We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Get Away to Remember"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My husband and I drove 7 hours from PA to Niagara-on-the-Lake for a wine tasting weekend with friends. Little did we know that we would have such a delightful weekend from beginning to end. We arrived late and were warmly greeted by the owner Howard who made sure we were comfortably settled after our long journey. The breakfasts were divine! Howard and Jolanta are warm, fun and gracious hosts. They were incredibly knowledgeable of the area and made excellent recommendations whether it be for a spa, dinner (food, atmosphere, service, decor)....... they are your own personal Zagat Guide for the Greater Niagara-on-the-Lake area.


The breakfasts are exquisite and the personal touches make you feel right at home....coffee just the way you like it.

The Lyon's House is nicely appointed, very clean and comfortably elegant.

We arrived tired and unfamiliar and left refreshed, relaxed and with a new set of friends. We will be back for sure, perhaps in the summer to enjoy the patio out back and lovely gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaBon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

Just returned from a second stay at Historic Lyons House. Last November, my partner, her parents and I spent the weekend at Historic Lyons House. None of us had been there before, but we knew leaving, we'd all return.

We did just that this past weekend -this time with other family.

Howard and Yolanta (Ruby and Happy too) put their hearts and passion into ensuring that your stay is nothing short of heaven.

3 very spacious guest rooms, all with private facilities. A beautiful main floor living room and dining area. The breakfast - is in itself worth the stay!

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwyeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Visting Niagara-on-the-Lake and stayed a saturday evening.
The house has plenty of charm, beautiful and spacious rooms, and a great common area.
The hosts, Jolanta and Howard, were most welcoming and served a fabulous breakfast.
You are literally steps away from the historic old town, which is a great plus.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

When we first entered the house, we were greeted by Howard and Jolanda, who were extremely hospitable the whole time we were there. Howard recommended us to a great restaurant and he even called the restaurant and placed a reservation for us. He also gave coupons to our spa treatment.
The breakfast was amazingly good, we had Eggs Benedict and pancakes with bacons. (yummy... thinking about it still makes me drool...)They also gave us a lesson on how to poach perfect eggs!!! Howard and Jolanda are great hosts, though we were only there for one night, it felt like we've known them for longer. We will definitely go back to them!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCAREER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We secured this B&B via their website with no preconceived knowledge of what to expect. What we received was undoubtly the most warm and wonderful hospitality imaginable. Howard & Jolanta are the epitome of what innkeepers should aspire to be. We immediately felt at home. They gave us detailed advise to the local wineries, shops and restaurants often making reservations for us and/or providing us with maps & directions. The rooms were graciously appointed. The location was quiet with a quick 3-block walk to the center of town. Breakfast was superb. We will definately visit Niagara-on-the-Lake at least two more times this year and will stay at no other facility. We have not only found an extraordinary place to stay, we found very special new friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwelch20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My fiance and I just spent the last weekend of January at Lyons House. We had such a great experience from start to finish. We were completely taken care of by our hosts. Howard helped us with our reservations for dinner on both nights, plus offered us free tasting vouchers for 6 wineries in the area. He gave us a great suggestion to go to Ravine Estate Winery for lunch which was fantastic! The room was absolutely beautiful, with a plasma TV, beautiful bed, and floor to ceiling windows. Breakfast each morning was amazing, and the other couples staying at the place were great! I'm so excited to go back in the summer! Would 110% recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossyPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

My friends and I visited Niagara-on-the-Lake in November for Taste the Season. We had an absolutely perfect experience at the Lyons House Bed & Breakfast! I felt extremely comfortable and at home from the very beginning--we were treated like family. Howard really went out of his way to take care of every detail for us! The service and hospitality was far superior to any hotel at which I have stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottla21184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#84 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#36 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#46 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#9 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Georgian Residence Luxury Boutique Suites
The Georgian Residence Luxury Bo...
#1 of 18 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £133 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing