We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B I've ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antique Slumber B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
“Best B & B I've ever been to”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've spent time in many of NOTL's B&B's. This was by far the best. Cathy was helpful, welcoming, a fount of information and the consumate hostess. The fact theat we could walk to town down the quiet tree lined streets set the tone for a perfect, relaxing weekend.The breakfast was delicious....and the fresh strawberries with our wine in the evening was an unexpected treat. I don't need to look any further for the perfect B & B ...this is it!!
If there were six stars I'd give it six!

Room Tip: We had the main floor room with two twin beds. The livingroom was beside us but we felt like we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am pleased you had a relaxing evening away. I strive to make my home yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
161
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our weekend getaway was a chance to celebrate my husband's 47th birthday and sneak some 'alone time' away from our 5 year old daughter. We were greeted by Cathy, who proved to be the most gracious hostess! She met us upon arrival and had two cupcakes waiting in our room to officially kickoff my hubbies birthday weekend. When we ventured out the next day to tour some wineries, microbreweries and antique stores, Cathy armed us with free 'tasting coupons' for the vineyards, made excellent lunch recommendations and gave us the 'skinny' on the best antique stores to hit first. What a lovely weekend and amazing experience--and as an added bonus, we met the loveliest B&B guests during our decadent 3 course breakfast each morning. Cathy spoiled us with fresh-baked (from scratch) muffins, fruit cup drizzled with chocolate balsamic vinagrette (OMG!) and the main course which ranged from home-made apple pancakes (no syrup needed) to crustless Asparagus quiche (absolutely to die for--and I don't even like asparagus!) Looking forward to our return trip in the Fall! Cathy - thanks for making our weekend a great NOTL memory!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely--we had the upstairs Queen which featured a very comfortable platform bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments. It's greatly appreciated and hope to see you again this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great accommodations, great food, great hosts! What more could one ask for?
The fact that it is only two blocks from Queen is a plus. Being in the old town is so convenient. You can walk to most destinations. The food is. Dry good and plentiful. She even accommodates special dietary requests - for example, "No eggs for me, just bowl of oatmeal."

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for the review. It's always a pleasure to both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Only 2 blocks from Queen St with all its great shops, restaurants, theaters. Hot tub was nice after a long day of wine touring and sightseeing. Cathy was the perfect hostess providing everything from wine tasting vouchers to dinner, desert, and shopping recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your very first review. It was a pleasure to have you stay in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Antique Slumber is a beautifully renovated and well kept century home with a gorgeous hardwood floor in the living room/dining room and wonderful large windows that allow natural light to permeate the tastefully decorated interior. From elegant lace window coverings to the soft, warm wall tones this B and B invites you home to relax after a day of wandering or an evening of theatre. The hot tub on the back deck is clean, crystal clear and comfortable. Ample parking is provided for guests behind the house. Located just two blocks from the main street, Antique Slumber is close enough to walk to the shops, the Theatre, restaurants or even the lake shore, but far enough from the noise of cars and bars to ensure a peaceful, relaxing stay. We found the bed a bit hard but slept well. The washroom was clean, Jacuzzi tub was in good working order, and bath robes and flip flops provided. Cathy is a gracious hostess, who offers a wealth of knowledge about NOTL, its restaurants, wineries, local theatre, sights and history. A nice surprise was the free wine tasting vouchers which we were able to make use of.
Coffee available at 8:00 a.m. Breakfast was wonderful, freshly baked muffins and fruit cup, and a scrumptious and artistically presented hot dish. We would recommend Antique Slumber without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about Antique Slumber. We strive to make our home as comfortable as possible for our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Location is great. Less than 5 min walk to Queen St. but far enough so you can't hear the noise at night or in the morning. Cathy is great. She provided suggestions for great places to eat and coupons for wineries. Breakfast was amazing. We will definitely stay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank c7stewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
It was a pleasure to have you in our home and we will look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We always take a trip to a B&B somewhere for our anniversary, my wife and I. This year didn't disappoint! The house was the cleanest we have ever stayed at, and the breakfast was filling, tasty, and unique every morning. The location is ideal for the wineries, downtown, and the Falls. Cathy provided some good advice when asked, supplied free tasting coupons, and gave us as much or little attention as we needed. The rooms are cozy, the off street parking is a bonus, and the quiet nights make for the relaxing trip we were in need of. We were longing for some more history of the area, so it looks like we will have to make a return trip!

Mel and Mike (Ohio)

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms are mirror images of each other, and both quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelMike4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowlerc, Owner at Antique Slumber B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I glad you had a good anniversary weekend. It was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#57 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#82 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
Queen Regent Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Slumber B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Slumber B&B

Property: Antique Slumber B&B
Address: 116 Gage Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antique Slumber B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Slumber Bed and Breakfast is a fifth generation home. It's located just 2 blocks from Queen Street, Niagara on the Lake. (Main street). You can walk to all the amenities Niagara has to offer. All rooms at Antique Slumber offer in room bathrooms with jet-air tubs in the bath. 2 Of the rooms offer a electric fireplace. It also offers a year round hot tub for guests enjoyment. We offer a lovely dining/living room to relax in with a fireplace to warm up with in the fall and winter seasons. Also a flower filled backyard and deck area to also relax in. We will work with any dietary issues that guests may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antique Slumber B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing