We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mini-vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We wanted to get away for the week-end to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Niagara on the Lake seemed like a good place to go. I researched different B & B's in the area and decided on Historic Lyons House. Great Location and walking distance to beautiful downtown. Our hosts were awesome and made us feel very "at home". Our room was beautiful and very clean. Breakfast was amazing! We loved our furry cat friends, Ruby and Mr. Happy. Just like being at home!
We met new friends and hosts that we will always hold close to our hearts! We will be back again next ear to celebrate 31 years! I would highly recommend this B & B. Well worth the trip and well worth the price.
Joe and Robin Mitchell, Upstate, New York

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Outstanding B&B operated by attentive owners (Jolanta and Howie) who made our recent visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake and Canadian wine country most enjoyable. Located in the historic district a few short blocks walk from the downtown area, you will find yourself close to the restaurants, shops and local attractions yet conveniently removed from the "hustle and bustle" of this charming tourist destination. Your hosts pay great attention to detail from clean/comfortable rooms with bathrooms ensuite to a delicious breakfast that rivals that prepared by the the finest of restaurants in any major metropolitan center.

Howie will be quick to recommend the best restaurants for your budget & tastes and additionally provide you with vouchers and help you plan a tour of the many local vineyards Our personal recommendations . . skip the tours and head directly to Foreign Affair Winery in neighboring Vineland (http://foreignaffairwinery.com) for best selection of high quality wines, fair prices, no crowds and personal service by family members operating the winery.

Rest easy . . . enjoy the local places of interest . . . bon appetite!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Historic Lyons House and we are in agreement that it was the best B&B expereince we ever had. Our hosts, Howie and Yolanta, were warm, accessible, knowledgeable and so, so helpful with everything from restaurant and winery recommendations, to advice about how to best take in the sights in this lovely town. The house itself was lovely, clean, and beautifully furnished and decorated. And my husband especially, who is the breakfast chef in our house, was so impressed with the fabulous breakfasts presented every morning. Our stay was truly an experience and I hope that Howie and Yolanta have continued success and a steady stream of appreciative guests. Kevin and Anita

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarineMomLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm a breakfast fan... or perhaps a breakfast fanatic would be more accurate. So, when I'm impressed with a breakfast fellow breakfast lovers should take pleasant note. The breakfast were wonderfully presented, tasty, and timely.

Howie & Yolanda were also wonderful host keeping a neat B&B, wonderful gardens, and two personable cats as well.

Both my wife & I, frequent travelers that we are, would highly recommend Lyons House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed there for our one year anniversary on July and it was amazing! The hosts are an amazing couple and we had the best eggs benedict ever. The rooms are sparkling clean, comfy beds and all in all a very relaxing experience. We would definitely go back again.
Daniela & Omar

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

All of this and free passes to several wineries. The house is across from a park, on King Street, about 2-3 blocks from town. Jolanta is an in house concierge, with advise, always correct, on places to eat and things to see. All rooms have baths, the smaller room having a detached bath, but it is the largest bath. After all, the house was built in 1828. Also, visit the fort outside of town, within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnD76648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Once a year, we enjoy going to a place that is so relaxing and feels like home. The minute we walk in we are welcomed by Howie and Yolanta. We love all the hospitality they give us and the incredible breakfast that they serve every morning! The location is perfect for a short walk to the main shops, great bike rides to the wineries or a beautiful walk along the trail. Their knowledge about the area is extremely helpful, you never have to think about where to eat or what to do, all you have to do is RELAX! Rooms are beautiful and well kept. We enjoy our trip here every year and can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#9 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#78 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#45 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highbrook Bed and Breakfast
Highbrook Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £147 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing