We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch Review - Saturday, June 16/2012”
Review of Zees Grill

Zees Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Zees Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$37
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Zees Grill at the Shaw Club Hotel and Spa is a Niagara-on-the-Lake hot spot, featuring classic nostalgic food updated with a whimsical twist. Across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre and with the largest patio in Niagara, every detail of this exciting restaurant will surely tickle your senses and tantalize your taste buds. Our award-winning chef has created an array of dishes that are as delicious as they are inventive. At Zees, fine dining meets fun dining.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch Review - Saturday, June 16/2012”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went for lunch as part of a theater trip to Niagara on the Lake.Booked Zee's because it looked like good food in a relaxed atmosphere. Ate on the deck, which we would definitely recommend. Lovely. We both had appetizer salads: 1 X watermelon and strawberry and 1 X smoked salmon and beet. Strawberry was very good, but the smoked salmon and beet was terrific. Would definitely order again. We also enjoyed the mushroom soup - very hearty. And we shared a delicious cheesecake for dessert. Excellent service too, Angela was very professional and appropriately attentive. The play itself was okay, but the lunch really made the day (especially after a 25 km bike ride from Niagara Falls to get there).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinMom0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    420
    178
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arthur, ontario, canada
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The service was great. The kitchen was swamped when we got there, but it didn't feel like a wait. Our server John was excellent. I had the lobster poutine and the pork chop. Everything was cooked and seasoned perfectly. I plan on returning whenever I am in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I took some good friends to zees. We had the appetizers, mushrooms,muscles,lobster poutine and a delicious asperigous salad. I finished of with the steak. The food was to die for and the service was exceptional. I am looking forward to going back.

.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I recently ate dinner on the patio during a weekday. The atmosphere was nice, the service was excellent, and the food was expensive but good. We shared a tasty appetizer of mushroom risotto croquettes and a delicious entree of salmon with artichoke ravioli. We enjoyed two desserts: a frozen blackberry dessert (very refreshing), and an unusual, tasty coffee mousse. We would return to this restaurant if we are in the area again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“exceptional and average”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If customer service was the sole barometer you could not have a better experience. This restaurant makes me crazy.......Appeeez were good, but not outstanding. A liitle to much oil in the grilled calamarri andl lobster poutine(although tasty) lacked discipline in flavour and presentation. Nevertheless a good beginning.

So now they deliver this awesome west coast prawn risotto, seriously delicious...yea!

Oh! oh!...now an overcooked, over salted albacore tuna...go figure!

How can two meals be so distant. I can't answer that but I can tell you the atmosphere on the patio was wonderful and indeed even with the flaws my wife and i enjoyed a wonderful evening.

Hospitality, a great waitress, great wine and graciousness carry a significant amount of weight at the end of the day....bon appetit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zees Grill also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Zees Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing