We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience may depend on your visible minority status”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience may depend on your visible minority status”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at several B&Bs and our experiences have been consistently positive. That being said, I cannot fault this B&B for location, decor, or facilities. The hosts, to our surprise, were not particularly warm or welcoming to us, however. This was the case upon our arrival, during which one of the hosts, John, did not say hello or even acknowledge us. This was also the case during breakfast and checkout during which Jamie was very brief and did not offer any suggestions or the wine-tasting vouchers that we read about on this site. We found this striking because we read such glowing reviews of their hospitality and because we overheard them being very friendly with other guests. The only conclusion that we can think of is that we belong to a visible minority group. Given that our interaction had been nothing but polite, there was no reason for them to behave any differently toward us compared to the other guests.

That being said, the room was relatively clean and we enjoyed use of the Jacuzzi. The decor was pleasant and the room was spacious. The best part of the breakfast was Jamie's homemade jams that went well with the fresh scones. The rest of the breakfast was nothing special, in my opinion. Fritatta was very basic with a bit of fruit and toast on the side.

To be fair, John did offer assistance when we found some insects in our room. Additionally, their email correspondence was very prompt, they were accommodating with a change in our check-in time, and were polite in the brief interactions we had with them.

All in all, the B & B was fine and the price was reasonable. We just feel disappointed based on the other reviews we read for this place and based on our observations of the interactions with other guests. It seems we did not have the same experience and did not feel as welcome. To me, hospitality is part of the B&B experience, and this is the reason for the rating above. I would have given it 2.5 if I could have.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramelitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamier_9, Owner at Mary Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Sorry to have to respond to this most recent review, but Jamie and I could not let it pass without comment. We apologize to the couple if they did not enjoy their stay, and apologize for the ladybug that somehow snuck into their room. As hosts, we do everything we can to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are naturally open and friendly and welcome conversation with all our guests, and go to great lengths to be helpful and informative so that they may experience all of what Niagara-on-the-Lake has to offer.
We take exception to the comment that they believe we were not attentive, or hospitable to them because they were visible minorities. That quite simply was, and is, not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
164
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Absolutely wonderful from start to finish. My husband and me, my parents and my sister stayed here for two nights. We had the entire house to ourselves. The rooms are immaculately clean, and comfortable. Jamie is wonderful and made us feel right at home. She said to use the fridge in the kitchen so we could store cold drinks and dessert we had purchased. She gave us lots of tasting coupons for the wineries, her recommendation for Zee's Grill was great (lovely food!), freshly baked banana bread left wrapped up in the main area as an afternoon snack for us. Her breakfasts - absolutely wonderful. One morning fritatas, the next eggs benedict. All with fresh fruit. And scones - and homemade jams that (again) were amazing.

I have stayed in different places during several visits to Niagara on the Lake - and this is the best by far. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephK613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the first time since our four year old was born that my wife and I spent a night away with just the two of us. Our stay at the Mary Street Bed and Breakfast with our hosts Jamie and John could not have been more perfect. They were extremely accommodating from the very beginning by making everything so easy. We came up early on the Saturday, with our bikes, as we planned to tour some of the local wineries. Jamie helped us plan out our bike route and provided us with coupons for free samples or tasting at the wineries we were visiting. We stayed in the Casablanca room which was absolutely lovely. Its huge balcony/deck which stretches along the front of the entire house was a real gem and the large jacuzzi tub all made for a very romantic evening for us. In addition, the rooms are all quite separate from each other (not like most bed and breakfasts) that gave us our own deep sense of privacy and intimacy.

In addition to hosts friendliness and hospitality, Jamie also makes the most amazing homemade jams. Who knew Jam could taste like fresh baked apple pie.

Thank-you Jamie and John for making our weekend the absolute best!

Love!
Bryan and Bonnie
Toronto, Ontario

Room Tip: The Casablanca Room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A very nice place and friendly staff. A nice location with a walking distance to everything (mind you, Niagara on the Lake is a really small).

Highly recommended if someone wishes to have a quiet holiday and be taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a wonderful B and B, very clean, well appointed rooms. Loved the Casablanca with the large balcony. Food was fantastic and the hosts were very kind and informative. Close to town a few minute walk or bike ride. Can't wait to go back. You have to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just spend the weekend at this beautiful, charming little B&B. Stayed Sept. 13th & 14th. Jamie is the most enjoyable host. We felt so welcomed and comfortable there. Our room was so nice and cozy and we were just a short walk to the main area of Niagara On The Lake. We can't wait to go back, thanks Jamie and John!

Room Tip: Just 3 rooms and they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamedem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed here as part of our (before the wedding) honeymoon. Our room was great- the bathroom enormous! Jaime was a wonderful host and prepared delicious breakfasts each day. The location is a bit away from the main street, but a pleasant 10 minute walk will get you there easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdguthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,983 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 179 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a short walk to Old Town Niagara where you will find Theatres, Shops, Restaurants and many boutique one of a kind shops to suite everyone. All within minutes of the finest wineries, golf clubs that Niagara has to offer.All of our rooms are on their own floor for complete privacy. All furnished with brand new mattresses and updated furniture. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mary Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing