We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, very communicative, very good breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brass Bell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brass Bell
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
“Very friendly, very communicative, very good breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We enjoyed very much to be the guests of Bob and Julie. Breakfast was superb. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. If we happen to be in the area again, we would choose the Brass Bell B&B again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecplh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights and very much enjoyed all it had to offer. The Captain's Room was clean, on the 1st floor and had a king bed -- sometimes not available at a reasonably-priced B&B. Our breakfasts were delicious and not something we would normally make for ourselves. The fruit cup that started our meal was excellent, followed by an additional 2 or 3 courses. Bob and Julie were always ready to offer helpful suggestions to make our getaway fun. We saw 2 plays during our visit and visited several wineries. We plan to return and explore some of the history of the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCouple98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is a newer home in a quiet residential area of Niagara-on-the-Lake. The rooms, 2 upstairs and 1 on the main level, are well appointed and very clean. The breakfast is quite good but not large. The coffee is endless and very good. There are two pleasant sitting areas, one upstairs with board games, a TV and a small fridge stocked with soft drinks and water. and one the main level. The couple running the B & B are very friendly and accommodating. They are full of information about the sights, restaurants and wineries in surrounding area. Unfortunately having said that, on a repeat visit we found they tended to monopolize conversations we tried to have with friends we were traveling with.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crashandburnOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Lovely bed and breakfast in a convenient location near heart of town of Niagara on the Lake. Julie and Bob go out of their way to make you feel at ease and comfortable. Rooms are clean and well appointed - especially the 'Captain's Quarters' on the ground floor. Breakfast was generous and delicious. Good value for the area, nice to see 'hospitality' done right!

Room Tip: If you want a king size bed - go for the ground floor ' Captain's Quarters' - the upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHarrington54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Enjoyed a lovely stay with another couple and were in the only two lovely rooms upstairs which shared a sitting room with small fridge, television and games at our disposal. This home was very quaint and the hosts, Bob and Julie were delightful and very helpful. Our breakfast was lovely with seasonal fresh fruit, pastries and French toast which was wonderful. The home is about a 15-20 minute walk along lovely homes ifyou choose to walk into town but only a 2 minute drive. This is a great place to return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 864Harriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great spot for 2 couples-2 bedrooms and a private sitting room in between-good facilities, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast-nice hosts-very informative

Room Tip: If alone choose downstairs as room and bed are bigger but upstairs is great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chargap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I brought our "mommas" to the Brass Bell to stay for two evenings as we took them around the sights of Niagara on the Lake. We took all three of the rooms. Each room was beautifully appointed and totally set for our visit. The ladies were impressed. So were we. Bob and Julie were great hosts. We felt at ease all the time. Food was more than excellent. You could probably find a more expensive place to stay in the area but you could not find a place where you would feel more welcomed, pampered, or at home. The old-looking pine floors gleamed. (we like wooden floors). Everything was so clean. It was like they were our best friends and we the honored house guests. We got more than our money's worth at this bed and breakfast. If we are ever in the area again, we will stay there and not even try to find anything better. It probably wouldn't happen. We were spoiled. Thank you Bob and Julie for making our stay great. Our "mommas" send their greetings too.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sheldontlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.1 mi away
Moffat Inn
Moffat Inn
#13 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cape House B&B
Cape House B&B
#8 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panache Bed and Breakfast
Panache Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#93 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brass Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brass Bell

Property: The Brass Bell
Address: 1891 Lakeshore Rd | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb hospitality awaits you in our comfortable, spacious home in Old Town. We are close to many of the area’s amenities -- restaurants, theatres, shopping, golf, wineries and Niagara Falls’ attractions. Built in the latter part of the last century, The Brass Bell Bed & Breakfast is named after the ship's bell of sea-going vessels, Thus the decor is a mix of contemporary and traditional styles with a light nautical touch (Bob is a retired Navy Commander). Our beautifully appointed rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, two have four-poster queen-sized beds and one has a king-sized sleigh bed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing