We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, superb breakfasts, charming rooms, great hosts”
Review of Amarula House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amarula House
Reviewed 7 May 2011

On a quiet street very close to theaters, Amarula House is a gem. The rooms are lovely and always spotless and the breakfasts are beautiful and plentiful, full of home-baked extras. There is a lovely pool behind the house for guest use. The host couple is remarkably warm and interesting, ready to offer helpful information. Our first choice in Niagara-on-the-Lake!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

Never having been to a B&B before I did alot of research and was a bit unsure of what to expect. After finding Amarula House and speaking to Lyn (the owner) we booked and it was absolutely wonderful. The home is in a perfect location, 1 block from the main street. The rooms were comfortable and all recently and beautifully redone. The breakfast was delicious. Lyn was super hospitable and made our first stay at a B&B so enjoyable. Thank you Lyn.
We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnietraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

A friend and I stayed at this very comfortable B&B for the Ice Wine festival. The hostess was very gracious and was more than happy to help us with our weekend visit....she even offered to pick up our wine tour passes!! We were given many free wine tasting vouchers too. Our "Leopard" room on the ground level was tidy, spacious, had a cozy gas fireplace and a large, bright bathroom. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. We were able to see the other rooms and they were all very lovely too. The breakfast was plentifully with freshly baked goodies... bran muffins, spice cake and chocolate chip cookies along with fruit & yogurt. We also thoroughly enjoyed eggs with cheddar cheese, mushrooms&zucchini in a light cream sauce, sooo tasty and sauteed tomatoes. I am definitely coming back to stay here in the summer. Book early!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Ten reasons “Why we love Amarula house”:
1. there are always good conversations to be had…
2. Lyn is very friendly and welcoming
3. the food is fantastic…
4. and there is always LOTS of it
5. it’s like no other B&B we’ve been to
6. the rooms are separate from the family living quarters…
7. and they are very clean!
8. it’s a block away from the main street
9. mandolin players are welcome
10. we’d recommend it to everyone without hesitation!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Northerners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

What do you need to make a great B&B - clean, comfortable rooms not over decorated with clutter - check. Clean bathroom with lots of hot water - check. Soft sheets, firm pillows - check. Wonderful decorations with just the right amount of Africa - check. Wonderful hostess with great stories - check. Breakfast for both a carnivore and a vegan that were plentiful, hot and delicious - check. Close to the scene, but far enough away you don't get all the noise - check. We've stayed in over 20 B&Bs over the years and the Amarula House moves into our top 5 with no problem. We plan on going back next year and staying with Lynn and bringing friends and family with us this time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasYankeeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This three bedroom B& B was the perfect accomodation for three couples who travelled to Niagara On The Lake for a weekend of shopping, golfing, visiting wineries and going to the theatre. The rooms are large, tastefuly decorated and comfortable. Each room included a modern en suite as well as a bar refrigerator. The common area for guests includes a sitting room, a balcony as well as a breakfast room. Breakfast each morning was delicious, featuring home made baked goods as well as eggs. The host and hostess, Lynette and Dean were welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful in planning events or making suggestions to enhance your holiday. A truly wonderful place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mst256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Perfect in every way. Location, friendliness, cleanliness,quality of linens,matress,food,hospitality. I can't say enough about the place - and I am a bit picky. I like "nice" and we got it here. I rate it a 10 out of 10. We had three couples - so we had the whole place booked for ourselves. Having the living room to use for all six of us to sit and chat was perfect. We could leave our wine and snacks out in the livingroom for the next day and Lyn even washed our stuff too as well as the wine glasses. They are the greatest hosts and it was very interesting learning about their homeland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PtboCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
8.3 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,179 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarula House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarula House

Address: 79 Johnson St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarula House 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing