We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Incredible Stay! Phenomenal Breakfast Feast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just came back from a long weekend spent at the Rangers Retreat and I will be honest I will never stay anywhere else again when visiting the Niagara on the Lake region again. We also shared this with everyone that we met over our daily travels of which many were very very envious based on their accommodations

It is not breakfast that Brian prepares for you, but a feast that literally fills the table so much that you are challenged to find a place for your incredible mug of coffee. From the first offerings of over a dozen cheeses from around the world, to the 8-10 fresh breads made daily and served warm, to the berries, homemade yogurt, jams, chutneys and of course road kill of fresh berries with fresh squeezed orange juice are but only the start. All you hear is the call from the kitchen to save room for the actual breakfast that is still coming ! This of course can range from his locally organic sourced products that he uses in Eggs Benedict, Fresh Mushroom Omelet to the French Omelet style Frittata he served to us. No one was pushed to finish up and get out so we lounged and grazed our way through his delectable offerings over a couple of hours sharing stories with new found friends

Our Twins room was perfect for girls weekend trip. Huge down comforters, our own balcony, A/C control, great modern Euro style bathroom and of course lets not forget the tables outside in the gardens. This was the gathering point for everyone at the end of their day where the bottles of wine were plunked down on the table and the experiences from that days visits to wineries, the theatre or simply lounging by the pool outside were shared, And of course, Brian again arrived with morsels of cheese and snacks to fuel our conversations until the late hours providing suggestions for the following day based on what we enjoyed.

You know a host is special when he offers to take you to the unique wineries that you should not miss and then drops you off at the theatre so you are not late. For those who are like me, it is challenging to be away from your pet for several days, and little Sarah (his Scottie) was always coming by and offering up a little lick for a pat or snack and filled the void

It is a testament to how special a place is when many of the couples were repeat guests, and the new ones were booking second weekends for the entire house later this fall. I can hardly wait to return with my husband for the next visit with Brian and hopefully Jan

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Not only is the property GORGEOUS, but the breakfast went above and beyond - focusing on FRESH and healthy the cheese selection had at least 16 different types of cheese (both local and from across the world), fresh fruit, homemade jams and fresh local produce the eggs benedict was prepared PERFECLTY and the holindase sauce from scratch. A retired european chef who lived in the netherlands for 20-odd years runs the B+B and is very friendly. Lots of space if you needed it and the conversation at breakfast was outstanding to boot! The rooms are modern with a hint of vintage appeal, a large deck to relax on, a pool (and he has swim suits if you forgot yours). Also PET FRIENDLY which was a huge plus and his little scottie Sara was adorable and friendly too. The funishings come with their own stories and character too. Can`t wait to find time to go again!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennjohnson222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here on my first visit to NOTL -- lucky me, I'll never stay anywhere else. Down-filled luxury in the bedroom, a most tasty and substantial "Dutch" breakfast, worth the trip all by itself. Start with 15 cheeses, five or six breads, great coffee, yoghurt, fruit -- did I mention the hot breakfast prepared by Brian, you host and chef, I'll stop now I'm feeling hungry...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had an amazing time at the Ranger's Retreat. We stayed in the colonel's room and it was the best. The bed was the coziest bed ever. The bathroom is huge with a nice balcony off the room as well. Brian is a great host. He was very informative on all the things going on in the town and with providing us with some suggestions. His home is absolutely stunning. Brian also made a killer eggs benedict for us for breakfast along with a wide vatiety of cheeses, chunteys, jams and bread. We had a fantastic stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Brian Carberry at his beautiful bed and breakfast, Ranger's Retreat. The home is beautifully appointed and Brian is an exceptional host. It feels like you are in your own home. We stayed in the "Twin's Room" which had a lovely king size bed and so comfortable that we almost slept the whole weekend away. The weather was miserable but it made no difference since we were warm and cozy inside. His breakfast choices were unbelievable..we could have eaten all day on what was offered. He also lined up a wonderful wine tour and since it was so rainy on the Sunday we were very well treated at all the wineries we visited as well as the Upper Canada Cheese factory....a must see when you visit Niagara-on-the-Lake. If you want an wonderful experience book your next stay at the Ranger's Retreat. You will not be disappointed.
Alex and Richard Fasulo-Cronin

Room Tip: All of his rooms are beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexfasulocronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Everything about our stay was top notch. The rooms are very comfortable and very elegant. The host treats you like an old friend and is very attentive to your needs. The breakfast was spectacular and abundant. This was our third stay and we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I; along with another couple spent an evening at Ranger's Retreat this past week. I must say this is the best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in! The owner was so accommodating, and the house is charming and lovely! Our breakfast was amazing....20 varieties of cheese from all over the world, a selection of 12+ fresh baked breads and pastries, fresh fruits, chutneys, and the list goes on!!! Ranger's Retreat gets a 5+star ranking, and I cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms were lovely and all were unique in their own way............it was hard to select! two ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.0 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,567 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
Chalet Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Blanca Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Blanca Boutique Bed & Break...
#69 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
29 reviews
6.5 mi away
Green Oaks B&B
Green Oaks B&B
#41 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#54 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Colonel Butler Cres | (Garisson Village), Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: £114 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranger's Retreat is a 40 year old Tutor style home located in an older residental area just a 5 minute drive from the center of "old Town" Niagara on the Lake and a 15 minute drive to the Niagara waterfalls and the Border.It's also just minutes from many of the Niagara wineries and the famous George Benard Shaw theature Festival.Totally renovated, it offers 3 large bedrooms, each with en suite bathrooms, individual climate control, WiFi, Lounge area with TV,a large terras area in the gardens and a Salt water swiming pool.The room price includes a full warm and cold breakfast (owner is a retired chef), and coffee, tea and soft beverages during your stay.Bike rental is a 5 minute walk and this historic area offers many biking routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ranger's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing