner at Sandstone Grillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you, Charles! So glad you found your way to our place. We are thrilled that the calamari hit the spot, and that the lamb shank and NY steak impressed you so much. We hope you'll be back for another incredible meal next time you are in town!

Cheers,
Danny & Mary Radice, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Sandstone was an excellent choice and we selected it based on TripAdvisor reviews. Three of us had the cod (seafood special) and it was wonderful. The pineapple salsa added an extra tasty addition to the beautifully presented entree. We also enjoyed the bruschetta appetizer which was delicious and plentiful. Our waiter had great recommendations which were spot on!

Thank rossie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R, Owner at Sandstone Grillhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you, Rossie! We are thrilled you found your way to our place and that we lived up to all the hype! Happy the cod impressed you -- especially the pineapple salsa. We Hope you'll all be back for another amazing meal soon!

Cheers,
Danny & Mary Radice, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandstone Grillhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sandstone Grillhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing