We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Kitchener-Waterloo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for better!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

For my parents anniversary my brother and I sent our parents to Lyons and they got back and couldn't stop saying how amazing it was!! Such a personal experience with amazing food and my dad raved about how clean it was!! There was many activities for them to do and also space and time to relax. I would be more than happy to send my parents back there in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
173
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My daughter and I spent two nights and took a wine tour the second day. Our time with Howard and Jolanta was most enjoyable. Excellent room, delicious food and welcoming hosts. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Howard and Jolanta! Their hospitality is unmatched and the breakfast is world class. This was our second visit and we felt as if we were family. Lyons House is a short walk to town and bike trails are right across the street. We have never been much of a B&B couple, however this is the place to go hands down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Jolanta and Howie will be there to welcome you to their beautifully restored 1837 home. They are the consummate hosts, tending without fuss to your needs. In addition to the Shaw Festival and local highlights of the Niagara on the Lake community, they will help you plan your tour of local wineries...with helpful insights into the strengths of each winery.

The breakfast was spectacular each of the 3 days I spent in Lyons house...fresh, home made and beautifully presented. The main street and Shaw Festival Theaters are only a few blocks away...what are you waiting for?

Room Tip: The Lyons House has only 3 rooms...they are all wonderful. Note that one bedroom uses a separate ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August with Yolanta and Howie and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Their home is beautiful - retaining many of the historic features like wide plank pine floors, high ceilings and beautiful wood moldings but also including up to date conveniences like modern bathrooms, in suite fireplaces and an extra small refrigerator. Their home is located several blocks from the main street, next to a city park. It was quiet and peaceful without being isolated. It was a very easy walk to all the theaters and shops.

We appreciated that our room, Lady Catherine's suite, included 2 chairs and a table - a place to sit besides the bed. The bookshelves had an interesting selection of books. The bathroom had a toilet, sink and walk-in shower that were somewhat tight on space but very usable and impeccably clean. Our hosts made it clear that we could also use the spacious downstairs living room and that space came in handy when we were planning our days. Between Howie and Yolanta, we had lots of great advice on what to do and where to go. The breakfasts were served in the dining room at 9am and were delicious. Howie and Yolanta are thoughtful hosts - we felt very welcome but also felt that we had our privacy - a balance that can sometimes be difficult in a B&B. I highly recommend the Lyons House - we will certainly return the next time we travel to Niagara.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean2rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B and we absolutely loved the experience!

Property:
The house's exterior was nice, but the interior and bedrooms were particularly beautiful. They have a lovely garden in the back, but you have to go around the house to access it, which isn't the most convenient.

Location:
Perfectly located a couple of blocks away from the main street.

Food:
Breakfast was incredible! Each day we were there, we were served something different but always delicious! It would have been great to have snacks available later in the day.

Miscellaneous:
There are two cats on the property in case you have severe allergies.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johns, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our two night stay at the Lyons house. It is decorated very nice and best of all Howie and Yolanta were very kind and helpful recommending restaurants and winery transportation/tour. We would definitely stay again and were only 10 minutes away when we began to plan our next trip there. Thank you Yolanta and Howie.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriandTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#33 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#58 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#22 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Property: Historic Lyons House
Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing