We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 25th Anniversary Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Toscana di Carlotta
Certificate of Excellence
Conneaut, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 25th Anniversary Memories”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Carlotta and Kash were wonderful hostess and host. Five course breakfast at their B&B was excellent along with the warm welcome and comfortable room. The B&B is located walking distance to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our three night stay and would do it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyandAlanHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
386
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We travel a lot, all over the world, business and pleasure. We enjoy Shaw Festival and Ice Vine Festival at NOL, since 2003. We 'tested' various B&B's, but nothing can compare even remotely with La Toscana di Carlotta and hosts Carlotta, Kash and mamma. It's like visiting the closest and dearest family or friends, and enjoying spending time with them. I don't know of any other place where the breakfast is served till 10 am, it's always a delicious combination of home cooked specialties, and on top of everything your hosts will remember if you like tea, coffee, espresso, or cappuccino, and add your special drink to your breakfast. In your room, you always have bottled water, coffee, and chocolate. We used to choose Shaw performance dates first, and then look for B&B - now we book the weekend at La Toscana di Carlotta first, and then look for tickets for Shaw performances on those weekends. PARADISE :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Most people who chose the B&B route probably do so because they are hoping for a more personal experience than can be provided at a hotel/motel. This certainly is achieved at La Toscana di Carolotta! Carlotta and Kash's welcome is far more than a polished, professional one - this couple genuinely seems to enjoy meeting and taking care of their guests. From the moment you are greeted at the door until the moment you (reluctantly) leave, you feel they want to do everything they can to make your stay memorable. The location of the property is perfect - it is just off the main shopping area, within minutes of all the downtown restaurants, cafes, shops and theatres. There is off-street parking and a quietness often only broken by the passing of horses and carriages as they ferry people around town. A lovely front garden and porch provide people-watching opportunities in good weather. Inside the historic house, Carlotta has produced a Tuscan retreat - with furniture, linens and decorative items from her birthplace. Our bedroom was spacious, with access to a balcony for sitting out on with a coffee from the room's Keurig machine. Everything was spotless, the bed very comfortable, the towels and sheets top quality. The dining room is beautifully laid out and decorated, but ends up playing second fiddle to the feast provided every morning - a delicious, well-paced meal, punctuated with great conversation often orchestrated by Kash as he pours coffee, tea and his concoctions of fruit juices. Yogurt, cereal and fresh warm bread are available, but don't fill up too much or you won't be able to appreciate the main performance! First comes the fresh fruit cocktail, followed by three varieties of crostini (mushroom, pesto, thin Italian ham with melted brie) or, on one occasion, tiny pizzas. The main course varies and we had frittata with a choice of sauces one morning and small individual casseroles with spinach and cheese filled crepes on another. And then comes dessert! On various occasions, we've been treated to pear tart, profiteroles, apple tart and a two layer gelato dessert - all delicious. Carlotta sources as much of her produce as she can locally. After a weekend with Carlotta and Kash, we feel relaxed and pampered - and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank February78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A really different experience - an Italian b&b in the heart of Niagara on the lake. We stayed for 2 nights in the downstairs Botticelli room. It is within easy walking distance of the town centre so makes for an ideal location. For us the stars of the experience were the innkeepers Carlotta and Kash. Carlotta cooks the most delicious breakfast which is no ordinary breakfast - it's an Italian brunch consisting of several courses and a dessert. (Chocolate profiteroles on our first morning) - yum yum! . It was absolutely delicious and left us needing nothing else to eat until the evening. Kash serves the breakfast and has the most fabulous way of making everyone feel at ease and integrating the guests gently whilst maintaining private conservations with each couple. I would imagine it comes naturally to him but it's not a skill you see often.
The inn itself and the room were fine - I wouldn't describe them as luxurious though - for us, it was innkeepers that made the difference.
We were greeted by Carlotta's mum when we arrived. She is lovely and very gracious but her English is a little limited. In view of this we didn't get much detail other than the time for breakfast which perhaps wasn't the most ideal check in - but in fairness we did arrive earlier than we expected to, so chances are this wouldn't be the usual arrangement.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigger103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

First, I apologize for taking so long to write this review. My husband I stayed here in August. It was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We were so happy that we chose to stay here. The location was in the heart of the town but located on a quiet street. Our room was clean, nicely decorated in an Italian style. It was private and quiet. The best features were undoubtedly our hosts, Carlotta and Kash! Carlotta presented us with delicious breakfasts and Kash was a great conversationalist. They were both warm and welcoming. We had a great time and met interesting people at breakfast. Also enjoyed Carlotta's gelotto from her shop in town ( on several occasions). Will definitely stay here the next time we visit Niagara on the Lake.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The location is perfect--just a block or two to everything. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, and the linens and amenities are very nice. There's a coffee-maker for early morning coffee. But you can find that in a lot of places. Carlotta and Kash make the difference. These are the loveliest people you'll ever meet, and they are truly concerned that everything is just perfect for you, including the astonishing breakfasts. We were there for a program at the Shaw Festival which started at 9:30 each morning. Breakfast at Carlotta's starts any time you wish from 8:30 until 10:00, but that wouldn't have allowed enough time! Carlotta started our breakfasts at 8:15, but we barely made our program each of the three days. Fresh fruit (with yogurt if you wish) to start, plus fresh juice. Coffee or cappucino. Fresh bread with butter and jams. Crostini (three different kinds). Then an egg dish (different each morning) and finally dessert (gelato from their shop with the Yellow awning). This is not breakfast, it's a gourmet Italian brunch which will feed you for the whole day. Wonderful and delicious. We were especially lucky as Carlott's very perky mother (age 87) is in town for an extended visit. She's got an English tutor and is simply delightful as she uses her new language to communicate with you. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

La Toscana di Carlotta is perfectly located, easy walking distance to theaters, shops, and restaurants, but in a quiet area. And we were perfectly hosted by Carlotta and Kash, who are friendly and knowledgeable on many subjects, including how to prepare delicious 5-course breakfasts. Our room and ensuite were spacious, compared with many B&B accommodations, and very comfortable. The whole house just feels good --we hated to leave, and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Medici Room and loved it. We peeked into the other upstairs rooms, and they were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndKay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toscana di Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toscana di Carlotta

Property: La Toscana di Carlotta
Address: 255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Toscana di Carlotta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Toscana di Carlotta is a Tuscan-themed B&B in the historic Burns House (Circa 1818) in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake. Enjoy fine Tuscany linen, bath amenities from Chianti, hearty Tuscany breakfast served in a part-buffet; part-service style; on our front porch weather permitting; enjoy fresh squeezed fruit juice, crostini, frittata (or Italian deli meats), other baked or cooked Italian dishes; home-made tort and cappuccinos/espressos. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, private balcony, coffee maker, flat panel TV, Wi-Fi and individual A/C units (fireplaces in the winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Toscana di Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing