We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying in a French Chateau”

The Grange at Stag Hollow
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grange at Stag Hollow
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like Staying in a French Chateau”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Beautiful architecture, but the setting right on the lake was lovely at sunset. Decor was professionally done with only first class amenities; reminded us of French Country. Host was very accommodating and breakfasts were lovely and unique, such as home made yogurt, eggs nestled on pinneaple, scones and great coffee!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittenKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We wanted a special place to take family visiting from out of town and Stag Hollow was the perfect place. We had booked the Blue Room and the Red Room which are both located on the second floor with an adjacent sitting area where we could catch up on events. The rooms were bright, superbly decorated and welcoming. The French doors opened onto Juliet balconies with a view of the grounds and partial view of Lake Ontario. The sound of the lake pounding the shoreline lulled us to sleep when we opened our doors. The pictures on their website are accurate.

If you are looking for a place within walking distance to NOTL, then this is not the place for you. However NOTL is only a short drive away. Take a bottle of one the fine wines you have bought at one of the wineries and enjoy some time in the Muskoka chairs on the lawn and watch the sun set. Philip is very informative and helpful.

This B&B is worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noseworthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This is one of the most delightful B&B's we have every stayed in. So incredibly immaculate in presentation, care and attentiveness. A wonderful interior to relax in, a most pleasing setting right on the lake and delightfully quiet and peaceful. We chose the blue room but all others were equally as divine and the beds and linens are first class for comfort and quality. Phillip is the consumate host and is so egalitarian in his selection of local wineries and restaurants to visit. The local community should treasure his "selling" of this delightful area. Well worth a few nights stay. Make sure your appetite is good to go for breakfast...they are imaginative and carefully selected with local produce and served with great care and attention.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful getaway, right on the lake with beautiful views, great breakfasts, and lots to do (if you want to) or not (if you just want to relax). We flew to Buffalo from Boston, rented a car, and went to Niagara Falls on our way there, toured a vineyard and ate at excellent restaurants that were not far from The Grange. Phil is an incredible host, attending to every detail, and cooking a marvelous breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara02021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The hosts of The Grange at Stag Hollow brought into this small luxury B&B their experience of world travel, and it shows! The refinement and elegance of every detail is something one rarely finds outside of the most exclusive hotels of the world. You will be surrounded by beautiful antiques, presented in an unpretentious, casual way, with exquisite taste.
Located a couple of miles from the centre of Niagara-on-the-Lake, right on the water edge, a stay here can be a busy tour of wineries, restaurants and theatre, or a contemplative sunset over the water.
The breakfast is amazing! Gourmet barely begins to describe it, and to top it off, sometimes you can even have a cooking class to recreate some of these exceptional dishes.
My wife and I (also world travelers) have stayed at The Grange at Stag Hollow several times over the past few years, and will definitely go back.

Roxana & Rares Pateanu
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
477 reviews
6.0 mi away
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
Simcoe Suites on the Henley
#4 of 23 in St. Catharines
31 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tigh-na-Mara Bed and Breakfast
Tigh-na-Mara Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 23 in St. Catharines
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cedar Suite Bed & Breakfast
Cedar Suite Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 23 in St. Catharines
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
164 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lily's House on the 12
Lily's House on the 12
#3 of 23 in St. Catharines
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange at Stag Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange at Stag Hollow

Property: The Grange at Stag Hollow
Address: 50 Firelane 11a, RR3, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private, vintage, 2 acre lakefront estate with 21st century amenities located amidst the vineyards, restaurants, theaters and sights of Historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada: the only B&B on Lake Ontario. Luxury and gourmet breakfasts combine with a cozy lakeside setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing