We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for long term stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centres - Niagara on the Lake
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is in a very good location, close to the QEW and Niagara. If you are staying a couple of nights, without children it would be great as you have a kitchen and that could cut down on food expenses, however, for one night it is very expensive for a dorm room. There is no coffee maker, the T.V.s are ancient, the beds are narrow, low to the ground, and there are no head boards so your head is against a concrete block wall. Probably to keep the noise down during the school year. The room was clean, and the continental breakfast was adequate. Free parking is nice too.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows as theirs are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillandjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is a student dorm from Fall to Spring, but used as a hotel in the summer. Each unit is a suite of two bedrooms, a kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave and sink) and large bath /shower (no tub). All rooms are accessed with a card key. All entrances require such a card and there is a night time clerk on duty. A generous continental breakfast is included as is a BBQ grill. parking is free.
The service at the desk and housekeeping were comparable to many 2 star hotels. Each room was cleaned daily. Towels and bedding were comfortable. The soap and shampoo were small; you may need to ask for extra. The floors are linoleum, the A/C comfortable and the kichenette has a small table for four. There are four table chairs for the entire unit.
The location,is off exit 38 of the QEW,10 miles west from the Lewistown-Canada border crossing. 15 minutes south is the lovely town of Niagara on the Lake and Fort George. The drive into town includes a lovely view of the many vineyards in the area. The school also includes a winery,restaurant and greenhouse. Across the road is the White Oaks Resort with two other restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

My husband and I were students when the residence/conference centres started being built on campuses so we knew what to expect; simple rooms, minimal kitchen appliances.

When it was time to go to bed, I pulled back the sheets from the tightly made bed and they were covered with hair. Someone else's hair. I lifted up a pillow and a slithering little black bug darted for the floor.

I ran downstairs and the girl working the front desk didn't look surprised. She did apologize and then came up to my room to remake the bed.

I pulled back the sheets on my husband's bed and there was also hair.

The next morning, I filled out the evaluation sheet and spoke to another woman working the front desk. I recounted everything. Her response? "Hmm...I'll have to remember that."

Lazy housekeeping. Indifferent staff.

Never again.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and Raid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fayths27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I've stayed here five years running when I do my weekend at the Shaw Festival. I might prefer not to be on the same floor as the entire marching band, but overall, the rooms are clean, the beds sleepable, the staff very helpful and friendly, the amenities sufficient, and the continental breakfast substantial. It's more room than I need, but given its proximity to the Shaw and compared to the very pricey Niagara-on-the-Lake accommodations (where I have also stayed), I come back here each year. It just makes good sense. Try to get yourself into at least one meal at the restaurant--absolutely phenomenal in quality and presentation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccctryagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is a residence that they rent out as a 'hotel' in the summers when it's not populated by students. It is staffed by recent graduates of the hotel and food administration at the college, and given the level of service provided, they are not a very good school. The room was poorly lit, the carpets and counters had copious stains from the students that normally inhabit these rooms. There was abundant wildlife.... in the room unfortunately, and the beds were very uncomfortable. After about a minute we decided we didn't want to stay, and when we asked for a refund we were told that no one was authorized to give us one, and that if we wanted to complain on Monday that we could receive our money back... in about 6-8 weeks! I really can't think of a worse experience... I'm sure as a boarding house or prison this would be acceptable, but not when you're charging 20.00 a night less than the 4-star resort across the street (where we ended up staying instead).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moray-eel-bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5,309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,423 reviews
8.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,175 reviews
8.5 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centres - Niagara on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centres - Niagara on the Lake

Address: 137 Taylor Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £57 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centres - Niagara on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is a fantastic time to travel! Great weather, longer days, and the promise of the great outdoors motivate travellers each year to dust off their winter blues and hit the road in search of adventure. Whether it is a family vacation, travelling for sports/ business, or attending a wedding celebration, summertime is a great time of year for travel! Between the months of May through to August, Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) offers a unique and affordable alternative to summer accommodations for the budget traveller. Enjoy the safety and convenience of being located on a College campus, and experience the same quality, service, and amenities you would expect from a standard hotel but at an incredibly low rate! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence & Conference Centres - Niagara on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niagara Residence & Conference Centre Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara Residence And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing