We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete and relaxing experience”
Review of Finlay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finlay House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a great time in our first trip to Niagara on the lake. Pam our host in the B&B made our trip even more enjoyable and made sure we had everything we needed. The place itself is very centric, located only a few steps away from the center of downtown.

We'll definitely come back in the near future!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor M. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Finlay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Finlay house is the place to go to if you fear the tacky decor that too often comes with B&Bs. Done tastefully, the room is themed around an author and arranged with the right amount of beautiful ornaments and furniture. The room we stayed in was very spacious, yet cosy, and made us feel at home right away. The hostess Pam was very kind and cooked us wonderful breakfast, offering to help with anything we might need and making suggestions as to what to try around the town. The location is really ideal, 10 minutes walk to the main street where the shops and theatres are.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FFaith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Finlay House for Valentines weekend. Pam was very friendly and kind and was a great host. Our room was beautiful and spotless, very warm and cozy. Would definitely recommend to friends and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattilynnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent the evening as part of our Ice Wine Experience. It was an excellent location as it was just steps to downtown. The rooms were nicely decorated and very spacious. The host was wonderful. The breakfast the next morning was probably one of the best I've ever seen for a B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leadpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Finlay House was excellent. My husband and I had stayed there prior but now there is a new owner Pam. My friends who had never stayed at a B&B said they had a wonderful time, the house was beautiful and Pam was a great host. She was very pleasant and even allowed us to bring friends over from another B&B to have a drink with us. The breakfast was excellent and there was an abundance of food. I would go back to Finlay House.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite nice, the Shakespeare room doesn't have an ensuite but it is just down t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrancaandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela v, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

It was lovely to meet you all and welcome you back to Finlay House. Thank you for your positive review and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent the evening of the Candlelight Stroll at Finlay House with friends this time. Pam was wonderful with handling our reservations. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. We took over the 3 rooms at the B&B so we after we checked in we hung out downstairs prior to the Stroll. We had a great breakfast the next morning. We started with poached pears and raspberries with yogurt. Then Pam served us a veggie frittata, with hash browns and grilled tomato. This came with bread and muffins. Pam encouraged us to take muffins home if we were full. We had another great stay at Finlay House.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sket101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela v, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was great to welcome you back and meet your friends as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Finlay House has an excellent location. It's only a few short blocks to Queen Street and is located on a very quiet street. Pam, the owner, is a very hospitable hostess and we thoroughly enjoyed her delicious and massive quantities of breakfast. Although the furnishings downstairs are a little dated, the house was comfortable and cozy. There's a nice porch in the front and it is set up with wrought iron tables and chairs. A great spot for enjoying some wine before dinner! The downstairs room is quite small and you have to walk out and around the dining room to get to the bathroom. It's private, however, since no one is downstairs at night or before breakfast at 9am. The upstairs bedroom was very spacious and had a flat screen TV. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. We would definitely recommend the Finlay House to anyone visiting Niagara in the Lake.

Room Tip: If you can walk up stairs, the rooms are more spacious and have an ensuite bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela v, Owner at Finlay House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. There is now a beautiful room divider/screen which separates the downstairs bedroom from the dining area providing much greater privacy. Robes are also supplied in the bathroom and, of course, the room rates reflect the different room sizes and facilities available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#35 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#85 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historic Lyons House
Historic Lyons House
#48 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#40 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay House

Address: 8 Nelles St. | PO Box 552, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £92 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finlay House is a charming B&B celebrating theatre and wine! Come and visit for a while. We are a short 2-3 minute stroll to Queen Street the heart of Niagara on the Lake, the prettiest town in Canada, 0.4Km to Town centre. The Shaw Festival Theatre is also only a couple of blocks away. Our rooms are bright and comfortable and come with all the "mod cons" - flat screen plasma TV's with satellite and HD channels, free WiFi internet, mini fridge, air conditioners (in summer), alarm clocks and hair dryers. We serve a delicious 2-3 course home cooked breakfast for you to enjoy. Free parking. We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Finlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing