We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Property close to it all”

Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage & Garden Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage & Garden Retreat
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property close to it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Heritage Trail is the perfect place whether you're a family or several couples, like us, in town for some wine, golf and shopping. Conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood but close to everything. Downtown Niagara on the Lake is a short drive as are the many vineyards and the Falls are only 15 minutes away. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped and guests have the option on dining inside or out if its nice. The backyard has a beautiful garden as is a nice quiet spot to relax. Rooms were warm and pleasantly decorated and beds were comfortable. Did not have a chance to use TV room because of good weather but the big screen is great for those days when it does rain. Karen is a welcoming hostess who's basket of coupons for free wine tasting was a hit with our group.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Karen the owner is very nice and accommodating. The house has great indoor and outdoor spaces. A big kitchen is a plus when you have several people staying. We rented the house for two nights in September and we'll definitely stay here anytime we are back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

As long-time clients of Karen at Hilltop Manor for our annual Ladies in NOTL trip, we were disappointed to find it unavailable for our recent visit to Niagara on the Lake. However, we were delighted with Heritage Trail Cottage. We four women each got our own well-appointed bedroom. We did not use the lovely living room or family room because we spent all our free time sitting in the pleasant and quiet back yard. This is a beautiful, thoughtfully appointed, gracious, inviting space.

A pleasure to stay with Karen again - I know we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

As soon as you step through the door you feel welcomed with the basket of cozy slippers waiting for you and the bright open kitchen invites you in to sit and stay a while, two steps down to a cozy sitting area you can enjoy your coffee with a great view of the backyard .This cottage has all the comforts of home and then some. We travelled with three small children and there were books, Nintendo Wii and games to keep them occupied.You will sleep like a baby in the comfy and gorgeous beds that the cottage has.
The gracious home owner left plenty of complimentary winery tastings and a map of things to do in the area, as well as restaurant and attaraction information.
The cottage was clean, beautiful and a retreat that we will return to one day.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DeMiraEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

The owner were very accommodating to all of our needs and requests.

The description and photos of the cottage on the website were not exaggerated – in fact, one could even say they were understated This is a very vlean, spacious and beautifully decorated it was just like being at home – comfortable and well-stocked.

In addition to what their website states, the cottage was stocked with:
o Most of the kitchen appliances and utensils you can think of and some others that you wouldn’t think of!
o Bathrooms were stocked with air freshener, facial tissue, toilet paper, plunger, toilet brush, shampoo, shower gel
o Ample linens and towels
o Board games, shuffleboard, books, magazines
o Information posters and brochures about the local area
o Super comfortable beds

We recommend to bring the following: teaspoon measure, scissors, conditioner, and something for your feet as the basement floor is a bit cold. However, there was a guest book in which we saw that a previous occupant had suggested they stock the cottage with paper towel. During our stay, paper towel was provided. Looks like the owners do something about the feedback they receive so maybe you won’t need the above recommended items!

Would definitely go back for another stay

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mujna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

We were at Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage from December 25-28. We were 8 adults, 1 child and our small dog. The cottage was very spacious, full of natural light, clean and warm. There were all amenities like towels, games, washer/dryer and much more. Owner (Karen) was very helpful and welcoming. We loved our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone for quality time :-).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagi_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

The Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage…feels like home. This wonderful, immaculate house gives you all the comforts of home, while being nestled in one of the world’s most scenic and quiet locales.

It offers an abundance of space for all, be it for a quiet morning coffee and good book, an evening supper with Ontario’s finest wines or that long bike ride along the Niagara River.

It’s proximity to the trails along the Niagara River, abundant wineries of Niagara Stone Road; to the picturesque Old town of Niagara-on-the-Lake are just some of fine qualities this home offers to make your stay a memorable one.

Our family of seven had a most enjoyable time. There’s a lot to do and see, but all to be done on a pleasurable pace. Zoom Leisure, with its superb staff is a must visit for your bike rentals. Joseph’s winery on Niagara Stone Road is marvelous, great wines, great staff, and decent amounts in terms wine tasting samples ($1.00 for three, one oz samples.)

Oh…best of all. Karen, the owner of the Heritage Trail home is absolutely fabulous!

Things to do:

Bike riding
Horseback riding
Walks (along Niagara River and Old town)
Wine tours and tastings
Kurtz Orchards
Games room (Wii, shuffleboard, board games)
Barbeque (beautiful backyard)
Niagara Falls (minutes away)
Butterfly Conservatory (must see…again minutes away)
Relax…

http://heritagetrailcottage.com/

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchuhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa
White Oaks Conference Resort & S...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Coat
The Red Coat
#1 of 2 in Queenston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage & Garden Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage & Garden Retreat

Property: Heritage Trail Luxury Cottage & Garden Retreat
Address: Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing