We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adorable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canterbury Inn
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“adorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Everyone here was So lovely and the breakfast in the morning was more than I had expected. Clean and comfortable. About a 10 minute walk to the main street, but still pretty close. I'll stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahMarieHoldsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    26
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
gananoque
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful inn, extremely clean, cozy and absolutely charming. We were the only guests this particular time as it is "off season", but Julie welcomed us with open arms...the perfect hostess! Even tho we were the only guests, we were provided with a full, lovely continental breakfast. We were made to feel very much "at home".

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yahooca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here in July with our kids. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff was so helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the light breakfast. I hope to return again. We cannot say enough about the location which was only a few block from the charming downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylove68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The rooms are beautiful, and the rates are very reasonable. Julie is a perfect hostess! She is welcoming, friendly, and helpful. We were greeted with coffee and cookies, and the hospitality continued throughout our stay. This is one of the nicest places I have stayed, and I have traveled a good bit. Cozy and pristine! And the fact that The Canterbury Inn is run by a classy British lady just added to our wonderful experience! My husband and my brother accompanied me, and they share my opinion!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

It was our first stay there and we were nicely surprised with the classy English atmosphere of the inn. The interior is meticulously finished and well kept. The hosts are helpful and gracious. Although the downtown is 10 min. (walking) away, the quality of the inn and reasonable room rates make it more attractive than other facilities located closer to Queen Street. We intend to return there next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

a great location and a great facility that was ideal for our group of 6 couples. Our hostess was very gracious and very helpful.. We were able to walk to downtown and the park. There is a very fine restaurant located less than 100 metres away. In addition, there is a premier bake shop only 50 metres away.I would highly recommend the Canterbury Inn

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. We received a warm welcome from Julie and were more than pleased with the lovely room we had. The Inn is about 3/4 mile from the town centre and we were able to take a stroll down there every day. It was unusually warm for mid-October, enabling us to relax in the garden and enjoy the sunshine. Hope we get to make it back there soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but this is certainly not a noisy neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#6 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#33 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#44 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Inn

Property: Canterbury Inn
Address: 170 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canterbury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing