We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll never go hungry!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“You'll never go hungry!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What a memoriable 60th birhday for my husband! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Jolanta and Howard were so gracious. We even had a Happy Birthday balloon in our room.
The breakfasts are outstandiing! The decor and the linens are top quality. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. A great place to sit out and enjoy coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Jolanta and Howard went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Another guest commented that coming to Lyons House is like going to visit relatives - the one's you like to see. Howard knows his restaurants and wineries and is willing to share his knowledge with you. A great stay, a great birthday, and we gained two new relatives that we want to go back and visit., Thanks to Howard and Jolanta!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Our room wias the smallest of the three with ensuite powder room and a HU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
172
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just great. With such a great place, wonderful and helpful hosts , Cordon Bleau breakfasts, wine tour guidance and sample tickets. Pity the weather was not quite as good. Would love to do it again but the UK is a fair step away!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brampton
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed one night. What a beautiful house! Jolanda and Howard were very pleasant and knowledgable. They had great tips on NOTL and on wine tasting tours.
As our time was short so we took their advice and its was the right choice. The bedroom we had was emaculate! We have bad backs and the beds' mattress was just right, we slept great!
And what to say about breakfast????only fantastic! Howard is a great cook. We will definately keep Lyons House on our list to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights here in this wonderful home in the peaceful Niagara on the Lake town. We celebrated a special birthday. Howard and Jolanda were very hospitable. They served a fantastic breakfast each morning. The coffee was excellent and was served to us out in the garden our first morning. The bedroom was well furnished, tastefully decorated and more than comfortable, I slept like the dead. This was not our first time staying at a B&B, we would say it was "top notch".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Not sure where to start, everything about our stay at the Lyons House was wonderful! The house is beautiful and our room was spotless. Our breakfast was amazing!!! My daughter has Celiac Disease and they were able to accomodate her gluten-free diet. It was my first time at a B&B and we enjoyed every minute! Howard and Jolanda were very helpful and made us feel right at home. We weren't ready to leave and would go back in a heartbeat. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at the Lyons House.

Room Tip: They were are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Jolanda and Howie do it right. Accomodations were wonderful, Howie's home made breakfasts are to die for, and his recommendations for restaurants were right on. Great location within walking distance to many attractions, restaurants, town center, and the beach. Easy drive to many nice wineries and wine tasting opportunities. Though we didn't use the gardens in the back, they were well maintained and would be a peaceful getaway for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Niagara-on-the-Lake is a beautiful are for a couples getaway. As all the reviews before, the food is excellent, Howie and Jolanda are wondeful hosts, and you are within easy walking distance to some of the best restaurants in the region. Howie really helped with the planning and has connections with almost everyone in town.
You can't go wrong when choosing the Historic Lyons House.

Room Tip: One room has no TV, but has the bigger, nicer bathroom (with the Jacuzzi bath) across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuzzy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#3 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#26 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Property: Historic Lyons House
Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing