We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...a piece of Heaven located in Niagara-on-the-Lake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arnica Bed & Breakfast
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“...a piece of Heaven located in Niagara-on-the-Lake!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

...look up the definition in a dictionary of "hostess with the mostess" -- and you will most certainly find a picture of Gerald and Peggy!

Our first trip to Arnica B&B (and to Niagara-on-the-Lake) was September 2013. We travelled with another couple (which was another first for each of us!) and we had a WONDERFUL time! Gerald provided a wealth of local information and didn't steer us wrong! Upon our return home, we booked our second trip - 6 weeks later. We were welcomed as if we were family returning home for a visit. The accomodations are perfect! Being able to share the evening in the common area upstairs, spreading out with our "goodies" and wine -- there was alot of laughter and fun! We just returned from our third visit to Arnica ... upon our arrival we were greeted by our "friends" - Peggy and Gerald. They go out of their way to ensure their guest's have a wonderful experience -- which is competed each morning of your stay by a three course breakfast! The hosts of this lovely B&B share their personal experiences at wineries and restaurants which is invaluable.

Arnica B&B will not disappoint!! We look forward to our return visit this fall!! Thank you, Gerald and Peggy ...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Within walking distance to good restaurants, Shaw Festival, and good bike rentals and bike paths to many wineries all the way to Niagara Falls.

Lovely home away from home and gourmet 3-course breakfasts prepared by hosts Peggy and Gerald who are very accommodating with a great down east sense of humour.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: They are all very clean and because the house is on a quiet street, they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our recent stay at Arnica B&B was wonderfully enjoyable and memorable - from the welcoming greeting we received at check-in to the very comfortable bed and spacious rooms, the wonderful upper deck available to guests that overlooks the serene back yard to the 3 course breakfast we enjoyed each morning of our stay that were absolutely to die-for! My favorite breakfast was the eggs benedict with 'holiday sauce’ (aka hollandaise sauce) made by Gerald followed by Peggy's renowned lemon tart. You will not be disappointed with anything served at this B&B but this breakfast was truly exceptional and good to the last bite!!! Our 3 day stay in Niagara on the Lake included shopping along Queen Street, sightseeing, a tour of 5 local wineries in the Region and topped off with a play at the Shaw Theatre - all organized in advance for us by Gerald and Peggy. Niagara on the Lake is a truly lovely place to visit and there is so much to see and do in the area. We could not get enough of the place and have resolved to return for another visit as soon as possible. Of course we plan to stay again at Arnica B&B and make a special request for the eggs benedict and lemon tart – mmmhhhhhh sooooo good!!!
Thank you so much Peggy and Gerald for making our stay in Niagara on the Lake such a wonderful and memorable experience :o)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Words cannot describe the spoiling you will enjoy at this B&B. We stayed in the winter room: gas fireplace, jetted tub, and mini-fridge. Why leave? Indeed, we chose to return for lunch one noon because there is an upper deck available to guests that overlooks the peaceful back yard and it was perfect for a shaded picnic. Breakfasts - glazed baked pears with a fan of strawberries, followed by cream cheese stuffed French toast, followed by an oat-wheat cranberry-raisin muffin. All of which was washed down by juice and coffee. Our second breakfast was equally gourmet: assorted fresh fruit with yogurt and granola, a divine spinach-cheese quiche, and again, the world's best muffins. Our hosts were so gracious and accommodating: they charged our I-pad, offered wine tasting coupons, made suggestions as to a place for dinner and a place to rent bikes. They were "spot on" for both!

Room Tip: The Winter Room may have been a little more expensive but enjoys views of the entire back yard and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonnatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Arnica. Gerald and Peggy are charming hosts, and great sources of information. The three-course breakfast was amazing. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The deck was a perfect place to relax and read. I would have no hesitation in recommending Arnica to anyone visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Arnica as part of a tour around Boston, Toronto and Niagara. A couple of weeks before our trip we were informed that the owners had sold the property but that the new owners would honour our booking. We ,consequently, did not know what to expect. We need not have worried as the accomodation proved to be the highlight of our trip and, as the accomodation was the highlight, the new owners were the icing on the cake. Nothing was too much trouble, the hospitality was superb and the breakfasts proved to be the best we have had on any of our travels around the world. Delicious cookies etc. were also always available in the evenings.

The hosts were knowledgable, bubbly, great cooks and eager to please. All the food was home made and considering they had only taken over the property two weeks previously nothing was out of place and all the furnishings and decor would have done justice to a five star hotel. To add to the enjoyment of this part of our travels Niagara on the Lake is also a beautiful small town and well worth a visit.

On the morning we left we had an early start, so, without prompting, a picnic was provided with home made muffins and other wondrous food to provide sustenance on our journey.

All in all a memorable stay with no negatives whatsoever. We would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crysler
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Peggy and Gerald were great hosts. They were more than helpful with information about the surrounding area and what to see. We especially like the coupons for free wine tastings at near by wineries! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The extra room upstairs for a quiet area and separate deck for guests was especially nice to relax before heading out for supper each evening. Would highly recommend this B&B and Peggy and Gerald were very attentive hosts, and the breakfast was excellent, and you won't need a lunch! Very well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#61 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stewart House
The Stewart House
#89 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#73 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnica Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnica Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arnica Bed & Breakfast
Address: 610 Victoria St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Arnica Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arnica Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing