We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, comfortable and close to the action”
Review of Finlay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finlay House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very spacious and clean bedroom. Easy walking distance to main shops, theatres and tourist attractions. Pam was very flexible and accommodating to our needs. She respected our privacy but was always there if we needed her. Breakfast was tasty and filling, which meant we often did not need lunch which is atypical for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laji5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from our two night stay at Finlay House with our three teenage children and would strongly recommend this B&B. Pam was a welcoming and helpful host who provided an excellent healthy breakfast.
The location is less than 5 mins walk to the centre of town and in a lovely neighbourhood. The rooms were spacious, tasteful and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RutlandNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

July 2013, my wife and I stayed at the Finlay House for a weekend getaway. Excellent location, room, breakfast, host and price. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests. All three Shaw Festival venues are a short walk away. The "old town" main street (Queen Street) is 3 short blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Finlay House and would recommend it to friends and family. The breakfast each day was delicious and plentiful. Our room was the William Shakespeare on the first floor. Having a private bath instead of ensuite was not a problem. Cannot say enough about the location! If you enjoy walking, you can leave the car and walk to shops, restaurants, entertainment, and the lake. Pam was a great hostess.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We spent two nights in Finlay House B&B. We chose it because of the good reviews and we were not disapointed. All that was written is true: good location, discreet but very nice and helpful owner,private bathroom, extra clean...
I highly recommand this place.
Corinne from Qatar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinneh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent our first time ever in a bed and breakfast after being a little "shy" and leery about them! As it turned out we had a very lovely stay. This was a clean and neat place and was very accommodating. The walk was a couple blocks from the main street which at times was a welcome change from the hustle and bustle. We enjoyed the walk to town as we passed some lovely little homes with beautiful gardens. The house has a comfortable wrap around porch where we sat after a busy afternoon to enjoy a bit of relaxing and our own beverage.. The room was fresh, clean and comfortable. There was not only an air conditioner but also a separate fan just in case we needed it cooler. The bathroom was attached and the room was cleaner and neater then many hotel rooms. Pam, our host, was adorable. She was sweet and helpful. Breakfast both of the days was served to us and included eggs, yogurt, fruit and fresh tomatoes. It was a great place to stay to enjoy the theatres and also the wineries. We plan to come back. Thanks for an enjoyable stay, Pam. You seem like a friend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed in Niagara-on-the-Lake on Saturday in July 2013 and booked the Oscar Wilde room at the Finlay House B&B. The host, Pam, was very friendly and welcoming. The place was very clean and spacious with a private bathroom. It was a 5 min walk from the main street, but in a very quiet neighbourhood. I had proposed earlier in the night and worked with Pam to set up the room with flowers, champagne, and lighting for our return. Make sure to check in before visiting the wineries as they have coupons for complimentary tastings at many of the local vineyards. Great experience, will definitely come back on our next visit!
-H

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#88 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blairpen House Country Inn
Blairpen House Country Inn
#56 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#49 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
227 reviews
6.6 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#46 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay House

Address: 8 Nelles St. | PO Box 552, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £93 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay House is a charming B&B celebrating theatre and wine! Come and visit for a while. We are a short 2-3 minute stroll to Queen Street the heart of Niagara on the Lake, the prettiest town in Canada, 0.4Km to Town centre. The Shaw Festival Theatre is also only a couple of blocks away. Our rooms are bright and comfortable and come with all the "mod cons" - flat screen plasma TV's with satellite and HD channels, free WiFi internet, mini fridge, air conditioners (in summer), alarm clocks and hair dryers. We serve a delicious 2-3 course home cooked breakfast for you to enjoy. Free parking. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Finlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing