We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Toscana di Carlotta
Certificate of Excellence
BristolBS36 2DB
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Spent a lovely few days here in July. Have been to Italy many times and this truly gave us a similar experience of the food and people. Wonderful hospitality. Breakfast was an experience not to be missed, a social and gastronomic extravaganza!!!!!!!!!
Beautiful setting, wished we'd stayed here 1 more night rather than moving on to Niagra itself to stay for 1 night. It would have been easier to just drive there for the day and back its so close really.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
386
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent two wonderful nights here while in NOTL. The hosts truly make this memorable as they are warm, gracious and very hospitable. The breakfasts were so unique and such a wonderful reminder of our time in Italy. The crostini! Yum! Dessert for breakfast? Why not! Again, yum! And, we got to dine alfresco both mornings. What a delight. And the location really couldn't be better. We look forward to our next visit as this is now our new favorite B&B in NOTL. Grazie, Carlotta, Kash and "mama" for a delightful stay!

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor with its own patio and entrance. We enjoyed having both! It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveinnlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Italy wasn't in the budget this year but staying at La Toscana di Carlotta gave us a real taste of Italian hospitality-and food! Carlotta, Kash . and Mama are warm and wonderful people. Breakfast was a feast every day (One day we had gelato from their shop for dessert).And Kash was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed talking with him. We stayed in the DaVinci Room. The bed was huge and the room very comfortable. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnthegoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you want to experience the Italian way of life you only need to visit La Toscana di Carlotta.
You are received with a warm enthusiastic greeting by hostess Carlotta and whisked to your Italian inspired room with the finest appointments -- luxurious linens and every amenity at your fingertips. There is reading material too if you would like to brush-up on Italian culture.

And then there is the "breakfast" which really is false advertising, the morning meal is really a culinary feast with five courses including dessert! Carlotta creates a trattoria style meal, with the perfect balance of sweet and savory. She is a creative chef, not just a cook.

The attention to details (e.g. the beautifully printed breakfast menu on embossed paper) and quality of service make this an unsurpassed holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed two nights in the largest room which is on the first floor with its own entrance and outside sitting area. We highly recommend this room. Carlotta, Kash and Carlotta's mother from Florence were very welcoming and served one of the finest breakfasts that we have had in all our bed and breakfast stays. The location is great for walking to the theater, shops and restaurants. We also enjoyed the wineries of the region and hope we can return to La Toscana di Carlotta for another relaxing stay .

Room Tip: The Botticelli room is the largest. It is on the ground floor and well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This must be the fifth year that we have returned to stay at La Toscana di Carlotta. Always, it is the hostess and host, Carlotta and Kash, Carlotta's mother Shara, who comes every summer from Florence, Italy, to help out, that draw us to stay here every year.. They are such wonderful host and hostesses that we feel we are visiting friends in Italy.
The location, corner of King and Johnston, is minutes away from the Festival Theatre, the Court House Theatre, even King George Theatre, and Queen Street (main street in town).
Every room is impeccably decorated Italian style, with such finesse and taste. The bed, linens, towels and amenities are all 5 star quality and more. There is even a Kurig maker for tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Carlotta supplies us with Green Mountain K-cups. What a treat. A mini frig. is located on the 2nd floor landing. There are wine glasses in the cabinets above the frig. if you want to unwind with a glass of wine in your room, the balcony, the garden or the parlour before or after the plays. Such details are not easy to find in other B&Bs. There are 4 rooms, 3 on the 2nd floor and a newly decorated room, Botticelli, with a fireplace & huge bathroom on the main floor, with its own private patio. We love the Da Vinci and the Brunelleschi Rooms on the 2nd floor. Each has a balcony that you can unwind after a long drive and watch the horse and carriage go up and down King St., in the morning with your Green Mountain coffee, or have a glass of wine before and/or after the evening play. The Da Vinci room has an extra single bed for a third person.
The breakfast is a delectable mouth watering Italian feast of fresh fruit & yogurt, crostini, main breakfast entrée of omelette, Italian style, and a "from the heart" homemade sweet dessert, pastry cake or chocolate zabaglione. You can also have cappuccino besides coffee or tea. We look forward to breakfast on the patio overlooking the lovely garden and King Street, when the weather permits. Otherwise, having breakfast inside the breakfast room is equally enjoyable. It makes us feel we are having breakfast in an Italian villa.
If you have never been to Italy, you must stay at La Toscana in order to have a taste of Italy. After your stay, you will want to include Italy on your bucket list of travels. If you have already been to Italy, you will want to stay at La Toscana and meet Carlotta and her family. Every visit there will bring back wonderful memories of travels in Italy, especially Florence and Tuscany. And one huge reminder and tip: when you are in N-O-T-L, go have some delicious and best in Canada gelato at IL GELATO DI CARLOTTA on 59 Queen St., Carlotta and Kash's latest venture. The hazelnut and chocolate orange will send you to heaven. JW, Toronto, ON

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed with Carlotta about 10 days ago. She has only 4 rooms; so you need to book early. I had booked a room for 1 night almost a year ago and put our name on her waiting list for a second night. While space did not open up for the second night, we were pleased to have had had at least one night here. Carlotta, her husband, and her mama make you feel right at home. Three other things made this a wonderful stay - an attractive, comfortable room with a modern bath, a fantastic, multi-course breakfast, and interesting guests. We would definitely recommend to La Toscana to others who enjoy B&Bs and are already talking with Carlotta about staying 2 nights next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,637 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toscana di Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toscana di Carlotta

Property: La Toscana di Carlotta
Address: 255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Toscana di Carlotta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Toscana di Carlotta is a Tuscan-themed B&B in the historic Burns House (Circa 1818) in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake. Enjoy fine Tuscany linen, bath amenities from Chianti, hearty Tuscany breakfast served in a part-buffet; part-service style; on our front porch weather permitting; enjoy fresh squeezed fruit juice, crostini, frittata (or Italian deli meats), other baked or cooked Italian dishes; home-made tort and cappuccinos/espressos. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, private balcony, coffee maker, flat panel TV, Wi-Fi and individual A/C units (fireplaces in the winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your La Toscana di Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing