We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay and Delicious Breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay and Delicious Breakfasts!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The house and our room were tastefully decorated, and we enjoyed reading in the garden and liked the two beautiful cats. The hosts were knowledgeable and helpful, offering great recommendations and coupons for various attractions. The only thing I did not like was the folding bathroom door with glass upper panels, which did not offer enough privacy. However, overall an excellent B&B, with the best breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XPRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
169
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wow, nothing but complimentary to say about this excellent B&B. Quiet, Clean, Beautiful and excellent hosts.
We would highly recomment this wounderful retreat to anyone looking for a charning, well located and well operated home.

Thank you

Room Tip: Cats in home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Howard was an amazing host, he had all the answers to all of our questions. From what restaurants to go to, to the wineries in the area. He also helped us get great deals around the area. The rooms were clean and picturesque, and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Where do I begin...from the extremely quick responses to my original emails,
to right up to when we left, everything at the Lyons was fabulous.

Howard and Yolanta are the perfect hosts, if we needed something, all we had to do was ask...although we didn't even get that far as they had anticipated everything we needed. If you wanted to do a wine tour, done.
If you wanted to go by bike,
it was taken care of, and with the complimentary wine tasting cards you can't go wrong ! They were never pushy, they simply wanted you to have a wonderful experience, and helped whenever they could. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean. Temperature was perfect as well. The free bottles of water were much appreciated, as the weekend was really hot. The food was amazing, home cooked all the way, and presented beautifully. Yolanta's scones are definitely world class, so popular in fact that Howard threatened to take them away from us if we didn't leave them for the other guests :-)
They are both incredibly fun and friendly people, and know how to make your getaway extra special ! The dining room, sitting room, gardens...all beautiful.
Location is great, only a few blocks away from Queen, just far enough away from the hustle bustle, but close enough for a few minutes walk. These guys know how to do it right, and we'd definitely recommend it to everyone.
We're going back for sure !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DplusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A fantastic B&B. Both Yolanta and Howard are great hosts. Breakfasts are memorable. No request goes unanswered. Both Yolanta and Howard are extremelly knowledgable about the theater, the region and local history. The reason that we rate it the best B&B in Niagara on the Lake is based on the superior service provided by the hosts, these people show real interest in the well being of their guests and it won't be long before you can count them amoung you friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Historic Lyons House has beautifully decorated interiors, comfortable, clean rooms and friendly, helpful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and artistically presented. I enjoyed the modern original art work displayed throughout as well as the original architectural details of this 1800 house. The location was walking distance to most of the attractions in town. It was really a wonderful bed and breakfast experience and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 441mgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
351 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This B@B has 3 rooms and all are wonderfully decorated and comfortable with clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent, the hosts helpful and friendly, and (when we were there) the other occupants fun. It's also walking distance to the main street: all the plays and many restaurants. A place I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a separate area for reading that is extra nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.1 mi away
Finlay House
Finlay House
#48 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#73 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Papillon
Le Papillon
#76 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Property: Historic Lyons House
Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing