We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Almar House B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moffat Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Inn and Vineyard(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
33
5
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
5
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at the Almar house for two nights recently and had a wonderful experience! Chris and Sarah are great hosts, we found them to be extremely accommodating. The rooms were a good size, bright and airy and very clean.
Breakfast was exceptional!
We will definitely return to the Almar House in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChevyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Booked this inn on the internet based on pictures. We were shocked to see it. I was taken that we had to pay for our stay without having a really good look at the place. The first thing that jumped out was the place smelled like dogs and wasn't aired out. Our shoes stuck to the floor in the bathroom and the bedding was old and yellowed. After telling the owners about our displeasure we were responded back with "I'm not sure what you are talking about". "The discolouring on the floor around the toilet is just caulking". "The bed linens were just pressed". Let me say, I would not wish this room on anyone. We had to leave the inn at 7am and they were even unwilling to provide breakfast for us since it is at 9am only...."and you should have let us know about this long ago". There were two guests at the inn, what was such a big deal to provide two bowls of cereal? All I wanted was half my money back so we could go get another place. We were told that it was non-refundable-72 hour minimum cancellation notice. $330 down the drain because it was unfit to stay in. I would tell all persons interested in seeing this property to make sure you get a really good look at the place.

We grabbed our things and left and went to a proper place to stay. They should be ashamed of themselves for allowing people to book a room that is in such bad shape and a bathroom that was disgusting and even more ashamed that they would do nothing to refund some of the fees. Never again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Owner at Almar House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

My husband and I have owned and operated the Almar House B&B and the Almar House Cottage for 6 years now. We have been fortunate enough to host thousands of people, many who are not only our guests but have become our friends. We take immense pride in what we do. We were a bit disheartened as this is our first and only negative review after all these years.

Contrary to what the review says our B&B was full. We are generally booked 7 days a week durig our high season from May - October.

We do serve breakfast at 9am each morning. It gives our our guests the opportunity to meet, eat together and enjoy themselves. We believe this is an important part of the whole B&B experienc and guests seem to love it!

That said however, we have always accomodated our guests with regard to dietary restrictions and breakfast time when needed. We only wish this couple actually asked us for an earlier breakfast so we could have done the same for them. They did not.

In terms of her shoes sticking to the bathroom floor - I can not really comment except to say she was wearing her flip flops from outside. My barefeet did not stick to our bathroom floor.

We do have a cancellation policy as do most accomodations. We hold the room for each of our guests that books to ensure they always have a confirmed booking and no one else can book their room.

I am not sure I have much else to say - I would just encourage readers to look at the other reviews for a better sense of who we are and what we do.

Thank you for taking the time.

Warm regards,
Sarah & Chris
The Almar House B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

stayed for one night, room very traditional with 4 poster bed/and food for breakfast was different to what you would have expected from a b& b with -panna cotta with lush strawberries for starters.chris and sarah are great hosts , so easy to get on with .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasvegasNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property based on our reading of reviews on Trip Advisor. A GOOD Choice. Comfortable, well located and friendly host Chris. Chris was in charge of cheffing breakfast and what a treat. Fruits , hot plates and great tea and coffee served in an elegant dining room. Definitely a place to revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiffperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at a sister property (same owenrs), a cute little house on Nelles Street, spring of 2011 (a year ago). It was in a neighborhood, within walking distance to a theatre and the historical museum. The house was incredibly clean, and although a small house overall, quite spacious for short term vacation accommodations. The bathroom and kitchen were extremely clean which is a bonus, and the home has the usual back yard etc to enjoy (had we not been there during a blizzard we would have enjoyed!). Very nice home-y living room full of books, nice decorations etc (felt like home, not a hotel). Very good service from the owners w/ follow ups as to how we liked out stay. We and our school-aged children loved it and would stay there again if we returned to the area. Very reasonably priced for the style of accommodation.

Room Tip: Oops (there's no pool, couldn't figure out how to "undo" my rating.....)
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grossepointebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews