We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic home base for a theater vacation”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Avalon, circa 1820 is a fully restored home located steps to Queen St in the Heritage district
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Avalon, circa 1820 is a fully restored home located steps to Queen St in the Heritage district
Large Living room w TV, fireplace, 2 sofas and TV overlooking the pool
An antique church pew that has been recovered.
Great spot to sit while others are cooking!
Original mantle dating back to 1820.
Main floor Queen bedroom with additional twin room. 4 large windows and antique pieces.
Queen bedroom on main floor
heated pool surrounded by flagstone patio
Flagstone courtyard
flowering window baskets
French doors from the Living room overlooking the pool
Trumpet vine and roses partially cover the home in the summertime
Architectural details throughout the house
One of 3 full bathrooms.
Hand made vanity
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
arnewman
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A fantastic home base for a theater vacation”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Avalon in Niagara-on-the-Lake is a lovely home in a superb location. If you're a theater person, it's literally one block from the Royal George Theatre and a 10 minute walk to the Shaw Festival Theatre. Also, it's just one block from Queen Street and all the shops and restaurants you could possibly hope for. The house itself is welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms are spacious and well-equipped with ensuite bathrooms. The kitchen is fully stocked - it was wonderful to have a leisurely breakfast at home during our visit. The backyard pool is a great bonus - on one particularly warm sunny day it was a treat to have a pool all to ourselves. Our family of five had a home-away-from-home which is just what we needed for our vacation. If you're visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake, this is the way to do it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall comfort
Liked least: Had to leave at the end of our vacation!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goofyshee...
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing house! Super vacation spot !”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What a relaxing Thanksgiving vacation ! My husband and I along with four adult children stayed for four nights and we had an amazing time. We only went out for dinner once and cooked the rest of the meals. The kitchen is fantastic and is equipped with high quality cookware, lots of dishes and glassware. The living room was super comfy with the gas fireplace. The bedrooms were wonderful and there were plenty of bathrooms. My daughter loved the Jacuzzi tub :) The house is only two blocks from the main street so we didn't need to drive anywhere. Niagara on the Lake is a super quaint town with nice stores of all kinds. And the lake is only four blocks away from the house. We'll definitely come back to the Avalon house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the huge kitchen
Liked least: the door latch on the front door. It was too close to the door jamb so we had some roughed up knuckles on a couple of us.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oshuman
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect house for 7 friends to explore and enjoy Niagara On the Lake”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Avalon was selected by a friend for our annual get together of 7 women who have been friends for 50 years (since kindergarten) & have had annual reunions for 23 years. The location was ideal, the house was beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed for our few meals there, including nice glasses (wine and other).
While we could not use the pool, we enjoyed the patio and the roof patio at night. I would recommend this property highly for anyone wanting to visit NOTL, an exceptional town for tourist and "old" friends getting together. It was just perfect.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaSue2...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic English Country Home”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Absolutely loved this house! It has so much character, and it is within walking distance to everything. Once there, you do not need a car for anything, except maybe to do some shopping at the outlet mall or visit Niagara Falls, which are only a 20-minute drive away. There was plenty of room for everyone, and my grandson had a blast in the swimming pool. I highly recommend this home for a great vacation with the entire family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing