We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hosts were welcoming and engaging! If you love fine dining, ambience and art, this is the place to rest your weary bones and your mind. This is the place to get lost in and make new friends . I will be returning to visit Jolanta and Howie it will be like coming home. Lee and Richie DiLullo

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

My boyfriend and I loved staying at the Historic Lyons house! It was our first get away to a bed and breakfast, and we've agreed that we will have to come back here sometime. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Howard and Yolanta were wonderful hosts. They seemed to enjoy making sure that we were very satisfied and well taken care of, and it was much appreciated! The gourmet breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were incredibly clean, romantic and charming. The inn itself is picturesque and elegant and very close to town. Every detail was attended to. Howard and Yolanta gave us great recommendations for places to visit and things to do. We dined at very elegant, delicious restaurants, but my favorite recommendation that came from Yolanta was a simple picnic in town after visiting a local cheese shop she recommended, where we were able to create a unique and romantic picnic! Howard and Yolanta make you feel quite at home. We enjoyed both their humor and thoughtful gestures throughout our stay! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyons46, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Alicia and Tony,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great time staying in our beautiful town. Your pictures look awesome and this will always remind us of your easy going, enthusiastic, romantic style.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Jolanta and Howie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Howie and Yolanta are wonderful hosts. We stayed at Historic Lyons House for a long weekend in May 2013 and had the best time even though the weather was miserable. The food was fantastic and you could tell that they put a lot of thought into what we would enjoy. Howie and Yolanta make their guest feel like part of their family. Suggestions on local attractions and intel on the wineries were awesome.
We are looking forward to staying with them again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Found this beautifully restored 1800's home just a few blocks off the main boulevard in Niagara On the Lake. We were greeted by a jovial Howard, the interior is beautiful and Howard has a great sense of humor and is very engaging. Howard pointed out several wineries that we shouldn't miss and he was spot on! Wonderful room ......it was the beginning of spring and unfortunately the garden was just beginning to wake up, would love to see it and enjoy a glass of wine sitting outside the next time. Breakfast was VERY delicious, fresh fruit and wonderful croissants home made, NOT on our low fat diet list!!:):) The only, and I stress only, thing that set us back a bit, was we had no idea that we would not be allowed to wear shoes past the front foyer. We might suggest that this is mentioned on the website and/or slippers be provided upon arrival. An overall WONDERFUL experience and we would return.

Room Tip: We had a room with our own bath but there is a room that has a beautiful bath that overlooks the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A wonderful place to stay within easy walking distance of downtown Niagara on the Lake.Our room was immaculate and hosts Howard and Yolanta most accommodating.We especially enjoyed Howards delicious breakfasts. The garden is a beautiful oasis perfect for relaxation and conversation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bus4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Howard and yolanta make this place an excellent stay. The house itself is fantastic, clean, elegant, and very well-kept, but the owners are what the trip so enjoyable. The breakfasts we had were outstanding and they took care of everything we needed including bike rentals and restaurant reservations.

I would highly recommend this place, well worth the money, and well be coming back on our next visit to NOTL.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Spent one night here in June 2013. This historic house is beautiful and the hosts are terrific. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable in all aspects. Our carefully prepared and presented breakfast consisted of a fresh fruit and yogurt appitizer followed by a superb eggs benedict. Fresh squeezed juice, fresh baked croisants and coffee or tea made a perfect start to our day. On future visits to Niagara on the Lake will include a stay at Historic Lyons House. It was the hottest day and night so far this year. but Lyons House is fully air conditioned and if you visit on cold days, each suite has its own fireplace. Very comfortable in any weather.

Room Tip: Any one of the suites is excellent and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
Blue Skies Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#34 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highbrook Bed and Breakfast
Highbrook Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £154 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing