We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently went to Lyons House for my fiancee's birthday. I've never had a more pleasurable stay anywhere. Not only is the house utterly beautiful and conveniently located to everything you could want in the town, but the hosts were more like family than just "hosts". The food was absolutely gourmet quality and their company was thoroughly enjoyable. Also, they couldn't have been more helpful in helping us plan our day, giving us great tips and super cost cutting coupons! And finally, as animal lovers, it was a pleasure to meet their adorable 2 cats, generally lounging by the fire.
Thanks again, Lyons House!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhrproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
173
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have stayed at a few bed and breakfasts in my life and the Lyons House is right up there at the top. Howie and Jolanta were great hosts and helped us plan out our activities for the weekend. They were quick to suggest places to eat, shop, and go wine tasting. Breakfast was professionally made and was a surprise each morning. We enjoyed and looked forward to breakfast. The rooms were very clean during our stay and our bathroom was very roomy. If we decide to return to Niagara on the lake for another get away, the Lyons house would be our choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Historic Lyons House Bed and Breakfast on November 12, 2013. Our hosts, owners Jolanta and Howie, were gracious and accomodating and very flexible when it came to arngements. The epicurean breakfast was excellent and the linkage to the wine tour that was part of our gift certificate was flawless. It was a wonderful excursion in a warm, inviting setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucie-Brucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Absolutely wonderful! Howie and Jolanta are warm and inviting hosts, and make a fantastic breakfast. Since it was fairly chilly the weekend we stayed, they always had the fireplace going during breakfast and pleasant music. Perfect way to start the day!

We were interested in wine tasting, and Howie put together a great itinerary for us. Jolanta had great opinions on wine and we followed her advice as well.

We stayed in Master Bernard's suite, which was clean, comfortable and extremely relaxing. It actually has two bathrooms. The luxurious bathroom with shower and jet tub is across the hall, but there's also a small half bath in the room itself. For any couples who enjoy having two bathrooms to get ready, it's a great surprise!

All in all, we had a lovely time. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a beautiful town, and the Lyons House is extremely convenient to anything you want to do. Couldn't ask for more for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

THE HISTORIC LYONS HOUSE

A review by very satisfied patrons.

My wife and I have stayed at the Historic Lyons House Bed and Breakfast, 8 Centre Street in Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada for the past three years during September. We have nothing but high praise for the owners, Jotanta and Howie Kudlats, who have provided excellent meals and very comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price.

The Historic Lyons House is a very clean remodeled 19th Century home with a modern flavor. It is within ten to 15 minutes walking distance to all three main theatres in N-O-T-L. Restaurants are also within a comfortable walking distance. Free parking is available at the B & B which is a plus because parking is at a premium in the town and charged for at one theatre. Three bedrooms are upstairs for guests, each having a private bath. The main living room on the first floor is available for guests who wish to enjoy the comfortable setting. We've stayed in the Lady Catherine room all three times and have now rebooked a stay for next September to enjoy several plays at the Shaw Festival.

Each breakfast has never been disappointing served in a very large dining room which seats six adult guests. Howie is a “professional” chef providing very ample meals with plenty of coffee, protein, and delicious pastries.

Howie and Jotanta are very pleasant people eager to make a guest's stay as welcome as possible. The fact that we have now booked for our fourth time is a clear testimony to everything they provide.

We are providing this recommendation without any compensation or benefit and do so freely with all good intentions.

Joe and Carol D.
Fairport, NY

Room Tip: Two rooms have a private bath within the room, the third room has a private bath a very short distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I were gifted a weekend in NOTL and Lyons House, not known to us before we arrived, was a lovely treat. We have done a few other nice B&Bs in the neighourhood and this one is top notch. I just adored the house. I'm a sucker for historic homes. Howard & Jolanta served up a delicious breakfast both mornings and were consummate hosts. We felt welcomed and cared for. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone and would certainly go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed another beautiful weekend at Niagara On the Lake, Ontario Canada. We were warmly welcomed at the Lyons House by our exceptional hosts. Their B&B is conveniently located, very comfortable, nicely appointed and very clean. They are very accomodating hosts, very knowledgeable of the restaurants, shows, wineries and venues in the area. You can trust their recommendations. The breakfasts were unique and delicious and the bottomless cup of coffee was greatly appreciated. We highly recommend the Lyons House and we aren't the only ones who do, so be sure to book early.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaBon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 mi away
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
Maria's Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
Abacot Hall Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#76 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#34 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
Demi's Place Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Butler House Historic Bed and Breakfast
The Butler House Historic Bed an...
#1 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Property: Historic Lyons House
Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing