We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very best B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Toscana di Carlotta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

La Toscana di Carlotta is a pure delight. Although we read many rave reviews before booking and built up a fairly high expectation, the experience itself well exceeded the expectation. You should visit for several reasons: (1) You'll see how much attention the hosts pay to every detail. From the bedding to the toiletry, from the music to the espresso, you'll feel the care. (2) You cannot miss Carlotta's breakfast. It's guaranteed to be one of the best breakfasts you've ever had. (3) Momma is the cutest and kindest and she treats you like family. (4) You'll for sure enjoy Kash's company during breakfast for how knowledgeable he is and how comfortable he makes you feel. (5) The nuances and secret ingredients that make up a great B&B experience just cannot be articulated and you'll have to experience it yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

First I need to say my husband and I only stay in B&B's and as I read other peoples reviews on where to stay I have NEVER write one of my own. This in itself should tell anyone who reads this that La Toscana is hands down the most charmingly warm slice of Italia that you can stay outside of Italy itself. The food is authentic Italia and Kash is always ready to deliver his freshly squeezed juice concoctions and Carlotta's desserts after breakfast are...making my mouth water just thinking about it. Momma is the sweetest most stylish helper that a B&B could ask for. They give you wonderful advice as well as coupons for tastings at the wineries. Odd as this might sound to those of you who can sleep anywhere and wake up refreshed...I can not; however, for the first time in years I woke up without a neck or lower back issue and the bed I sleep in at home is a new, very good bed. My husband and I were celebrating our 20th anniversary and already booked our return this summer with our teenage daughter. They treat you like the family they love.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple only, I would suggest the only room on the main level of the house. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottMetzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from another amazing visit to La Toscan di Carlotta. You will never experience a place with a better sense of caring, concern and comfort. Both Carlotta and Kash, and Momma, treat like family. If you are fortunate enough to be able to secure a reservation at this exquisite B and B, then you will never be able to spend another stay anywhere else! The food, outstanding, the comfort of the home, perfect! All of this experience is punctuated by the care of both of your hosts. In addition, you get to experience the delicious experience of the new Gelato shop! It is really difficult to leave and very easy to return. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book early, book often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquigMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our second stay at La Toscana di Carlotta (in the Medici Room). It made us wonder why it took so long to go back as both stays have been excellent and memorable. From the "Buon Giorno" at reception to the "Ciao!" upon departure, we have enjoyed the company and conversation with Carlotta and Kashe (the Owners), Sara (Carlotta's mom).... and their very friendly dog, Mayan (not conversation, just alot of petting). Great location just one block from Queen St. (the Main Street of NOTL), the theatres, shops and restaurants. Not that we had to think about food after we had the wonderful breakfast (that seems to never end). A fusion of Italian tastes, multiple courses and ending with a dessert (at breakfast!!!). So why did it take us so long to get back. We only live 90 mins away from NOTL. But it sure beats flying to Italia for a similar B&B experience. We will return "A Presto" (soon).

Brian and Louise

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have been to many countries and many more hotels, inns and b&b's. This one excels any place I have been to. The experience from the start to the end is memorable. Carlotta, Kash and mama are very warm and welcoming. The food prepared by them was delightful, flavourful and exquisite. The living spaces were exceptionally clean, there was immaculate attention to detail, and the best Italian linen adorned the bed. I am impressed by everything and would return any time, without any hesitation.

This home away from home, is recommended, without a shadow of doubt. It is also a very reasonable and affordable place to stay at.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. I have seen all rooms and they are par excellence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband booked us for a Friday nite in December at La Toscana at least one month in advance, and we had confirmation of our reservation. This was supposed to be a special weekend for me (big birthday weekend). We headed into the area the day prior to our reservations as we were staying in Niagara Falls for one night as well. While at lunch on Thurs. we got a phone call from La Toscana explaining that they had double booked the room (for a Friday nite??) and would not be able to accommodate us. However they were going to "compensate" for their error by mailing us a voucher for a free nite on another occasion. They recommended that we contact their friend's B&B (about which we knew nothing) in place of La Toscana.. The voucher has never arrived (it has now been almost 2 months since this happened). Because we had already made reservations in the area for a special dinner and other events over that weekend we stayed at the Riverside Inn. (We had been there previously. Very nice place and would highly recommend). I would therefore caution others to double and triple check their reservations directly with La Toscana prior to leaving home. And, be wary of any promises made.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlottacattani, Owner at La Toscana di Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We owe a HUGE HUGE HUGE apology to Nicholas L and partner and fully understand their disappointment and frustration and anger at what transpired to upset their special birthday weekend and stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake because of (1) our over-booking; and (2) our completely misconstruing what we had communicated to them. For some reason we thought we would note against their name and address in our computer that we would give them one night free in any room of their choice. But obviously, we were WRONG on this count. Had we been in their place, TripAdvisor would have seen a similar review about the errant B&B in question from us. This is our seventh season, and in all that time, this was perhaps second or third time that such an over-booking has happened. However, none of this negates our mistake and what it cost this couple in terms of their well-made plans and a weekend turned upside down. And although nothing can make up for a special occasion being upset in this way we are upping the ante in terms of punishing ourselves for this. One mistake (double-booking) was one night free. Second mistake, misconstruing what we told them (the voucher promise) a second night free. In our minds this equals two nights free in any room of their choice whether in the high season or low season. In addition, we promise to stand with our heads bowed when they arrive and take whatever tongue lashing is meted out to us. The voucher goes out ExpressPost on Friday, Jan. 24, which means it should get to them by Monday, Jan. 27 or 28 at the latest. All we ask is to please acknowledge its receipt. An e-mail will suffice. Again, we are ashamed and sorry at what transpired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was our first visit to La Toscana di Calotta, but we hope it will not be our last. Our room was very neat and clean and we felt very comfortable (unlike the feeling we general associate with motels and hotels where you are afraid to take your shoes off). Carlotta's mother met us at the door and though her English is very weak, she made us feel very welcome and was very warm and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic, with many courses and a wonderful variety. We loved having dessert for breakfast! Carlotta and Kash are Kash are great with guests and Kash ensured we were all introduced at breakfast. We hope to return within the year, or sooner if we can. The location is fantastic and we strongly recommend this B and B for many reasons, but especially because of the character of the owners!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,750 reviews
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#3 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toscana di Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toscana di Carlotta

Address: 255 King St., Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £90 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Toscana di Carlotta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Toscana di Carlotta is a Tuscan-themed B&B in the historic Burns House (Circa 1818) in downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake. Enjoy fine Tuscany linen, bath amenities from Chianti, hearty Tuscany breakfast served in a part-buffet; part-service style; on our front porch weather permitting; enjoy fresh squeezed fruit juice, crostini, frittata (or Italian deli meats), other baked or cooked Italian dishes; home-made tort and cappuccinos/espressos. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, private balcony, coffee maker, flat panel TV, Wi-Fi and individual A/C units (fireplaces in the winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Toscana di Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing